We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, Bad service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riviera Hotel Carcavelos
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carcavelos
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average hotel, Bad service.”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel from the 5th-11th September. The hotel itself is ok, I think its a bit old fashioned. Breakfast in the morning is good too.

But the negatives were more than the positives.
The bathroom was not cleaned properly it had a very bad smell in it, I looked around to find that the smell was coming from the shower curtains which had yellow stained patches on it. The LAN cable for the internet (no wireless in the room) was broken. There was a huge argument to get the mini bar open so we can use the fridge. When it was finally open it was dirty with some bubble gum kinda product inside and the TV would go blank for hours. We called reception who got someone to fix the internet cable, but did not pay attention to the TV and dirty minibar. The next morning I went to reception to speak to the manager and complained about the room, I even took pictures so they could see I was not over exaggerating.They said the manager was not available and they will inform him about my complaint.They did get someone to change the shower curtain and TV but no change with the minibar. I didn't bother complaining again, it was too much hassle. I never got to speak to the manager either, I did email the manager when i came back to London. The manager replied with an apology.

I think it is the worst European hotel I have stayed in, would not stay at this hotel again neither will I recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    128
    73
    29
    13
See reviews for
69
104
13
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The location is ideal as you are a few hundred metres from a great beach and only a few minutes away from many more. With Lisbon easy to access by train or not too expensive by cab you can get the perfect mix of beach and city holiday so it has something for everyone.

The hotel itself has a good feel to it although the carpet in my room could do with replacing. Breakfast was average but the adjacent shopping centre provides you with good options for food with plenty of other restaurants nearby.

It rained for most of the past week but when the sun came out the whole area is beautiful and our room gave a good view of the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uitgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Great hotel, nice rooms good breakfast and a very nice swimmingpool. The beach is a hotspot surfingarea and very clea. Also nice restaurant with a very nice staff on yhe boulevard. The rooms are a litthe bit old fashioned and need to be redecorated bu that is all.
Supermarket and other shops are around the corner. Try the café con leite for just 1 Euro! It really is not necessary to order a capuccino!

Room Tip: value for money and very close to Lisboa and beach resorts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanje_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The Riviera was the right hotel for us, as it was what we hoped for in terms of comfort and facilities. Good sized rooms, though WiFi only available in the bar. Breakfast was good, though the hot food wasn't hot and choice of cereals limited to three options! The swimming pool area was not crowded, with plenty of sunbeds, though not enough umbrellas. Quiet and relaxing atmosphere, as this is a mainly residential area.

It was nice to have a small shopping centre adjacent to the hotel, and the supermarket was ideal, as due to the heatwave, we were often buying cartons of juice there.

We chose to stay in Carcavelos as it is an easy train ride to Lisbon and because it is less touristy than Cascais. The long, wide beach was amazing and an easy walk from the hotel, where there are many bars and restaurants overlooking the ocean. The beach is where it's all at, popular with young surfers and ample room to play football, volleyball, etc. We walked along the promenade most evenings and liked the restaurant about half way up, which served traditional Portuguese codfish, but our favourite was the Italian just past the beach, Cappriccio, which had a varied menu and was very popular.

I think we made the right choice for a chilled out week's holiday, with a day trip to historical Lisbon and charming Cascais.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyLynne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Fantastic hotel. Nice,clean rooms, excellent breakfast, friendly people, next to the beautiful 3km long sandy beach, close to the train station to the Lisboa. We stayed there in August 2013 for 11 days and we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanjaPipile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The location of the hotel is good, not far from the train station and the beach. There is free wifi connection on the lobby but the hotel is getting old. It must have been great about 10-15 years ago, but now it needs some upgrades if it wants to really deserve those 4 stars.
We arrived in the morning at about 9,30 am and just have to wait until 2,30-3,00 pm to check in, even if we insisted by the staff to hurry up because we were very tired after our night flight. With no result in the end, they didn't bother to do something about it!
Unfortunately that wasn't the only time when the staff didn't solve our request, they just seem to not care about the guests. I mentioned to the staff that we were during the honeymoon and we would like a matrimonial bed, instead they gave us a room with twin beds.
During our stay at Riviere Hotel I asked 3 times for a room with matrimonial bed and off coure it was in vain, the staff wasn't helpfull at all. I refuse to believe that during our 6 night stay there, all rooms with matrimonial bed were occupied at the same time!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordium2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed there with my son and have really enjoyed it. The hotel is clean and well located, close to the railway station ( ask the reception staff to tell you where the short cut it, but use it during the day only). It is really close to the beach and has a nice pool. It also has a shopping centre next to it with chemist, supermarket, newspapers, bookshop and cafes, which is handy. Avoid eating in the beach - it is costly and not so good - but the adjacent square, praça do Junqueiro, has several restaurants. Restaurante Atlântico is particularly good. My son was initially was disappointed with the lack of nightlife, but the bar is nice and he said he would stay there again. It is much less touristy than Cascais, but only c. 15 mins by train. It is also convenient if you are doing business in the outskirts of Lisbon, which was also my case for part of the time. Rooms are clean and more spacious than I expected. Staff is nice, particularly in the bar, cleaning and reception. Somewhat uneven in the restaurant at breakfast time. Breakfast is nice. The sliced fruit is excellent. If you prefer a livelier resort with entertainment, this is not or you, but if you are looking for a quiet and comfortable place, well located, near the beach and with nice amenities, this is a very good choice at a good price.

Room Tip: I enjoyed being closer to the top floor with a sea view. Not much noise and a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestfieldSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carcavelos
3.9 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
3.6 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.8 mi away
Hotel Solar Palmeiras
Hotel Solar Palmeiras
#2 of 2 in Paco de Arcos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.0 mi away
Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos
3.8 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#4 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel Carcavelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel Carcavelos

Property: Riviera Hotel Carcavelos
Address: Rua Bartolomeu Dias | Junqueiro, Carcavelos 2775-551, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Carcavelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carcavelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel Carcavelos 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2000, the Hotel Riviera is situated in a privileged area very close to Carcavelos Beach - considered to be the best of the various beaches in the area - and centrally located in relation both to Lisbon city and other places of great historic interest such as Cascais and Sintra. Guests can make use of the great facilities offered, including tennis courts, spa, Turkish bath, sauna and two swimming pools. The shopping center Riviera is adjoined the Hotel, with 63 stores. The International airport of Lisbon is at 28Km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Hotel Carcavelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing