We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location location location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Hotel Carcavelos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riviera Hotel Carcavelos
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carcavelos
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location location location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

For a first timer to Lisbon ,who wanted sun and beach this was a perfect location, walking distance to beach and restaurants, but also lovely outdoor pool. The room was tidy and clean with coastal view.the breakfast had a good range to choose from,hot or cold,plenty of fruit all types of drinks as well.The staff were helpful with information to travel to Lisbon. And once we got used to the ticketing at the local train station we were happy to commute into Lisbon and Cascais.it was an easy walk to the train station from the hotel. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Sea view worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doreenfrancesmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    124
    71
    28
    13
See reviews for
68
100
13
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 10 days for a summer break away.

The hotel is in a fantastic location as it is 5 minutes walking distance from the beach, restaurants and train station, (it is also next door to a shopping mall).

Unfortunately we were initially given a room with a broken air-conditioning system, we called reception and they had a 'heating engineer' take a look only to tell us it was 'fine', the room was incredibly hot and we were unable to sleep, The windows in the room bedroom were also fastened shut and were not designed to be opened. After complaining and complaining we were finally moved to another room with a working air-con.

The rooms are spacious, clean and looked out towards the sea. Facilities include a safe, kettle, iron and a very small mini fridge.

Although the hotel suited our needs I cant help but feel it was looking a little tired, it really does have the potential to be better, That said I would more likely visit again for its location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnalieMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Perfect, just a flat for access to the jacuzzi on Sunday and the indoor pool.
Location, no car needed every movement can be done on foot or by train which to discover the coast and the capital
A renouveler

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed here for 10 days in May into June. I have stayed here twice a year over last 6 years. It has gradually got shabbier every time I holiday here. We arrived and checked in too a double room we thought but on arrival we had a twin room with a tiny tv, dirty fridge, and filthy carpets. Also the shower head was very dirty. I immediately asked reception for a double room which I booked in March to be told the Hotel was full and couldn't be accommodated. I also complained about the tiny television as the previous visit we had bigger tv,s . Of course it was all to no avail. Then on the Sunday morning at 01.40am we were awoken to water pouring from upstairs through the vent over the bath, we contacted reception and were told sorry we have no other rooms were fully booked. And indeed nobody came to check if it had stopped or indeed if the bathroom had flooded. How can this be a four star hotel when their so indifferent to their guests comfort or complaints. The constant blank stares of staff is indeed off putting. I wont be back to this Hotel as its passed its sell by date. Im sure their must be a Hotel watchdog in Portugal and they badly need to visit .

Room Tip: Don't stay here my advise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riviera-Carcavelos, Guest relations at Riviera Hotel Carcavelos, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you so much for your comments, we are always thriving to improve and your opinion deserved our best attention.
Your reflections are important since we shall pass them on to our staff in order to improve service attitude. As a matter of fact blank stares are useless.

Regarding the request for a room change while we were full, the correct policy would have been to assign another room in one of the following days and our staff would assist in that change. We shall of course investigate further to find out what has happened to prevent further similar situation from happening again.
We did replace old bulky TV sets by slim flat screens with the same diameter.

We do thank you for sharing your views with us and hope to have the opportunity to be able to welcome you back at a future occasion,
Kind regards,
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carcavelos hotels

kansas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stopped at the Riviera for one night as part of a week tour with friends. The exterior looks fine, but rooms need repairs and are rather shabby. The area around the hotel has several good restaurants and is near the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank kseconomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Riviera Hotel. The room was clean and I had a sea view. The staff were very helpful and the daytrips, arranged by the Hotel, were efficient and most enjoyable. The little shopping mall right next to the hotel was very convenient. The Hotel is walking distance from the beautiful beach and also from the train station. It costs around $4 for the train ride to Lisbon city centre and we spend a most enjoyable afternoon. I've discovered a lovely little shop "Du Chic a vendre" .. run by Marina Cardoso (Praca do Junqueiro 19B) .. on the way to the beach (left hand side). This is a second hand shop selling top designer Italian clothes, shoes and jewellery .. most of it hardly ever worn. The breakfast might have been the same every day, but there were such a variety of food that I had each of the 6 mornings I spend there, a different menu. The conference facilities were excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view (-:
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

A bit of a disappointment - didn't expect to have to pay 4 euros for a wifi/day - nor having to ask someone from reception to open the minibar/fridgerator. (The fee was 1 euro/day) or the old stains of dirt in the bathroom. I was here for a conference and the meeting room facilities were good but the guest rooms themselves had seen better days. The air in the rooms were dusty and moldy, perhaps because my room was towards the pool (not having the sunlight drying things up). Some of the reception staffs were friendly but some were just having a bad day - no sign of smile or showing interest. Would go somewhere else next time!

Room Tip: Do ask for a sea view - it might be a bit better. And upper floors 3-4 are definitely better than 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carcavelos
3.9 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
3.6 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.9 mi away
Hotel Solar Palmeiras
Hotel Solar Palmeiras
#2 of 2 in Paco de Arcos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#4 of 17 in Estoril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
3.0 mi away
Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos
3.2 mi away
Vila Gale Estoril
Vila Gale Estoril
#3 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel Carcavelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel Carcavelos

Property: Riviera Hotel Carcavelos
Address: Rua Bartolomeu Dias | Junqueiro, Carcavelos 2775-551, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Carcavelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carcavelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel Carcavelos 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2000, the Hotel Riviera is situated in a privileged area very close to Carcavelos Beach - considered to be the best of the various beaches in the area - and centrally located in relation both to Lisbon city and other places of great historic interest such as Cascais and Sintra. Guests can make use of the great facilities offered, including tennis courts, spa, Turkish bath, sauna and two swimming pools. The shopping center Riviera is adjoined the Hotel, with 63 stores. The International airport of Lisbon is at 28Km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riviera Hotel Carcavelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing