We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennicott
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kennicott Glacier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We love this place”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We loved this place and hope to go back someday. We had a room in the main lodge; there were separate toilet rooms and shower rooms down the hall which were shared with other occupants. They sounded busy around 7 or 8 am, but we took our showers in the evening and stayed in bed until about 8:30 am. We never had to wait for the bathrooms.
We only got to spend one night here because the place was full. I recommend booking far in advance.
Kennicott is much nicer than McCarthy, and the lodge is right next to the old mine buildings, the Park Service Visitor Center, and about an hour's walk from the edge of the glacier. It will take less time to hike there if you do not stop frequently to take photos, as we did.
We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food, which was reasonably priced by Alaska standards.
The staff was friendly and helpful. The lodge provides free parking about 1/4 mile from the footbridge and will pick you up from the bridge. A man at the parking area gave us a ride to the bridge. The lodge will also take you back to the bridge if you either stay there or eat in the dining room for dinner.
The hotel is in an old building connected with the mine and is full of artifacts from the mine as well as old advertisements on the walls which are humorous nowadays.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizgabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    65
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
59
131
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, superbly managed. Everything clean and well run. Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Great view onto the glacier. Prices are very reasonable considering the location. If you are on a budget we recommend that you bring your own food or use the pizza place opposite (great). Glacier view rooms are much more expensive, and certainly not worth the extra. Just walk outside or to the common room for the view!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank silly_sausage_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I spent two nights there recently on our visit to the Kennicott Mine area. The Glacier Lodge facility is excellent and the staff runs it well and efficiently We stayed in the Main Lodge and had a package deal that included 3 meals per day and a round trip flight from the Chitna airport and back. It allowed us to skip the 60 mile gravel road ride each way and the possibility of a flat tire (not unusual). The flight was with Wrangell Mt Air and was a 30 minute mini-flight seeing experience to the McCarthy airport. The Lodge is rustic, but in great shape and meticulously clean and maintained. We did have to share private restrooms and showers in the Main Lodge, but we never had to wait more than a minute or two to get in, and they were always in a thoroughly clean state. All the meals were very good to excellent, with dinner served "family style" with three other couples per table...lots of fun meeting the travelers there from all over the world. We highly recommend the lodge, and consider the flight/meal package they offered worth every penny. Fulfilled our Kennicott "bucket list".

Room Tip: Main Lodge was perfectly fine, but if you want your own bathroom, then reserve early to get into one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuidoF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapeer, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I had a wonderful time at this lodge. Everyone was so accommodating especially Genie ! If you are in this area this is the place to stay. Great rooms wonderful service. The food was exceptional ! I would stay longer next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaD103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Kennicott Glacier Lodge for 3 nights on a 10 day Alaskan road trip the end of June 2014. It was our absolute best experience in Alaska from customer service, lodge location, food service, points of interest, and activities. We stayed in a first floor room of the south wing that had a private bath, which was part of the Explorer Package that we bought through the lodge. While the rooms themselves are not exceptional in their appearance and sound proofing, the location and customer service of this place is quite exceptional. The Explorer Package includes a flight tour in and out of McCarthy, shuttle ride from the McCarthy airstrip to the lodge and vice a verse when it is time to leave, the room, and three delicious meals a day in the main lodge. The customer service was top notch, friendly, gracious and not in the least bit pretentious. Their staff sets the mood for their guests, who come from all over the world. The food was devine! The activities were plentiful and easy to arrange. I recommend Kennicott and Kennicott Glacier Lodge to anyone who will be in Alaska, including Alaskans. You have to experience it!

Room Tip: I think the only rooms with private baths are in the South Wing, where we stayed, but there were ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the Kennicott Glacier Lodge for a week and absolutely loved everything about our stay! The lodge rooms were comfortable, the location superb, the staff extremely helpful, the common rooms cozy and the food was incredible! We were never without multiple options on how to spend the day and the staff answered all questions. It was a great family vacation!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent one night at Glacier Lodge in the south lodge, a room with a private bath. There is nothing fancy about this lodge but the experience of being in an old mining town and be the base for glacier hiking or rafting is not to be missed. The lodge has an excellent kitchen so meals are worth the added costs. Just the experience of reaching the town and taking the Kennecott Copper Mill tour is a must for everyone in the area. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kennicott Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennicott Glacier Lodge

Property: Kennicott Glacier Lodge
Address: #15 Kennicott Millsite, Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve > Kennicott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Kennicott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennicott Glacier Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennicott Glacier Lodge is a family owned lodge located in America's largest National Park, Wrangell-St. Elias. Try glacier hiking or ice climbing on the Root Glacier, one of the few easily accessible glaciers in North America. Get a breath taking view of the park on a flightseeing tour, or spend time alpine hiking, river rafting, and exploring the National Historic Landmark of the Kennicott Copper Mine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kennicott Glacier Hotel Kennicott
Kennicott Glacier Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing