We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meals”

Ampelaki Greek Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 92 Restaurants in Argostolion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$24
Cuisines: Greek, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meals”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

After seeing many positive reviews of this restaurant we decided to eat here on our first and last nights. Both times the food was lovely, on the first night my wife had the moussaka and I had the lamb wrapped in vine leaves. As it was the last week in October it was very quiet so it gave us more time to speak to the staff about recipes and what was used in different dishes, they were very friendly and I would have no hesitation to eat there again if we went back to Kefalonia.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    191
    75
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, USA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Closing for season 11/2013 , no Moussaka! POUT”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Lovely restaurant/cafe right on the street near the ocean view. I ended up with an eggplant dish with tomatoes and garlic which was tasty, but my heart was set on Moussaka! Sat with a nice German couple who helped me with Euros and tipping! Again, smoking allowed in all the restaurants..and enclosed space was not fun. At least the door was open on a cool rainy day! They do have wi-fi!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Simply wonderful! ”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent a couple of very enjoyable evenings at this lovely restaurant. Staff were very friendly and both the food and service were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent food”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We ate here again on our second trip to Kefalonia and once again the food was excellent. We had traditional Greek food at it's best There's lots of choice on the menu, we chose Riganada which is toasted bread with chopped tomatoes, crumbled feta, fresh herbs and olive oil on top which is simple but delicious. We also had a plate of deep fried anchovies which are the best we have ever had, really dry and crispy and they have taken the trouble to gut them which gives them a much better taste. My partner had a rabbit stew with rice which just fell off the bone. The food here is really high standard but the prices don't reflect this, it is extremely good value, you can eat in a mediocre restaurant in the main square for double the price you would pay here. We would always eat a least one meal here any time we visit Kefalonia. The feta here is fantastic and the service is great here too, really friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thewanderingwinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our best meal on Kefalonia”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We can truly recomend following dishes:
Steamed mussels with herbs and white wine, Mussels saganaki, Grilled Octopus. The taste of Greec - delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ampelaki Greek Restaurant also viewed

Argostolion, Cephalonia
Argostolion, Cephalonia
 
Argostolion, Cephalonia
 

Been to Ampelaki Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing