We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sweet, clean, and comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bigskies5
College Park, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Sweet, clean, and comfortable”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My friend and I stayed here as part of a tour, and we fell in love with the cabins! They were so thoughtfully organized, quiet, rustic yet comfortable - and the BEDS were SOOO amazingly comfortable. It was nice to stay in the woods, yet still be just a short walk//bike ride from downtown. Would definitely recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“McCarthy/Kennicott in the Winter”
Reviewed 3 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Four of us (two of us in our 70's) arrived on January 27th (McCarthy Rd from Chitna was great in and out) and picked up two snow machines. Mark came over and led us across the Kennicott River to his cabins near McCarthy. Cabins were very nice and beds were the best. We grilled outside and had a fire in the fire pit one night. We were alone following the snow machine trails on both sides of the river. Visiting the Kennicott Mine in the winter was special and unique. The quietness was without compare. The starry sky was spectacular. The owner checked with us every day. Of course nothing was open and I understand about 30 folks live there full time. (PS: outhouse was scenic but cold!)

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoomie70
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful, friendly, helpful - a GREAT stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We arrived on no-notice after the 15th of September when almost everything in McCarthy/Kennecott is shut down. They were great - setting up our cabin, arranging for a meal, providing transportation from and back to the bridge, giving us local guidance, and providing bicycles. The cabins were very comfortable and have great mattresses, running water, heat, drinking water, and USB chargers (and an outhouse and common private showers with excellent hot water). I can't speak highly enough of the management or the fun of staying there. Remember, you are virtually in the middle of nowhere, so there is a lot of "rustic" comfort. We had great Verizon phone coverage and the other quests were especially friendly. There is no food or full kitchen, so be sure to have enough food to use the cabin single propane burner stove. When McCarthy and Kennecott are open, you have more options for meals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Mattress
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanielo...
1 review
“Amazing Stay!!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved our night at Blackburn! The cabin and beds are extremely comfortable! Host is very accommodating and wanted to make sure we had a great stay!

Would highly recommend!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleonj...
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Loved our cabin!”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Blackburn Cabins for a couple nights while traveling through McCarthy and really enjoyed our stay. Our cabin was spacious enough for us both to stretch out a bit and have plenty of room for our belongings. The beds were very comfortable and the decor was nice. There was a fire pit next to our cabin and we were able to enjoy a small fire one of the nights there and talk with some of the people staying in the other cabins nearby.
The outhouse was nicely constructed and you had a great view of the surrounding woods while taking care of business.
The cabins are located a bit outside of McCarthy, but there are bikes available to get to town and it only takes 5 to 10 minutes to cycle there. Also, be aware there was no electrical outlets in the cabin (at least the one we had) but there were several USB ports to charge phones/ipads, etc.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it if you're in McCarthy.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn O
Eagle River, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great way to experience McCarthy!”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My parents and I enjoyed our stay here while visiting McCarthy. We really appreciated the pick-up and drop-off at the foot bridge and found the cabins to be charming. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen set-up was sufficient, and the location was within walking distance to the town. As first timers to McCarthy, we hadn't understood exactly how remote everything was and how few people have any electricity, hot water, indoor plumbing, etc; now that we get it, we really appreciate what we had at Blackburn Cabins. One piece of advice to future guests who come in thinking they'll do some of their own cooking - you need to rely on your own coolers and ice supply so perhaps only bring non-perishables. That's one of the few things I wish I had realized beforehand (which in no way reflects on the cabins and their owners!).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno J
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic experience”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We enjoyed spending the night in this authentic and rustic cabin built Mark himself.
The cabin and the beds were very comfortable. The shower-house and outside toilets are quite rustic but you will enjoy being in the middle of the nature (and maybe hoping that no bear will come to disturb you ;))
The location is also very nice, you can bike to "downtown" McCarthy, the toe of the glacier or even Kennicott.
A warm thank you to Livvi who was very helpful, getting us at the bridge and arranging for a glacier tour.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing