We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Punta San Mrtino should be closed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Punta San Martino
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Arenzano
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Forget about this hotel, bad service, bad quality, bad food and terrible staff. They dont deserve any quests!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jaap V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

This hotel is a four star hotel as it advertising. But it fails to deliver the service quality of a four stars european hotel. Please read on to understand my point. Also the price is too high for the serives they offer.
The hotel is located on top of a rock, looking over a very nice italian village. The view is perfect. But it is not easy to reach the beach. It has two big and nice pools and a bar and a restaurant next to the pools and enough sunbeds.

When we arrived, they could not find our name in the list of the guests, I don't know if the blame goes to the reservation website or to the hotel registration system. the lady at reception managed to arrange our room somehow. we received what we booked, Doubleroom with balcony and sea view. The room was not ready and it took about 1:30 hour to clean it and make it ready.
Our room was big and spacious but not anything close to a four star hotel. The quality of the bed and seats and shower are rather like 2-3 star hotels. The balcony was big and nice and there are sunbeds in each balcony. But not enough privacy in the balcony because is it directly connected to two other rooms balconies.
The bar next to the pool is quite expensive. A normal beer is about 5 euros! The restaurant of the hotel closes about 15:00 and there is no food in the hotel until 19:30 when the dinner starts. we had to go to the village to find some food. The photos of the hotel on the websites is a mix of this hotel and their other hotel which is located in the center of village. The internet is available in the hotel but it is very expensive if you want to use it in your room. it is 6 euros for 1 hour.
Our room was among the most expensive rooms of the hotel, but is located behind the resturant. we were always hearing loud music from the restaurant most of the time. it is impossible to relax in the balcony without hearing this loud music.
The elvator was broken and guests had to carry their luggage to the rooms personally. The parking was very small and not spacious enough for so many rooms in the hotel.
In my opinion, this hotel is too expensive for the service and quality which they deliver. I have never seen such expensive bar and internet in any 4 or 5 stars hotel.

Overall I do not recommend this hotel for the price they ask, maybe their other hotel in the village delivers what they promise. We will not go back to this hotel later.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones with the balcony and sea view, but they are next to the bar and restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rouzbeh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We have just returned from a six night stay here. I should start with a few things that they DON'T tell you: Firstly, as you will see from my photos, this hotel is situated at the TOP of a very high cliff. The funicular railway runs from 9am until 7pm - after that the only way back up is (a) walk!!! (b) taxi (if you can find one!!) or (c) take your life in your hands up a VERY dodgy path which is unlit and the steps are uneven to put it mildly.
Secondly - beware the photos that are shown here on Trip Advisor and Expedia show a mix of photos from this hotel and it's sister hotel the Grand (which is situated down in the town). The lovely renaissance looking rooms, palm tree lined pool and bar with squishy looking sofas are NOT Punta San Martino. If you are looking for elegance - try the Grand, Punta San Martino is more reminiscent of hotels you'll find on the Costa Brava etc.
Thirdly - there is no bar as such. There is a room referred to as a bar, but it's not.
Fourthly - the main 'semi-olympic' pool is open to the public, who seem to have priority over paying guests when it comes to choosing where to sit. On the Sunday we were there, we were 'corralled' onto a sun terrace (see photo) and were not allowed to sit around the pool. On other days we could sit round the pool on sunbeds that weren't displaying a reserved tag. Also, if you are not a proficient swimmer, be warned that the pools are both around 10 - 12ft deep (not that there are any markers to show you).
Fifthly - there is no hotel information in the room i.e. breakfast times, pool times. Interestingly enough, nothing was explained to us at time of checking in either- we had to find out by trial and error.
Finally (phew!) - be very aware that if you happen to end up with a room that has a connecting door to the next room, unlike every other hotel I have stayed in that has had them, there is only one door (normally there is one in each room forming a sort of 'air lock'). You can hear EVERYTHING (and I mean EVERYTHING) that is going on next door!!! (Which also means they can hear you - not that our neighbours took the hint!).

I would rate this hotel as high end 3 star - it is very quiet and remote from the hubub of the town, but it comes at a price (or a plus whichever way you look at it) I now have thigh muscles of steel thanks to the nightly ascent of the hill!!

I've given it a few brick bats - so I feel I owe it some flowers: It is very clean, we had clean bedding every day (maids start very early on the room cleaning - so stick a DND sign on the door if you want a lie in). Breakfast was a very leisurely affair, out on the terrace. Buffet as is the norm these days and very continental ( no sausage, eggs and bacon) - plenty of croissants, meats, fruit, cereals etc. The views from the hotel are breathtaking (as long as you don't get a room that has an oak tree in front of the balcony - see photo). Balconies are very generous, with sun loungers - but not particularly private.

Room Tip: Ask for floors 3 or 4 for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PattiPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Highly recommend this hotel. We arrived here after having spent a night in Pegli in the Castello Miramare which was really hopeless in comparison, despite being only slightly cheaper.

We were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of the room we had, it really was huge and as far as I know it was just a standard room. It had a bright blue feature wall and furniture and fittings which gave the room a lot of character and a good vibe in general. The window overlooked the sea.

The bathroom was clean and reasonably modern. There was a bath with a shower in it and the bathroom was also spacious. There was also a door separating the bedroom from the corridor which gives access to the bathroom and this helped to reduce noise from other guests in the hall.

The bed was really big - as is often the case it was made of two single beds stuck together to form a queen/king size bed, but it was very comfortable nonetheless.

The position of the hotel is quite isolated, not super central, but this makes it very quiet for a peaceful night's sleep. (I'm a light sleeper and I slept very well in this hotel.) It's best if you have a car though as it's quite a walk up a hill to reach the hotel by foot from the center of Arenzano. The hotel has a free car park and we always found a spot in it.

The staff were friendly and efficient at checking us in and out.

Breakfast is superb especially by Italian hotel standards. It is served in a room that overlooks both the pool and the sea. You can also have breakfast outside on the terrace to really make the most of the stunning view. There was a large buffet with fresh fruit, pastries/croissants, cereal, yoghurt, cold meats, boiled eggs, biscuits, cakes etc.... and fruit juices. Hot drinks are ordered from the waiting staff and are very good.

You can even hire bikes from the hotel's affiliated partner in town.

We can't wait to find the time to come back to this hotel - 1 night was just not enough.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanyatella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
opinion_Arenza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Punta San Martino, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Dear Customer, thank you very much for the compliments, your review of the hotel and our staff makes us happy and pays us back for all the work we do. We hope to have you back as a guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Excellent service, there was a beautiful view from a very comfortable room. The food was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated on a cliff and has wonderful views and and a way down to the beach. It also has a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlie2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Stayed here for 1 night on way to France and was sadly disapointed. Booked a superior room with balcony which had a sea view you could see thru the trees but no furniture to sit on. Bedroom great size and nice childrens bed but no guest information whatsoever in room meaning several trips to reception to ask general info re breakfast and bar etc from a not very helpful receptionist. No bar to speak of after 7pm unless you ate in the restaurant although it had a lovely bar it was closed. Discovered the mini bar by accident on returning to our room at 10pm but as there was no price list did not want to risk it.This is not what I would consider a 4* Hotel. However the pools were lovely and the breakfast nice and plentifull. Not great value for money but maybe Italy is just more expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank polly016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Stayed 3 nights with our three kids, and enjoyed enormously our experience. Yep, some parts of the hotel are dated, but fantastic see view and conveneience of private beach make up for it, Would certainly recommend to a friend

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenzano
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Arenzano
Grand Hotel Arenzano
#4 of 10 in Arenzano
679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Poggio Hotel
Poggio Hotel
#2 of 10 in Arenzano
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#1 of 10 in Arenzano
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ena Arenzano Hotel
Ena Arenzano Hotel
#3 of 10 in Arenzano
222 reviews
13.7 mi away
Mare Hotel Savona
Mare Hotel Savona
#1 of 12 in Savona
869 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Le Roi
Hotel Le Roi
#17 of 46 in Varazze
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta San Martino

Address: Via della Punta San Martino 4, 16011 Arenzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Arenzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Arenzano
Price Range: £65 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Punta San Martino 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a quiet and charming position on the top of a green hill overlooking the sea, the Punta San Martino Hotel offers a beautiful view on the Bay of Genoa and the Ligurian Riviera. It is the favorite place for the fond of sea and nature people as it is surrounded by the typical Mediterranean scrub greenery and close to the two nearby golf courses. A panoramic railway funicular, leaving directly from the hotel, will bring you to the beach below and to the cycling promenade in a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Punta San Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta San Martino Hotel
Punta San Martino Arenzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing