We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value and location outside the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Hotel Carcavelos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riviera Hotel Carcavelos
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carcavelos
Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Value and location outside the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Nice hotel with some services. The pools are small, the restuarant is mediocre, the gym is still "under construction" and the rooms are bland - despite all this it is still a comfortable place to stay though it is a good train ride from the city and an even longer ride from the airport but the beach is close by. Breakfast is the typical tasteless gummy scambled egss with the standard assortment of juices and pastries. Located in the same building is a shopping mall and also nearby are several tourist restaurants.

Room Tip: front room only has distant views of the ocean > 300 meters, back rooms look out onto the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLP_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    124
    71
    28
    13
See reviews for
68
100
13
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed for a week on business. The hotel service was very good, The room was clean and comfortable as was the rest of the hotel despite the beds being slightly too firm for me. The bathrooms need a bit of upgrading but were functional. Breakfast was nice with plenty of it. The staff were friendly and helpful and the pool was clean and not very busy. Travel to Cascais and to Lisbon centre was easy and cheap by train which was only a short walk away. It was only a short to the beach where there was plenty of bars and cafes.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed fine by me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

As a frequent visitor to this property I need to say that the hotel is desperatly asking for a refurbishment. The bathrooms look very used, mouldy and sometimes dirty. Many old waterstains on the floor. In some rooms the showerhead is not acceptable. Internet does not work in all rooms but it is for free. I really liked the hotel but now I need to change. Positive is the breakfast, the friendlyness of all staff-members and the location. Please spend some money and polish it up.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cgnchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week on our honeymoon in August and were very pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and comfortable as was the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was nice and the the evening buffets were varied and tasty. The staff were friendly and helpful and the pool was not only clean and well cared for but not as busy as I was expecting. Travel to Cascais and to Lisbon was quick and cheap via the train, which is only a 7 minute walk. There were a couple of negatives however, the air con was not great in the room and the gym was not operational during the month of August. I would recommend this hotel however, close to the beach, nice cafes and restaurants and an extremely comfortable bar/lounge area to unwind in with some evening entertainment. We went on to a five star hotel after this and we're not half as impressed!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here for week in July 2012 because it was the nicest hotel we could find near to Optimus Alive festival in Alges. It was a very nice and comfortable place to stay. The rooms were spacious and clean with a lovely big bathroom. We were facing the sea so we had a great view and the sun was only on the room in the morning so it was lovely and cool in the day. Staff wise, they were great, helpful and the breakfast waiters and waitress were really nice and characterful. Regarding the other features of the hotel, the pool was great if a little cold, there is a very reasonably priced tennis court, a good working t.v with lots of English channels, a computer room that is free to use and free wifi on the 1st floor near reception. Otherwise it is very close to the beach and only a 15 minute walk to the station! I would definitely recommend this hotel but I however would not come back to the area as there is not much to do. And one last thing, if you are looking for somewhere to eat there is a great Italian restaurant called Gota D'Agua that over looks the beach just a short walk up the beach on the left of the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_9318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I wouldn’t call this hotel luxurious but it has everything you need to relax & rest: good location (less than 10 minutes' walk to Carcavelos beach), clean and esthetic rooms and nice outdoor pool with the adjacent bar.If you are lucky, as we were- or ask for it in advance- you might also get a room with ocean view and “contemplate it” in the evenings from your balcony.

The traffic around the hotel is limited, so the setting is really peaceful, but at the same time you can easily find around some restaurants/bars where you can have dinner or coffee/drinks.
The breakfast is a big plus too – the selection is wide and the breakfast lounge interior elegant and bright.

Last but not least I need to mention the front desk – they were really helpful and made us feel welcome.

Overall the stay was great. Would love to return.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ania850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Ok, first the price is good, business room on fourth floor with an ocean view for 79 euro per night. Best thing about the hotel.

The front desk staff, well let us just say that it would not hurt to serve with a smile, any question seems to be too much to handle. A little service with a smile goes a long way.

The room is dated. The towels are like sandpaper, the plumbing seems to need repair - sink, tub and toilet. The table in the room was on its last legs.

No wifi in the rooms, only in the bar area, and this means literally only in the Bar area. This is a big disadvantage in this the 21 st century.

The bed was as hard as stone. No give whatsoever.


On the plus side, the non smoking nature of the hotel means that you can put the air conditioning on and not suffer. The breakfast is really good and the business centre offered free printing, which was good for boarding ticket printing. And the view was so nice to wake up to.

Overall this hotel needs some tender, loving care to restore it to its once better past.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris71Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carcavelos
3.9 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
3.6 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.9 mi away
Hotel Solar Palmeiras
Hotel Solar Palmeiras
#2 of 2 in Paco de Arcos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#4 of 17 in Estoril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
3.0 mi away
Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos
3.2 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#3 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel Carcavelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel Carcavelos

Property: Riviera Hotel Carcavelos
Address: Rua Bartolomeu Dias | Junqueiro, Carcavelos 2775-551, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Carcavelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carcavelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel Carcavelos 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2000, the Hotel Riviera is situated in a privileged area very close to Carcavelos Beach - considered to be the best of the various beaches in the area - and centrally located in relation both to Lisbon city and other places of great historic interest such as Cascais and Sintra. Guests can make use of the great facilities offered, including tennis courts, spa, Turkish bath, sauna and two swimming pools. The shopping center Riviera is adjoined the Hotel, with 63 stores. The International airport of Lisbon is at 28Km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Riviera Hotel Carcavelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing