We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mirabel City Center Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Reviewed 10 October 2008

Oh my God. If this isn't the worst hotel ever, I don't know what is.

I stayed in Argostoli because it was close to the airport, and the morning flight to Athens departs at 7am.

I rang ahead and booked, but they hotel had no record of my booking when I did arrive. This was just the start. The friently but scatty desk clerk eventually checked me in to what was quite a basic hotel room (you don't want to spend time in there if you can avoid it - ask for a room at the back for some quiet).

Due to the early start, I asked for a 5.30am wake up call. As a back-up I also set my mobile phone alarm. The alarm worked, but no wake up call. When I arrived in reception to check out, the staff member was SLEEPING ON THE COUCH! That explained the lack of wake-up call.

As I tried to check out, it appeared that the scatty clerk the day before had registered me against the wrong room number, so then an argument ensued about who was to pay for the other room I used! I had to practically wrench my passport off her and race to the airport.

I would not bother to stay here - there seemed to be perfectly nice places elsewhere, including the Hotel Ionian across the road and the Hotel Olga just behind the Mirabel.

Also, don't bother with Argostoli except for a conventient location to the hotel - it lacks charm and compared to other places in Keffalonia isn't the No 1 Greek island experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Karen43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2007

Located in the south east corner of Plateia Valianou near a couple of popular bars open till 1am ish. Adequately furnished room (338) with balcony overlooking the square. Bathroom clean, but dated with tiny shower tray, and as is common in Greece no wall hook for the shower head. Wide choice of tavernas close by. Buffet breakfast 07:00-10:00 with reasonable choice. Friendly English speaking staff. TV with BBC World, CNN & Bloomberg. Taxi from airport 17 Euro.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRC_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

We arrived at the small airport at 6am, tired and disoriented from 24+ hours of traveling. After getting confused how the cab piled in other passengers with us and still charged us full rate I was getting ready for another disappointment at this hotel. But it was incredible. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and squeaky clean.

Breakfast was simple, but this seemed to be the same for all of our hotels in Greece. Bread, cheese, sandwich meats, muesli, coffee, tea, dried bread, marmalade.

All of the front desk staff spoke perfect English. We had a quick conversation with who may have been the owner, who was French Canadian. The other person on the desk had an American accent.

There isn't much to see in the town, but it makes a great base location for going out to the many beautiful beaches. The hotel is right in the central square of Argostoli.

Don't miss the shopping corridor that starts at the central square and the many restaurants along the waterfront

Bus station is a 10 minute walk away. We did this walk to get ourselves to Sami on the other side of the island and then took the ferry across to Patras.

Sorry I didn't post any inside photos (other than the bathroom) my pictures didn't turn out. But it was very nice. Except the bathroom which had a very small shower (I have no idea how you work this without getting your butt on the curtain, which is kind of gross, if you think of all the other people having the same problem). Again this kind of washroom seemed to be common in Greece.

We liked this place soo much we can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pdajunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2007

The Mirabel Hotel has a super location; Argostoli Square which comes alive at night time. There are plenty of bars and restaurants around the square. We had breakfast at one, which is a couple of doors up from the hotel and ate there twice. The food is good, but people watching is the best. Not such a great view, but a far superior restaurant is the Grec which sits behind the hotel, in a little side street. The service is excellent and the food is the best we tried during our week long stay in Argostoli. Also worth a mention is the Glass Boat trip, you can buy tickets from the boat which sits on the front, just down from the Mirabel, from 8 pm and they cost 50 Euros for the day, including a super barbecue on the beach, with veggie options. Visitors can use the bus station which is opposite the bridge in Argostoli harbour. If you go inside and ask for the number of the bus and get a timetable you will know that you have got on the right one. You could also sit by the harbour (last restaurant before you reach the bridge) and the view during the day is lovely and the waitress there is very friendly. Fiskardo and Skala are the prettiest places we went to. In Fiskardo, the Irida restaurant serves good breakfasts and their homemade marmelade is second to none, you can buy this to take away. Finally, if you are able to get a balcony at the Mirabel on the fourth floor this will be more comfortable, but you will have to put up with the air conditioning unit on the roof. There are no laundry facilities, but we bought some string and some clothes pegs and no one complained. The staff at the Mirabel are winding down now, but they are friendly and the rooms are cleaned everyday. Our bathroom was compact, with a small shower tray, not so good if you like a lot of room, but for the price we paid per night, this meant we could have plenty of other treats. You can book via the hotel website and they will take an initial 30% deposit and you settle on leaving. We are hiring a car from the travel agent at the bus station and they also organised our panoramic tour of the island, which gives you a flavour of Cephalonia.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dylan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank luise2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank mirko p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alessia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argostolion
4.8 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kefalonia Grand Hotel
Kefalonia Grand Hotel
#1 of 12 in Argostolion
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ionian Plaza Hotel
Ionian Plaza Hotel
#11 of 12 in Argostolion
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tourist Hotel
Tourist Hotel
#3 of 12 in Argostolion
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mouikis Hotel
Mouikis Hotel
#2 of 12 in Argostolion
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aenos Hotel
Aenos Hotel
#8 of 12 in Argostolion
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirabel City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabel City Center Hotel

Address: Vallianou Panagi, Argostolion 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Argostolion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Price Range: £39 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mirabel City Center Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mirabel City Center Hotel has been welcoming guests from around the world since 1990. It invites you to explore everything there is to see and do in this beautiful city from its privileged location right next to the well-known Valianos Central Square. The hotel offers a truly guest-centered experience assuring that you will feel completely at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mirabel City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirabel Hotel Argostolion
Mirabel City Center Hotel Greece/Ionian Islands - Argostolion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing