We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Blackburn Expedition”

Wild Alpine - Day Tours
Ranked #5 of 7 things to do in McCarthy
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unsurpassed day trips and multi-day adventures plus gear rentals and outdoor equipment store in Wrangell-St Elias National Park. May thru September, enjoy guided glacier hikes and ice climbing instruction, fly-in backpacking treks, alpine climbing and skiing expeditions. November thru March: guided backcountry ski touring, ice and alpine climbing in the Chugach Range. March thru May: truly unparalleled spring skiing and climbing trips in the Wrangell, St Elias and Chugach Ranges. Wild Alpine operates the only retail sales and rental gear shop in the McCarthy-Kennecott area of Wrangell-St Elias National Park. Choose Wild Alpine for all your backcountry needs: Patagonia, Smartwool, Black Diamond, Rab, MSR, Therm-A-Rest, and others. Rent mountain bikes, glacier hiking crampons, satellite phones, sleeping pads, tents, mountaineering boots and other necessities to enhance your human-powered adventure of a lifetime!
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Mount Blackburn Expedition”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I need to note before the critique that this trip came together very well; that Eli and Aria are competent, relatable, and passionate about the Wrangells; and that I am planning on attempting Blackburn with Wild Alpine in 2015. The single biggest issue I had was communication in the months leading up to departure. There was a point where the back-and-forth Emails had trickled off to nothing, and I thought I had ended up on the wrong end of a spam filter. The second issue was the mountaineering gear list on Wild Alpine's website, which I found out was inadequate for Blackburn only a few weeks before my flight to Anchorage. Other than these two (ultimately pretty minor) problems, I had a great trip. The route conditions, flight timing, and weather (seemingly) conspired to deny two of the three groups a summit attempt, but this is hardly attributable to Eli's planning or leadership skill. A fantastic if unsuccessful expedition to the most incredible place I know or know of.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Glacier Hike”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We booked this hike and were so pleased with it. Our guide Killian met us where we were staying and gave us an orientation to putting on and sizing crampons. Once we were done, we walked through the town of Kennicott and onto a trail which led us to the Root Glacier.

Once we got to the glacier, we put on our crampons and spend a few hours walking on the glacier, exploring the glacier, it's lakes, rivers, and mulans. Throughout the hike Killian provided us information on the geology and history of the area.

It was a great experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 543Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Ice Climbing Tour”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We took an ice climbing tour with wild alpine back in June 2014. Since nobody else booked the tour other than us we could customize the tour as the day progressed :D
we walked on glaciers and Kilean and Terrell showed us the glacier rivers, blue lakes and all the interesting spots you can ( or even cannot! ) imagine while looking for the perfect wall to climb. after a few hours of climbing we asked them to show us the blue ice caves if possible. no other tour was willing to do this while I talked to them but they happily accepted! we continued our tour in search for a blue ice cave and eventually find one that had been recently opened up. this was the highlight of our day-trip and the most beautiful and fascinating place we saw on that day.
they helped us to see Wrangell as a local rather than a tourist which was priceless. thumbs up to both of them!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kennicott Mill tour Fascinating”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Brian was a great guide, knowledgable and willing to answer questions from a diverse, curious group. Patient with us older, slower, less agile members without being patronizing. Well worth the effort. Fascinating tour

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JocelynBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mt Bona climb with Wild Alpine”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Had an awesome time climbing Mount Bona this June with Wild Alpine! Great attention to detail, friendly staff, breathtaking locations and fantastic experience all around. The experience and dedication of guide Matty and the logistics provided by all the Wild Alpine crew ensured we had a great time and got to the top as the first summit of the season :) Can't wait to join them for Denali next year. Cheers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ross V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Alpine - Day Tours also viewed

McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
 
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
 

Been to Wild Alpine - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing