We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family, friendly, fun and full of potential”
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Certificate of Excellence
SW Wales
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family, friendly, fun and full of potential”
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed for a week in July and was met by a family run hotel who were always open to any queries we had.
The room was very basic and we asked if there were alternatives due to poor view from room. Unfortunately the hotel was full and they could not move us. Yet it did meet our needs as a base.
The hotel itself was very quiet. We saw some other guests at breakfast - which, whilst the same everyday, was pleasant enough. The hotels own fruit, which they grow on the grounds, bread, cheese and ham, cerial and yog, tomatoes and eggs...usual continental.
The pool is lovely. Salt water made it feel silky smooth. You can ask for a towel and sit there all day if you like. The bar is near by and has undercover tables too which is nice to escape from the rays for a while. Whilst the EURO is an absolute killer the hotel does offer a few snacks. I would recommend joining everyone for the Thursday BBQ. Forget any idea you have about BBQing as they have a proper BBQ. The food is tasty and plentiful, served with a smile and cooked by Greek men drinking beer - a home from home at times!
The pool area was also quite quiet and one can really read a book or have a glass of Mythos with no bother what so ever!
As for location - it really is ideally located for those who want to see all of the island. I would recommend a car as a basic must, not only for the sightseeing, but also to make getting back and forth to the hotel easier as it is a little off the beaten track. Although I was informed by a fellow guest that a taxi to Argostoli cost them 6euros one way. It depends upon the purpose of your trip I suppose.
Other reasonable places to eat include 1. Oscars (turn left from hotel and not too far before the main road to Lassi) - dancing waiters and a 15 euro BBQ menu. Nice people. 2. Sto Pisito (also turn left, just after Oscars and before main road to Lassi) is a little more expensive but very nice. Good service, complimentary melon and just on the sea front. 3 and 4 are on the same fanari road (this time turn right towards Argostoli, past the lighthouse - which incidently is around the corner from the hotel) include the place where they house the waterwheel (hiden in the toilet!!!) can't remember its name (a jug of very reasonable red wine, some olives, dipping oil and bread was less than 10 euros and pleasantly enjoyed on a wooden table near the lapping lagoon) and one further up - Vinaries, which we went to on our first night (lots and lots of food for 30 euros and good service with a warming Greek smile.
Yes, we had a brilliant time!
So - in conclusion: Hotel is at the cheaper end and if you're not expecting 5* you should enjoy. Everyone is nice and polite and will help if they can. Yannis seems to work around the clock and is a lovely gentleman. It was my birthday when we were away and reception felt nothing of surfing the net for me to see if anything was on locally - we saw some Greek dancing, mandolin playing and then went to an open air cinema! You can also use their computer with internet access for a small fee. The place is clean and bright and, even though is in need of a general overhaul (some cracked tiles in the bathroom for instance), the basics are offered.

Can I also suggest that before you travel - just general observation of Kefalonia - you stock up on bug spray and cream. This is expensive in Greece (most over 10 euros) and iscertainly needed in the hot weather.

We loved this holiday so much that we will return next year for two weeks instead of one!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmlh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    29
    15
    16
    5
See reviews for
16
73
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

First let me start with distances from the Hotel Galaxy.
To Lassi 2 Km to Argostoli 1km from Argostoli to Fiskardo in the north 53Km from Argostoli to Sami in the east 20Km Argostoli to Lixouri in the west 30km and from Argostoli to Skala in the south 43km. (You must hire a car for this hotel) You can drive the whole island in a day but don’t you will miss the most beautiful parts of the island take your time and explore. The roads are not great in fact they are pretty poor compared to the UK.
The only problem we had at times were the road signs of which most are in Greek but some in English so try and get a detailed map with both Greek and English on it and you’ll be fine.
Driving and parking in Cephalonia has to be experienced, if you fancy a coffee you stop outside the cafe and go in, it’s great no more looking for parking places like the UK.
The people are the most friendly laidback helpful people I have ever met most of them speak very good English so we had no language barriers but try and speak a little Greek if you can they will appreciate it.
We ate out every night as we were bed & breakfast the food was fantastic and cheap everywhere we went (main meal and coffees for 2 around 25 Euros) all tastes are catered for.
Lixouri during the day is quiet but at night it comes alive, park the car and take the ferry from Argostoli to Lixouri which runs every half hour for 2.50 Euros each (better than driving it) you will see part of the island from a different angle. (A must at night)
Argostoli is the same, busy during the day but at night it’s a whole different place shops open until about 11pm roads are closed off and the whole place comes alive from about 8.30pm.
As for the Hotel Galaxy it is not a 4 or 5 star hotel and doesn’t claim to be but what it is is a place to start from to explore the island. The rooms are on the small side compared to other hotels but it is very clean with fresh towels and sheets every day and all rooms have free air con which is a must during the peak season the pool is a salt water pool which I prefer and it was cleaned every day at 9.00am. There are towels at the bar for the pool area just ask. The pool bar is open until 1.00am. Breakfast is served from 7am till 10am with cereal, yogurt, cheese, meat, croissants, bread, butter, jam etc, fruit juice, and coffee and if you want a more substantial breakfast many of the restaurants in Lassi will cater for you.
The staff at the hotel are brilliant the owner’s son Vangelis is good for a laugh as is Chis the barman but for more detailed information just ask Anja at the reception desk she is a god send.
(We are a couple between 40 and 55 and it was our 25 wedding anniversary)
The whole experience was magical and I will be back .a.s.a.p. to the same hotel.
(I have uploaded some photos)
The island is untouched and not commercialized at all there are very few things for children to do at night as there is not one pool table or McDonalds or Burger King on the whole island and that’s one of the reasons why we choose it (no lager louts).
I hope this helps. But please do your research before going there is plenty of information on the internet about Cephalonia and the hotel as it will help.
(One small point from recent reviews there are no cliffs outside the hotel as you will see from one of my photos) yes it is not a beach as I would call a beach but it is not dangerous by any means.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Consultant09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Our first impressions I admit were not the best of the hotel room we had, dont go expecting anything great as the rooms are basic, but clean. The hotel however is run very well by the family and they looked after us very well, especially Anya who was great! The breakfast is not much to write home about and is the typically basic Greek breakfast. The pool area with the bar is great though, very clean and they have a barbecue evening on a Thursday. The hotel is situated in between Lassi and Argostoli but easily accessible to both by taxi which is about 6 Euros, it is a bit of a walk otherwise, but we hired a car which is well worth it as we saw a lot of the island, especially Myrtos beach which is heavenly! All in all we had a great time at the hotel and the staff are very welcoming and we had a great break.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyd_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Just returned from Cephalonia and we stayed in the Galaxy Hotel.  First of all, we did a bit of research before we booked, and we knew that this hotel was slightly out of the way.  I think if you realise that before you book, then you won't be disappointed.

We hired a car from the airport for the week, which we would have done regardless of the location of the hotel, to explore the island.  The hotel was approx 20 mins drive and we found it no problem.  The hotel itself is set on the Fanari Scenic Route which has the most magnificent views, and is near to the St Theadore lighthouse.  When we arrived, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, and remained like this throughout our stay.  Whatever questions we had they were more than happy to help or offer advice.
  The rooms were slightly outdated, but were very clean and the bathroom was pretty much the norm for a greek hotel.  There was enough space for the 2 of us and we had a balcony overlooking the pool on the left, the sea in the middle and mountains to the right.  Lovely!!! 
Breakfast was typically greek - bread, cheeses, jam, yoghurt and was fine for what it was.
I thought the pool area was lovely, and in my opinion was clean.  Obviously there was the odd dead bug, but what outdoor pool doesn't!! (noting previous review)  It was salt pool but there were showers to clean off.  The bar area was pleasant, and nice to have a relaxing drink at the end of the evening.  However, we did not spend all our time by the pool as we spent all our days exploring the island.  Probably spent about an hour there at the end of each day before we headed out for the evening.Argostoli and Lassi are about a 30-45 min walk in each direction.  We spent most of our evenings in Argostoli which cost us €6 in a taxi each way.  We also walked to one restaurant on the Fanari road which took us about 15 mins.  I think it was called Vinaries and was a gorgeous seafood restaurant overlooking the bay.  We were there for sunset which was very romantic.  There were also alot of Greeks eating there which to me is always a good sign.Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Galaxy and the staff could not do enough for you.  It was clean and well kept, and perfect for our needs.  I think as long as you realise you are not in easy walking distance to the main resorts then this is a fantastic base.  If you have any questions just ask, and I think I might put more info about Cephalonia on the forum.Kate x

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WirralBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We came back from our Kefalonian holidays this week and I tell you - I usually don't like coming back to the same place again, but this time I would!!! We stayed in Hotel Galaxy after reading all those great reviews on Trip Advisor and it was WORTH IT!!!
The family that run the hotel would do anything to make your stay the best ever!
Rooms were basic but very clean, towels changed every day. It had free air con. Breakfast was the same every day but very delicious.
The pool is clean and it has got salty water. There are showers by the pool which is great. The pool bar is good but prices are way much higher than anywhere else due to the hotel being away from everywhere else.
It is about 25 min walk to Argostoli and 40 min walk to Lassi, but it is a really nice walk, so highly recommended. We have rented a scooter for 3 days so getting anywhere was easy for a while. I do recommend renting a car or scooter as it will make your life easier.
As for the restaurants in the area, I think the best one was Oskars which is just 15 minutes walk from the hotel - they will provide a fantastic night for you - with all the Greek dances (from professional dancers to the waiters themselves, which was quite amusing!). The host is great and bit crazy but fun:) Restaurants elsewhere were ok but this one was definately the best - we went there 3 times and everytime they would treat us special.
As for the bars - Oddysey bar in Lassi was definately the best one!! Denis, the bartender was awsome and would make great cockatils and drinks and is a brilliant entertainer!
As for Kefalonia itself - it is a magical island with views to die for, especially on the north side of the island from Myrtos Beach!!! It is a must see, you just cannot go to Kefalonia and not see this beach. The same goes for Melissani Lake - gorgeous! If you rent a car or scooter you can see the whole island - we literally made around 350km and I tell you - what an amazing experience. The mountains were great, so was the sea shore. Just make sure you put a lot of sun cream as the sun can get you pretty hard.

Overall I do recommend this hotel for anyone that don't want to pay too much and would like to have a great experience!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polish_Girl_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

From the airport to the hotel it costs 20 euros although going home the taxi only took 17 so try and negotiate. The hotel itself it is an hours walk uphill to Lassi which is where all the restaurants and a choice of beaches are. Its a 45 minute walk to Argostoli town centre in the opposite direction and cab journeys are approx 6-7 euros in either direction. The walks whilst long have lovely scenic views of cliffs, the sea and mountains however its quite dangerous for children as there are steep cliffs either side with no barriers and blind bends so you have to be careful with cars. Not a walk the elderly or young can make - especially in the scorching sun. You can only walk during the day as its so dark at night it would not be safe to walk unless you have a powerful torch to warn other drivers of your presence - although that could be dangerous if you blind them and some of them do not take accou nt of how dangerous it can be and drive ridiculously fast or close to the bends!

The hotel itself looks nice from the outside but inside the rooms are cramped and the furniture dated and for some reason the doors were greasy and/or dirty. The showers are cramped and drains blocked so when you bathe the water fills up and your standing in dirty water as the showers do not seem to be cleaned regularly. The toilets are also dirty and the toilet brush accompanying the toilet is disgusting with dried faecal excrement and dried tissue around the brush and this is in full view of all to see. There is a hole in front of the toilet where the drain cover was not fitted so it kept sliding off was and is extremely dangerous if a child's foot was to fall as its sharp and carries sewage from the toilets as toilet paper was floating in that hole. There are no signs to say you couldn't use toilet paper and as a result the toilet became blocked and it was only when we informed receptionist that we were told.

The insects were awful and there were alot of mosquitoes which were a nightmare.

The breakfast was plain and boring - stale cornflakes, bread, jam, butter, ham, cheese and juice or tea and coffee but the owner was a miser and at 10am sharp regardless of whether you were still having breakfast everything was cleared away swiftly. It advertises online that tea and coffee are free during the day but there is a charge of 2 euros and with no fridges in the rooms and no nearby shops or supermarkets, you are forced to spend 2 euros twenty cents on one glass of juice (when you can buy a whole carton for that) or 1 euro 20 cents on a big bottle of water when you can get it from any supermarket for 60 cents. The food menu is dire with only a choice of chips, greek salad, tuna salad, nuggets to go with your chips and burgers. This was expensive and very disappointing considering the location is far from restaurants and supermarkets and there is no fridge provided in the rooms.

The swimming pool is dirty and we were there for just over one week and we never saw it get cleaned once. It is incredibly deep although it does have a little kiddy section but the pool has lots of sand, leaves, detritus and more disgustingly, insects - dead and alive. Although more dead bugs that you encounter when swimming or you see at night with the pool lights when there is no sun reflection. Its a salt water pool as well and unlike the beach, the water just looks stale and if your unfortunate to get some in your mouth its disgusting.

The positives were the front desk staff were friendly and helpful where possible, sheets and towels were changed every day when the room was tidied - not cleaned and the bar was well stocked. There was free AC in the rooms but on the whole the lack of cleanliness really had a negative impact on the holiday. This isnt a great location if you want to be near bars, clubs, supermarkets, the beach or restaurants - UNLESS YOU HAVE A CAR which is a necessity. They say there are beachs within walking distance and one opposite the hotel but unless you want to risk breaking bones climbing down steep cliffs with no man made trails the 'beach' at the bottom is really not worth it. Its full of pebbles and have a tiny shoreline where the sea just hits against the cliffs. Hardly what one would describe as a beach.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wizardParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Galaxy Hotel

Hayley, Newcastle upon Tyne.

I took my mam to Kefalonia for her 60th last yr, it ws her first time abroad, we stayed at the galaxy hotel from 22nd to 28th June 2008... We loved it, The hotel itself was clean, the rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels aswell, we couldnt fault it, its a family run business and they all made us feel welcome and were very friendly people, we loved our stay. Kefalonia itself was just fabulous we loved every minute of it, I would advise anyone to go on the round trip of the island as you will enjoy it. The only disadvantage of the hotel is that its out the way of everything, we had to get a taxi into lassi or argostli everynight which cost bout 5euro's each way, so if you can drive, hire a car, we just stuck to lassi though as we found it was more better, there is a little restaurant in lassi which was fab and the staff was very friendly (the young greek waiter was georgous lol) it was called Nefeli Restaraunt.
My mam is going back to Kefalonia in June on her own as sh loved it there, its a beautiful Island and everyone is very friendly...Also id adivse you to take the boat trip from Argostoli over to Luxori, you can get the boat from the port and thats lovely aswell, its only couple of euros for the boat ride but you can spend allday in Luxori.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley_8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argostolion
4.8 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lixouri
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mirabel City Center Hotel
Mirabel City Center Hotel
#7 of 12 in Argostolion
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liberatos Village
Liberatos Village
#88 of 140 in Cephalonia
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ionian Plaza Hotel
Ionian Plaza Hotel
#9 of 12 in Argostolion
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aggelos
Hotel Aggelos
#5 of 12 in Argostolion
73 reviews
5.2 mi away
Irinna Hotel
Irinna Hotel
#6 of 7 in Svoronata
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Property: Galaxy Hotel
Address: Lassis, Argostolion 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Argostolion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Galaxy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Argostolion
Galaxy Hotel Greece/Ionian Islands - Argostolion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing