We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Recently spent a week here with a friend. The hotel is a small family run one, and they couldnt do enough for us. The rooms are basic but were cleaned every day and the bed linen changed three times in one week. The staff were helpful in advising us on the local area. Bill the barman was friendly without being in your face. The breakfast is basic but it is not advertised as anything else. I would advise a car hire as the scenery is stunning. Looking forward to my next visit here in September.

Room Tip: rooms facing the front overlook the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_stewart118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We only stayed at this Hotel for one night although we were booked in for 10 nights. That was enough. The rooms were small, very very basic and smelt of mould. There was NO bar at all as they have no licence to sell alcohol. The nearest restaurant/bar is a 15 minute walk away along a pitch black road. A car is a necessity if you are going to stay there. There was no mini bar as advertised on their website neither was there a safety deposit box .The lift was not working. The pool was green and not at all inviting. We booked out of there the following morning and found another Hotel. The owners were very nice but that did not help our situation. The beds were rock hard and small. There was nothing at all for children to do although we did not have any with us thank goodness.

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank auntie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a weeks holiday in Kefalonia staying at The Glaxay.
We chose The Galaxy on both price and following the previous good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were expecting a nice small hotel in a fabulous location which would be relaxing and where we hoped to be well looked after.
We anticipated a reasonable breakfast and somehwere to get a relaxing cold drink both during the day and in the evening.
The Galaxy is situated on the tip of the Argostoli peninsula with few other building close by.
There is no bus service so a hire car is recommended due to the remoteness of the location.
We had previously been to Kefalonia and have always recommend the island to friends and family. It really is a very beautiful island and having stayed in various locations we were aware that the Greek way can be a rather basic and that's exactly what we expected.
Unfortunately we were somewhat disappointed the hotels facilities!
The Galaxy had obviously been very splendid in the distant past but now is rather tired in both appearance, and furnishings. There was no bar either in the hotel nor around the pool (look at the website, lots of photos when it was open). Shame because there were no other facilities, bars or tavernas for miles .There is a campsite next door and on the Saturday night there was a party which went on to 03.00am Agado/YMCA etc = no sleep! Thankfully they kindly found us another bedroom in another part of the hotel but next day everyone was in a trance!
The bedrooms were functional with basic funishings, the maids cleaned everyday and kept the room spotless however the bed linen and towels were only changed once during the entire week.
Breakfast was poor, cornflakes bheing the only choice of cereal all week.
Concentrate orange juice from the supermarket(saw the container being filled from the cartons every morning). The coffee machine was the type and size you would expect to find at home.
The only bread available everyday was a loaf of sliced white bread from the supermarket.
You could request for it to be toasted. Towards the end of the week I asked if there were any cobs, rolls or maybe wholemeal bread. Four slices were offered from a wholemeal loaf kept in the kitchen which was then toasted.
There was ham and cheese everyday but the cheese was dairylea cheese slices still in the individual polythene wrapper! Butter and jam were on the table in small packs. There was french toast, cake and biscuits available everyday. Some days there was a bowl of fruit and occassionaly yoghurt but there were never more than 4 small pots supermarket style(amazing considering we were in Greece). Some days we asked for yoghurt and were told that the delivery man couldnt always get the drivers to make deliveries!
It was very unusual to not have any bar facilities at a 3* hotel!
The brochures and photos on the website clearly show the poolside bar!
They really did miss a trick because there was hardly anyone around the pool during the day and no one around in the evenings. There were a huge barbeque by the pool which was fired up one evening. It had not been advertised, there had not been a notice to invite guests to attend which several people commented on next day.
Just genuinely disappointing with the Galaxy! It is in a fabulous location but the owners could have made it more friendly/sociable had they made use of all the facilities.
I expect that the austerity measures in Greece were taking their toll but the standard could surely have been a little bit better!
The clientel was mainly Italian, French, Greek and Czech and eveyone seemed to get on well.

Room Tip: Strongly recommended that when booking pay extra and take the rooms with a seaview. As well as havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreatWyrleyChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was a great hotel to stay at. Spacious rooms, quiet location, nice sea-water pool, view of the sea, walking distance to a beach, 5 minute drive to Platis Gialos. Moreover, I think it was the cleanest hotel I've ever been to. The cleaning ladies did an excellent job and were super fast. By the time were were done with breakfast (maybe 20 minutes) the room would already be clean.
Indeed the furniture is a little outdated (bamboo like) but they are good quality and I liked that a lot.
The staff/management were extremely friendly and would accommodate for any request we made. Keep in mind the hotel is under new management in 2013 so lots to take on.
The breakfast was good and adequate and we were always full and happy after it.
My only complain if I had to make one would be to put mini-fridges in the room. We did get to use communal fridges but it is much better having a fridge in your room for cold water, etc.
But for the price, you definitely get excellent value. Will definitely stay back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank i_konst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here as a base to get around Kefalonia. It was a really lovely little hotel, the rooms are very basic but have everything you need. We had a great view of the sea from our room. The breakfast is basic but has enough choice to keep everyone happy. The place is very clean and the reception staff are very helpful and friendly. They were always happy to answer any questions and were very knowledgeable.

Overall this place is in a great location if you have a car (not so good if you don't). The hotel is basic but has everything you could need. I would stay here again! Plus it was a great price compared to other places we have stayed in Kefalonia.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pixiepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Had a fantastic 1st holiday with my boyfriend in kefalonia, and galaxy hotel was the perfect base.

Room furniture a little outdated but very clean, the hotel staff were incredibly friendly and we both thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast every morning! Everything was very relaxed which made me feel at home right away.

Kefalonia is an absolutely beautiful island that is an ideal holiday whether you want to drive to see as much as possible or enjoy the beautiful scenery in a 30min walk to argostoli, there's something for everyone.

Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CharlottelovesDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed here for two weeks last summer and had a truly fabolous time! If you are coming for 5* star luxury you wont find it, but what you will find is a warm welcome and excellent service in bucket loads! Rooms basic but clean but the staff truly made our holiday a special one... Anya had a list of best places to go and they all did so much to make our stay truly special! Kefalonia is the most beautiful island and if you are young and on a budget and looking for a great place to stay, this is it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katieepsomuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argostolion
4.8 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liberatos Village
Liberatos Village
#97 of 141 in Cephalonia
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mirabel City Center Hotel
Mirabel City Center Hotel
#7 of 12 in Argostolion
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tourist Hotel
Tourist Hotel
#3 of 12 in Argostolion
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ionian Plaza Hotel
Ionian Plaza Hotel
#11 of 12 in Argostolion
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aggelos
Hotel Aggelos
#5 of 12 in Argostolion
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Address: Lassis, Argostolion 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Argostolion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Price Range: £21 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Galaxy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Argostolion
Galaxy Hotel Greece/Ionian Islands - Argostolion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing