We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, superb staff.”
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel, superb staff.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was a great hotel to stay at. Spacious rooms, quiet location, nice sea-water pool, view of the sea, walking distance to a beach, 5 minute drive to Platis Gialos. Moreover, I think it was the cleanest hotel I've ever been to. The cleaning ladies did an excellent job and were super fast. By the time were were done with breakfast (maybe 20 minutes) the room would already be clean.
Indeed the furniture is a little outdated (bamboo like) but they are good quality and I liked that a lot.
The staff/management were extremely friendly and would accommodate for any request we made. Keep in mind the hotel is under new management in 2013 so lots to take on.
The breakfast was good and adequate and we were always full and happy after it.
My only complain if I had to make one would be to put mini-fridges in the room. We did get to use communal fridges but it is much better having a fridge in your room for cold water, etc.
But for the price, you definitely get excellent value. Will definitely stay back there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank i_konst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    24
    15
    16
    5
See reviews for
11
66
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here as a base to get around Kefalonia. It was a really lovely little hotel, the rooms are very basic but have everything you need. We had a great view of the sea from our room. The breakfast is basic but has enough choice to keep everyone happy. The place is very clean and the reception staff are very helpful and friendly. They were always happy to answer any questions and were very knowledgeable.

Overall this place is in a great location if you have a car (not so good if you don't). The hotel is basic but has everything you could need. I would stay here again! Plus it was a great price compared to other places we have stayed in Kefalonia.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pixiepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Had a fantastic 1st holiday with my boyfriend in kefalonia, and galaxy hotel was the perfect base.

Room furniture a little outdated but very clean, the hotel staff were incredibly friendly and we both thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast every morning! Everything was very relaxed which made me feel at home right away.

Kefalonia is an absolutely beautiful island that is an ideal holiday whether you want to drive to see as much as possible or enjoy the beautiful scenery in a 30min walk to argostoli, there's something for everyone.

Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CharlottelovesDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed here for two weeks last summer and had a truly fabolous time! If you are coming for 5* star luxury you wont find it, but what you will find is a warm welcome and excellent service in bucket loads! Rooms basic but clean but the staff truly made our holiday a special one... Anya had a list of best places to go and they all did so much to make our stay truly special! Kefalonia is the most beautiful island and if you are young and on a budget and looking for a great place to stay, this is it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katieepsomuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed at the galaxy for our first anniversary and are very impressed. Even though its only a two or three star hotel its great the continental breakfast every morning was filling and fresh. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpfull and can advise you on all the great attractions, beaches and places to eat. I definatly recomend butlers restaurant in lassi its got the best food around. The hotel pool and bar are kept clean with plenty of shady areas and sunny areas. Great views from the hotel looking over the bay we could even see the light house from our balcony. Overall a great hotel with great staff. We will definatly be returning. You can find them on facebook under hotel galaxy argostoli.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room and hire a car to travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blah044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Very friendly hotel. Staff good. It is in a time warp. Not a 3 star even by Greek standards. Our room had a soft bed, but that's all I can say. Bath was a large shower tray. Shower did not hang on the wall. Apparently none of the rooms had a shower attached to wall, as the receptionist tried to find one. I couldn't open the door onto balcony although my partner could. Just needed tarting up a lot

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merjanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston Super Mare
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We've just come back from a brilliant stay at The Galaxy Hotel. The rooms are basic but clean and air-conditioned with a good maid service. The hotel is in walking distance from Argostoli along a scenic route, but we hired a car which really is essential. However it is a very good base for exploring the island as everywhere is within equal driving distance.

The staff are the best part of the whole experience. Vangelis, his Father, and Anya are all brilliant and Vangelis and Anya know all there is to know about where to go and what to see and do and can recommend excellent places to eat. They are so incredibly friendly and welcoming. I agree totally with HappyCampersUK, they really do make you feel important and are genuinely interested in what you've been up to each day. They make each guest feel completely at home and like they are all important.

The bar by the pool is well stocked and served cold beer in glasses kept in a freezer, and a good selection of spirits, and soft drinks. I'd advise you to try the mojito, when I ordered it, Vangelis went and picked the lime from the tree and the mint from the bush so it was the freshest mojito i have ever had!

The hotel does a simple menu of burgers and salads during the day but the burgers were home made and delicious, and the greek salad was very fresh. Breakfast is a simple continental affair with cold meat, cheese, bread, pastries, fruit and yogurts.

I'd advise to go in september as it was brilliant sitting round the bar at night because it was quiet and we could sit around chatting to the owners and some of the other guests which was brilliant atmosphere, and a chance to make some good friends.

Kefalonia is the most beautiful island and this is a brilliant place to stay if you are on a budget. A perfect place to rest your head if you arent really going to spend any time in your room and are looking for peace, quiet and relaxation and a fantastic atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argostolion
4.8 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mirabel City Center Hotel
Mirabel City Center Hotel
#6 of 12 in Argostolion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aggelos
Hotel Aggelos
#5 of 12 in Argostolion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mouikis Hotel
Mouikis Hotel
#1 of 12 in Argostolion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Limanaki Hotel
Limanaki Hotel
#7 of 19 in Lassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tourist Hotel
Tourist Hotel
#4 of 12 in Argostolion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Property: Galaxy Hotel
Address: Lassis, Argostolion 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Argostolion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Galaxy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Argostolion
Galaxy Hotel Greece/Ionian Islands - Argostolion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing