We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few disappointed”

Wrangell Mountain Air - Day Trips
Ranked #3 of 7 things to do in McCarthy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wrangell Mountain Air is based at McCarthy in the heart of Wrangell-St. Elias National Park. We offer day trips and 3 scheduled flight daily from Chitina (at the end of the paved road) to McCarthy-Kennicott, flightseeing tours in the best of Wrangell-St. Elias and fly-in backpacking, basecamping and rafting. There are a range of accomodations and activities available at McCarthy-Kennicott so plan on spending a day or two to enjoy the feel of remote Alaskan towns.
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A few disappointed”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Pilots were very sympatics with us and they showed us all rivers, lakes...
A beautiful flight over mc carthy/ chitin road for the Chitina/mc Carthy, and over mountains during Mc carthy/ chitina.
But, the only "problem" was the airplane: a 1973 cessna 206 that wasn't in a well form (magnetic compass were destroyed/ is that authorized by FAA? I'm not sure. And we could see the old age of the airplane (doors were a few broken...)
But for the return, the airplane (a 1949 beaver ) were in a better form.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jack d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B, Owner at Wrangell Mountain Air - Day Trips, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Jack d.....I assure you there was nothing wrong with the compass or the doors on the 1973 Cessna 206 or we would not fly the airplane. We are routinely inspected by the FAA and pass with flying colors. If there was a problem with the flight I wish that you could have spoken directly with me. There is most likely an explanation for what you perceived as problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    8
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Flight out of McCarthy”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had taken the shuttle bus into McCarthy, which is a 3 hour trip on a dirt road with a couple of stops. It was ok but the flight out was amazing! The pilot was very good, the flight was smooth and even my very nervous daughter was OK. We flew in an 8 seater plane and had great views out of the windows even on a cloudy day. Definitely the way to get in and out of Wrangell St Elias National Park!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mayatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flight to Kennicott”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Interesting flight, great views, made effort to show us particular sights along the way. Friendly and a good pilot. Definitely the way to go. Drive back was LONG and not that scenic.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharonvanram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truckee, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The staff were all friendly, flexible, and fun. The pilots were awesome. We flew into the park for a 5 day backcountry trip, and Wrangell Mtn Air was the easiest part of our planning. It looks like most others at Trip Advisor had similar positive experiences. The only thing we would add is to not let marginal weather deter your flight/sight seeing. We flew in on a partly/mostly cloudy day and flew out on a blue bird day. There is too much to see, even on a cloudless day, so if they are willing to launch, then don't miss the opportunity. The flights in and out were highlights of our 5 day trip. Experience of a lifetime.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A clear day”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Lucky to have a clear day so took a 70minute trip. Stunning views & an unobtrusive commentary. If you have the time & the weather is good then this is great value.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wrangell Mountain Air - Day Trips also viewed

McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
 
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Wrangell Mountain Air - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing