We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Half-day Float Trip”

McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Kennicott Glacial Lake Stand Up Paddle Board Tour
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in McCarthy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offering guided day and multi-day raft trips and outfitting for private raft trips in McCarthy Alaska, located in Wrangell St. Elias National Park & Preserve. From 4 hour glacier lake and raft adventures, to multi day adventure raft trips, we offer the best trips in the Wrangells. Come with us and discover some of North America's best undiscovered rivers!
Eagle River, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Half-day Float Trip”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Ryan was an outstanding guide! If you are looking for 1/2 hour of white water fun, this is for you. The rest of the time is site seeing around a lake filled with icebergs and calving gravel from the tops of ice floes. A curious bear attempting to scale the ice face made the trip most memorable. Anticipate getting wet! Dry suits are just ok. Wear good socks to keep feet from freezing. Avoid the tighter boots over your dry suit for better circulation. There is not much walking involved. McCarthy is a great place to visit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikMerlino, Owner at McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thanks for your response Mark, we all talk about that bear on the glacier here two, there is even a video of it that you can view on our facebook page now too! The warm sock advice is great, we definitely encourage everyone to wear a good pair of socks for under the booties of the drysuit, with the glacier water it can make a huge difference. Thanks again for coming out with us, we are glad you had such a great time out here in McCarthy, hope to see you in the Wrangell's again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excitement on the River”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked a whitewater rafting experience the day before we went while staying at McCarthy. We were given correct clothing - dry suits , helmets and flotation device - and proper instructions for safety and how to paddle and obey instructions on the river. Water was class 3 and very fast due to hot weather and great fun! Nick was our leader and we would recommend this company for their relaxed but professional attitude on the water and for a great day out!
We are not youngsters and were joined by mixed age ranges.
Price was sensible. Take a camera, water and a power snack.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkSugarbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikMerlino, Owner at McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
We are glad you had so much fun with us! Thanks again for spending part of your vacation floating with us and we hope the rest of your travels went just as well! Good suggestion on the power snack, extra energy for the waves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Awesome raft trip”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Jule and Ryan were amazing guides and our trip with MRTO was fantastic. We couldn't recommend this company enough. Our camp night was made even better by the abundance of marshmellows for our campfire. If you are looking for experienced, personable guides to show you the area via raft look no further.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jess d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikMerlino, Owner at McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for the great review Jess! Ryan and Jule still talk about how much fun they had as well! Glad to hear that there was plenty of Marshmallows, what if one were to drop in the fire? Thanks gain, we hope to see you again someday in the Wrangell Mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
“Me and my Son Havin' Tons o' Fun!”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We took their lake and river half-day trip. Jule shared a lot of her knowledge about glaciers and the valley. Big boulders fell into to the lake beside us from the glacier! Then we went to the river. The lake was calm and serene, while the river gave us a more splashy adventure with crazy white water!! I'd sure do this again if I ever come back to this wonderful little corner of the world. Don't forget your camera or you'll regret it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AK2IBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikMerlino, Owner at McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Glad to hear you had so much fun on your trip with us! All our guides take pride in being personable and laid back so you can feel comfortable asking questions while out exploring the lake. It has been a good year for watching the boulders roll in the GLacier, glad to hear you got a good show! Thanks again, we appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you in the Wrangell Mountains again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCarthy, Alaska
1 review
“Worth Every second and penny!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We took the short lake and river trip. The experience was amazing and a lot of fun for everyone. Our guide (Jewel) was friendly, fun, energetic and a top notch professional and guide. We will be back in the future!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaptbleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikMerlino, Owner at McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thanks for taking the time to submit your review! We appreciate hearing everyone's thoughts about our trip. We take pride in the uniqueness of our day trip and the opportunity to explore such a new landscape while rafting some great class III whitewater as well! Hope to see you again and look forward to floating with you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours also viewed

McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
 
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
 

Been to McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing