We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel for the soul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Museum Hotel George Molfetas
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A hotel for the soul”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Quite simply one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Katerina and Barry are perfect hosts; the hotel itself is beyond charming and Katerina's cooking is simply excellent. There are literally no negatives of any kind for me. I stayed here for a week with my partner for our first holiday together and we couldn't have asked for a better place. We genuinely didn't want to leave. You do need a car if you're staying here though, it's in a very small village, well away from any amenities. That said, you need a car for this island wherever you stay, if you want to get around all of the sights. But coming back to this place after touring the island for the day, very quickly felt like we were coming home. A truly extraordinary experience which I cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
70
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights towards the end of august and it is fantastic !! all the rooms are different and each beautiful and enchanting . The hosts Barry and Katarina are possibly 2 of the nicest people on planet earth they have made something very special here , its true you need a car when staying here but that is all part of the fun , me and the fiancé would wake up every day to a lovely breakfast in the courtyard plan our day trip over an excellent breakfast with the help of Barry and Katarina then set out all over the island which is beautifully stunning , a different beach each day , then back for tea time beers on the balcony with Sophie and Emma their 2 excellent dogs before retiring to our room for nap and shower before dinner back in the fairy lit courtyard ........ now for the dinner !!!!JESUS CHRIST !!!!!! I have been all over the world and eaten some pretty good food in my 31 years but can quite easily say this is the best food that I have ever eaten ......period !!! such a delightful experience the choice is vast , the ingredients fresh and grown from about 500m away and the taste will blow your face off , they play really nice music while you consume this heavenly platter and you leave the table on a cloud!!! , anyone who does not agree with this should be shot . 3 courses and a bottle (or 2 !) of wine here is heaven I challenge anyone to disagree and if you do I will come to your house and wrestle you in your own garden !! . on 1 night we even went to a local Greek concert well off the beaten track with Barry and Katarina which was superb , they go the extra mile and you leave them as friends . I only apologise that I have not written anything sooner . I would go back tomorrow .

Room Tip: no such thing as a bad room here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We spent a week here in late August, on the basis of the reviews given by others.
We were not disappointed. I'd like to give 5 stars, but for me 5 stars is perfection and through no real fault of the owners this doesn't quite get there. The reason?...the location. Whilst remote and peaceful are definite plus points, it does mean you always have to travel to experience the best of the island each day, and on top of that due to it's specific location there is very little view to speak of from our room (although our room was on the ground floor, the higher rooms may improve on this aspect.) and/or the eating area, in this respect it isn't the kind of place you can or want to stay at during the day in the same way you might at a 'resort'. To be fair it isn't advertised as such, so you go there knowing this is the case.

In every other respect this hotel is SUPERB, and this is down to a few basic qualities. The owners and staff, who are (always!)utterly charming, warm, friendly, welcoming and helpful. The service, prompt but relaxed, attentive but not intrusive. The food (reviewed under the restaurant of the same name) which is first class and in my opinion the best on the island (I'd give that 6 stars!), and the attention to detail generally in this villa converted to 6 rooms, means everything is 'personal' and specific to you. Other hotels may offer the views, may offer the swimming pools and continual buffets, lifts and concierge, but again in my opinion, you can't better a hotel that feels as if everything is being done just for you alone and not the masses. I love the place.
Andy+Sue

Room Tip: Higher floors will offer the view that would make this place even more enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We can't describe in words what's going here.
Katerina and Barry will wellcome you so lovely and warmly.
They're offering perfect breakfast and dinner full of love and harmony.
It's a secret and romantic place of silence and honesty.
We recommand it at all.
Peter & Katharina on honeymoon

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Thank you again to Katerina, Maria and all the staff for such a lovely wedding reception. The food, music, setting and hospitality were all first class and were key to us having such a special day which we will always remember. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Museum Hotel George Molfetas to anybody who wishes to make a special occasion extra special.

Teresa and Karl

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the George Molfetas Museum Hotel for 4 nights in August 2013 as part of my honeymoon. It is called a hotel but it is not. It is in a category of its own. Its made up by the stuff dreams are made out of. Its a 19th century renovated house with 6 rooms designed to take you back in time and offer you a feeling of pure romance.

The hotel is run by the lovely Katerina and the charming Barry, the people who spent years planning, designing and building this breathtaking residence.

Let me explain a day there. I wake up in the morning snoozing on the sofa outside my room when I open my eyes a couple of minutes later and I find my double espresso on the coffee table (I had ordered it the previous morning and they remembered my preference). Breakfast is served a little later and everything is fresh and delicious. After Barry serves us he goes and plays a charming melody on his piano while we enjoy our breakfast. Katerina helps us plan our day, making calls and giving detailed tips and directions. The day she planned for us ends up pure satisfying. We come back to a dinner made by Katerina her self, with local fresh ingredients shopped the same day. My God was it delicious. There are only 2 other tables being served so the attention and care we get is maximum.

Katerina and Barry are such good hearted people that make you feel more at home than you are in your real home. They were the best part of the stay.

What an experience. Fall in love again in this majestic place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyl2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We are a young French couple that spend 4 nights of our honeymoon there ! This place is a little paradise ! Katerina and Barry will welcome you with all their kindness and attention !!! Their generosity is fully touching !
The room we had was furnished with a delicate taste and harmony. Dishes were other pieces of paradise, Katernina cooks marvelous and fine meals ! All is healthy and perfectly balanced ! We've never eaten such a good food in our lives !!
We even stayed some of our day-time at the hotel to make the most of the calm and serenity that come from this lovely place !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyplr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argostolion
8.7 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#3 of 6 in Agia Efimia
285 reviews
6.4 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
17.1 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kefalonia Grand Hotel
Kefalonia Grand Hotel
#1 of 12 in Argostolion
149 reviews
18.5 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
496 reviews
18.3 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fiscardo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Hotel George Molfetas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel George Molfetas

Property: Museum Hotel George Molfetas
Address: Faraklata, Argostolion 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Argostolion
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Hotel George Molfetas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Hotel "George Molfetas" was meant to be a sanctuary for people seeking not only what the eye sees. It is an effort to bring to life the hospitality of the era it represents, the 1890s, which was the all-inclusive model of the luxury guest house. The actual impact on our guests is an immediate sense of being "at home." And this is our ultimate dream: to offer a home to the traveler and the dreamer of our times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Museum Hotel George Molfetas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel George Molfetas Greece/Ionian Islands - Argostolion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing