We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic Breton Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine De La Bretesche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domaine De La Bretesche
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Missillac
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Idyllic Breton Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

very quiet, I think there were just four other guests, so it felt like we had an entire mansion to ourselves. The hotel rooms occupy the former outbuildings of the Chateau de la Bretesche which stands along a pond across from the hotel. You can take a nice walk around the lake and view the Chateau (which has tours in the summer).

The rooms had nice old world furnishing with a comfortable bed and a nice big bathroom. We had a room that faced the adorable interior courtyard and it was very quiet. There is a fun bar in the former stables right off the lobby, great for a drink or a coffee. The two restaurants within the hotel were both very good. The Club restaurant was a little less formal and had a nice bar and great fireplace. The Montiagu is Michelin starred and the food and wine pairings were excellent.

The best part of the hotel was the staff. They were extremely helpful before we arrived making sure we had dinner reservations. On arrival they couldn't have been nicer, so welcoming. The restaurant staff was also amazing, gave great information about the food and wine during our meals. The only disappointment was the breakfast - we ate there the first morning but the cost, I believe over 15 euros each, was a little steep. But I have found this to be true for most buffet breakfast anywhere you go.

I would love to come back again in the spring or summer to enjoy the beautiful pool and see the hotels gardens in bloom. If you are a golfer they had an extensive course.

We were touring around southern Brittany and found this to be a good base. The hotel is easily accessible to the highway and the town of Missillac itself is quiet close. Though we didn't venture down, it looked to have a few restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewel1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    89
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
58
260
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
560 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had a villa closed to the golf and near to the La Bretesche Chateau which is stunningly beautiful. The service in this hotel is excellent and the villa was comfortable and quiet. we had two floors, one for the living/kitchen/bar and one for the two bed rooms that we were using. Two bath rooms and one rest room at the sleeping level and one at the living level. Superb.
Prices are very correct for what you get and we will certainly go back to this place and spend more time. enjoying the countryside and the restaurants.

Room Tip: The hotel or the villa are superb. If you are only two, choose the hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmLondon845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Probably the best stop on our 26 day tour of France. The staff is crazy good. You would think I was related to them that's how well we were treated. I love the bar/ lounge. It is in a renovated stable that is spectacularly appointed. Our room large and also well appointed. It over looked the court yard. The restaurant is worth a visit, wonderful food and great service. This is the place to stay if you want to feel like royalty.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This was the single best hotel experience I have had in my life, although by no means the most expensive. I booked a night there based the way it looked on the website, and the real thing was approximately 200% better than it appeared. From the physical space -- the chateau, the guest room building with the most lovely courtyard, the woods, etc. -- to the impeccable service, Bretesche is just an amazing resort. It's always in the back of my mind that a hotel of this caliber might be stuffy, but the warm welcome we received from Benjamin at the front desk immediately made clear that our enjoyment was their first priority. He gave us a quick tour of the property and its amenities, and we loved that they had two rickety old bicycles available to guests for exploring. I wish the website had said there was an indoor pool (or maybe it did, but not prominently enough) so I could have brought a swimsuit, but we spent some time lounging in the pool area (a serene, relaxing space within the spa). Dinner at Le Montaigu was spectacular in every way -- as was the entire stay. My only regret was that we didn't stay another night. Bretesche is sort of in the middle of nowhere; if you're wondering whether it's worth driving an hour or two out of the way to get to -- it absolutely is.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MillieinAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were SO sad that we only spent one night here. The room was amazing, the grounds were magical, and the restaurant really great. We loved everything about this hotel . The staff and the servers at the restaurant were really nice and friendly too! I'd go back in a minute...and stay longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacque R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Two couples rented the tower for five nights and played four rounds of golf, two on La Bretesche and two others. Overall we had a good holiday and will recommend others to try it, however, on arrival we asked if towels might be replaced on our third day and were advised that a charge of 15 Euros per person would be applied! We cancelled our request. This was unfortunate as it caused us to be more aware of other little faults in the accommodation. The kitchen is quite basic and missing a number of utensils, etc., that might be considered necessary. A little attention to the exterior steps and paths would improve the appearance. Possibly our main criticism was of the somewhat poor standard of the golf course. It wasn't close to the quality of La Baule or Nantes but is a good game of golf and could be exceptional if the standard of greenkeeping could be raised to match what we are used to in the UK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I had my wedding at La Bretesche and the staff was Professionel and just Amazing...
We loved everything there.
The food iis incredible at the main restaurant. They also have another restaurant less expensive , good for lunch, with a great view of the golf courses.
If you are visiting Nantes , La Baule , try to find few days to sop there... Horse back riding , walking , running we just few of the activities you can enjoy at this wonderful place....I will defenetlly come back...

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lake view in the main building... All the bedrooms are decorated differently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SOLANAAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Missillac
7.8 mi away
La Mare aux Oiseaux
La Mare aux Oiseaux
#1 of 1 in Saint-Joachim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Royal La Baule
Hotel Barriere Le Royal La Baule
#1 of 23 in La-Baule-Escoublac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
15.5 mi away
Domaine de Rochevilaine
Domaine de Rochevilaine
#1 of 1 in Billiers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Le Castel Marie-Louise
Le Castel Marie-Louise
#4 of 23 in La-Baule-Escoublac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
19.4 mi away
La Gree des Landes
La Gree des Landes
#1 of 2 in La Gacilly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hotel du Beryl et Casino
Hotel du Beryl et Casino
#1 of 4 in Saint-Brevin-les-Pins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine De La Bretesche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine De La Bretesche

Property: Domaine De La Bretesche
Address: Domaine De La Bretesche, 44780 Missillac, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Missillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Missillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine De La Bretesche 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Domaine de la Bretesche, Member of Relais&Châteaux, Sheltered by green surroundings is situated only 25 minutes away from La Baule. This property offers its guests the luxurious comfort of an authentic house of 36 rooms,suites and villas of character, on one of the most beautiful golf course of France, Michelin Star Restaurant, a contemporary Brasserie and a Spa with both indoor and outdoor swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Domaine De La Bretesche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De La Bretesche Hotel Missillac
La Bretesche Missillac
La Bretesche Hotel Missillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing