We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kennicott Mine and Glacier”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennicott
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kennicott Glacier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Wonderful place to stay in a home-like atmosphere at Kennicott Glacier Lodge. Great staff and great food. Take the tour of the mine and hike out to the glacier. What a fun trip. Slow going road to the lodge. Lots of ruts but well worth the time it takes to travel there. Shared bathrooms in one lodge building but never trouble getting into them or the showers.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main lodge do not have a bathroom in the room. There is a sink with cold water. Showe...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LoAnn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Kennicott Glacier Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a forest-view room, in the main lodge (shared shower and bathrooms, sink in our room). The room was fairly small and basic, but a reasonably good value for the area. We didn't feel we missed out not having a Glacier view room- we weren't in our room very much, and the Root Glacier in front of the hotel isn't that stunning- it is covered with rock, gravel and other debris and doesn't look like a "typical" glacier.

The hotel location is outstanding for access to the historic buildings in Kennecott, to several hiking trails (Root Glacier, Bonanza Mine, Jumbo Mine), and for rafting, ice climbing and several other outdoor activities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Minnesota1_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

First of all Kennicott is a must see in Alaska. Our visit to the Wrangell / St Elias was one of the big highlights of our two week trip. We have three kids (ages 9 - 11) and the accommodations worked out great. We stayed in the south (non main lodge) and had our own bathroom, but one of our kids had to sleep on the lazy boy (our kids were fighting for who had the lazy boy so they didn't have to share a bed). We got the plan that included meals and a roundtrip flight. The drive from Anchorage to the Chitina airstrip is spectacular. Stop for lunch at the Sheep Mountain Lodge. The flight from Chitina was beautiful. It is primarily a transportation trip, but the sights are spectacular as you fly to Kennicott. The airport pickup in McCarthy was seamless and then we got to the lodge. Food is great. They serve family style and you sit with others at 8-12 person tables and serve yourself food from platters. Old school. Lots of fun. We spent most of our time with St Elias Guides. Check them out. That is a lot of why we had such a great time on this segment of our trip.

Room Tip: If you want your own bathroom don't stay in the main lodge. Stay in the newer south building.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoTrvlr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We loved it here. The lodge was cozy and clean with excellent service. All of the staff were so friendly and helpful. We stayed on the first floor of the main building so it did get a bit loud at breakfast time, but that was our only complaint. Also, be prepared for food to be on the pricey side. It makes sense why when you see how remote you are! Go and enjoy! It is an awesome place!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennylou_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We loved this place and hope to go back someday. We had a room in the main lodge; there were separate toilet rooms and shower rooms down the hall which were shared with other occupants. They sounded busy around 7 or 8 am, but we took our showers in the evening and stayed in bed until about 8:30 am. We never had to wait for the bathrooms.
We only got to spend one night here because the place was full. I recommend booking far in advance.
Kennicott is much nicer than McCarthy, and the lodge is right next to the old mine buildings, the Park Service Visitor Center, and about an hour's walk from the edge of the glacier. It will take less time to hike there if you do not stop frequently to take photos, as we did.
We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food, which was reasonably priced by Alaska standards.
The staff was friendly and helpful. The lodge provides free parking about 1/4 mile from the footbridge and will pick you up from the bridge. A man at the parking area gave us a ride to the bridge. The lodge will also take you back to the bridge if you either stay there or eat in the dining room for dinner.
The hotel is in an old building connected with the mine and is full of artifacts from the mine as well as old advertisements on the walls which are humorous nowadays.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lizgabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, superbly managed. Everything clean and well run. Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Great view onto the glacier. Prices are very reasonable considering the location. If you are on a budget we recommend that you bring your own food or use the pizza place opposite (great). Glacier view rooms are much more expensive, and certainly not worth the extra. Just walk outside or to the common room for the view!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank silly_sausage_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I spent two nights there recently on our visit to the Kennicott Mine area. The Glacier Lodge facility is excellent and the staff runs it well and efficiently We stayed in the Main Lodge and had a package deal that included 3 meals per day and a round trip flight from the Chitna airport and back. It allowed us to skip the 60 mile gravel road ride each way and the possibility of a flat tire (not unusual). The flight was with Wrangell Mt Air and was a 30 minute mini-flight seeing experience to the McCarthy airport. The Lodge is rustic, but in great shape and meticulously clean and maintained. We did have to share private restrooms and showers in the Main Lodge, but we never had to wait more than a minute or two to get in, and they were always in a thoroughly clean state. All the meals were very good to excellent, with dinner served "family style" with three other couples per table...lots of fun meeting the travelers there from all over the world. We highly recommend the lodge, and consider the flight/meal package they offered worth every penny. Fulfilled our Kennicott "bucket list".

Room Tip: Main Lodge was perfectly fine, but if you want your own bathroom, then reserve early to get into one...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GuidoF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kennicott Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennicott Glacier Lodge

Address: #15 Kennicott Millsite, Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve > Kennicott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Kennicott
Price Range: £122 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennicott Glacier Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennicott Glacier Lodge is a family owned lodge located in America's largest National Park, Wrangell-St. Elias. Try glacier hiking or ice climbing on the Root Glacier, one of the few easily accessible glaciers in North America. Get a breath taking view of the park on a flightseeing tour, or spend time alpine hiking, river rafting, and exploring the National Historic Landmark of the Kennicott Copper Mine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kennicott Glacier Hotel Kennicott
Kennicott Glacier Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing