We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly and pleasant place to stay”
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2010

This was our first visit to the Galaxy Hotel in early June, the stay was part of a very cheap package deal from onthebeach.com. Its a simple hotel with basic amenities but thats all good. The rooms are clean and a decent size, breakfast is simple but fine, the bar sells draft beer in chilled glasses. Its not the most amazing of places but then its very inexpensive. The location is between Argostoli and Lassi, it would take about 30 mins to walk to Argostoli and 45 mins to Lassi so you need a car really. Near the hotel there's nothing much except the beautiful coastline and sea, the nearest beach is Fanari but its not the best (but popular with the locals). The great thing about this hotel is the people who run it, its a family run hotel and they are a truly lovely bunch. We felt very welcome and relaxed there, and nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone on a tight budget who wants a simple, happy time and plans to explore the island by car/bike.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TroyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2010

Hotel and furniture in rooms is a bit old, but the personnel in the hotel are the one who made your stay beautiful! They are kind and friendly, always prepare to help you and to say a few words with you.
Breakfast is basic, but you get more than that.
The first beach is just accros the road and just a 100m from hotel is a beautiful lighthouse . To explore the island you will need a motorbike or a car, and all the information you can get from Anja and Vangelis.
We were here for the second time and we shure be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sennaseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

The staff are very friendly but the hotel needs updating. The breakfast is basic as are the rooms, the air con doesn't work very well, the bathroom water was a "rusty" colour and smelt the same. Hire car a must, too far to walk into Lassi or Argostoli for evening meals. Lassi geared up for the English. Go into Argostoli, much nicer bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gedis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I just got back from a week's stay in beautiful Kefalonia with my boyfriend and we'd both thoroughly recommend this hotel. Situated between the resort town of Lassi (we avoided this as it seemed a little 'English') and the capital Argostoli, it is an ideal base for touring the island. We hired a car and were easily able to see the whole island, as well as neighbouring Ithaka, inside a week, without feeling rushed or stressed.

As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel staff are fantastic - friendly, always available and they really do make the place. The rooms are clean although furniture etc is a little dated. This didn't bother us at all. Initially allocated a twin room, we were able to change to a double within minutes of arrival. Anja was indeed very helpful when recommending restaurants or places to go etc. Also, the free air con was very much needed and greatly appreciated. Breakfast is the usual continental fare and very nice, with good selection. The hotel bar, poolside, is relatively cheap and with an excellent selection of drinks. A good place to watch the sunset.

Highlights - the Ag Theodoron lighthouse is 2 minutes walk from the hotel and very
picturesque, especially at sunset.
- the 'town turtles' which follow the fishing boats to the quay every day. We
initially looked in the wrong places. They are to be found between the
market and the Drapano Bridge area, around 0930-1030. Amazing sight,
not to be missed.
- the island of Ithaka. Catch the ferry from Sami. It leaves early - just after 8
am! - and Sami is about 30-40mins drive from the hotel. It means an early
start but is well worth it. Word of warning: the roads on Ithaka are not quite
ot the standard of those on Kefalonia... Also, don't miss the return ferry! It
leaves at 1520 from Pisa Aetos. Check times!
- Mellissani Lake and the Drogorati Cave, both near Sami. Amazing natural
beauty and only 7 euro for one and 5 for the other.

The island is beautiful and if you are able to hire a car for even part of your stay, you will get to seem some stunning views. Kefalonia is not as expensive as Zante/Zakynthos, and less 'touristy' than some of the other Greek islands although there's still plenty to see and do.

I made my choice based on the reviews here so thanks to TripAdvisor reviewers for a great holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flawrence76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

OK first off, the bad points:
-rooms are basic, shower was tiny
-hotel really is too far to walk to town/beach

Good points:
-staff are amazing: our thanks to Anya and Vangelis, they gave us a great list of restaurants and beaches to check out, and were friendly and helpful every time we saw them.
-pool area is nice, breakfast was good, rooms get cleaned and towels replaced each day.
-you must hire a car to see the best of the island. We went everywhere, even Ithaca. I found the roads to be pretty good, very windy at times, but there's hardly any other road users, only the odd goat!

Beaches
-the beaches everywhere are beautiful, crystal clear water , lovely temperature, safe and a few fish about. would recommend taking shoes, for the rockier ones. Our favourites:
Xi
Platia Ammos
Kalamia
Lourdas
secret beach, down the track from Sission Monastery

Restaurants:
Lassi
-De Veronica's - nice but Anya was right, Lassi is too English
Argostoli
-Casa Grec - lovely garden setting, really nice staff and high quality food. between main square and sea, down a back alley
-Diana's - opposite the Lixouri ferry, the cheese pie was incredible, perfect fish and great service
-La Docalla (maybe wrong spelling) - eat a mass of delicious meat straight off paper, the greek way. next to the amusements park in town centre
-Captain's Table - last of a really good bunch, great food but was too full of yachties
Assos
-Platanos - brilliant Wild Boar steak, really nice staff, they gave us a free huge desert and the meal was half the price of our other meals. The village is a lovely place to visit at any time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawnandborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed for a week in July and was met by a family run hotel who were always open to any queries we had.
The room was very basic and we asked if there were alternatives due to poor view from room. Unfortunately the hotel was full and they could not move us. Yet it did meet our needs as a base.
The hotel itself was very quiet. We saw some other guests at breakfast - which, whilst the same everyday, was pleasant enough. The hotels own fruit, which they grow on the grounds, bread, cheese and ham, cerial and yog, tomatoes and eggs...usual continental.
The pool is lovely. Salt water made it feel silky smooth. You can ask for a towel and sit there all day if you like. The bar is near by and has undercover tables too which is nice to escape from the rays for a while. Whilst the EURO is an absolute killer the hotel does offer a few snacks. I would recommend joining everyone for the Thursday BBQ. Forget any idea you have about BBQing as they have a proper BBQ. The food is tasty and plentiful, served with a smile and cooked by Greek men drinking beer - a home from home at times!
The pool area was also quite quiet and one can really read a book or have a glass of Mythos with no bother what so ever!
As for location - it really is ideally located for those who want to see all of the island. I would recommend a car as a basic must, not only for the sightseeing, but also to make getting back and forth to the hotel easier as it is a little off the beaten track. Although I was informed by a fellow guest that a taxi to Argostoli cost them 6euros one way. It depends upon the purpose of your trip I suppose.
Other reasonable places to eat include 1. Oscars (turn left from hotel and not too far before the main road to Lassi) - dancing waiters and a 15 euro BBQ menu. Nice people. 2. Sto Pisito (also turn left, just after Oscars and before main road to Lassi) is a little more expensive but very nice. Good service, complimentary melon and just on the sea front. 3 and 4 are on the same fanari road (this time turn right towards Argostoli, past the lighthouse - which incidently is around the corner from the hotel) include the place where they house the waterwheel (hiden in the toilet!!!) can't remember its name (a jug of very reasonable red wine, some olives, dipping oil and bread was less than 10 euros and pleasantly enjoyed on a wooden table near the lapping lagoon) and one further up - Vinaries, which we went to on our first night (lots and lots of food for 30 euros and good service with a warming Greek smile.
Yes, we had a brilliant time!
So - in conclusion: Hotel is at the cheaper end and if you're not expecting 5* you should enjoy. Everyone is nice and polite and will help if they can. Yannis seems to work around the clock and is a lovely gentleman. It was my birthday when we were away and reception felt nothing of surfing the net for me to see if anything was on locally - we saw some Greek dancing, mandolin playing and then went to an open air cinema! You can also use their computer with internet access for a small fee. The place is clean and bright and, even though is in need of a general overhaul (some cracked tiles in the bathroom for instance), the basics are offered.

Can I also suggest that before you travel - just general observation of Kefalonia - you stock up on bug spray and cream. This is expensive in Greece (most over 10 euros) and iscertainly needed in the hot weather.

We loved this holiday so much that we will return next year for two weeks instead of one!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmlh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

First let me start with distances from the Hotel Galaxy.
To Lassi 2 Km to Argostoli 1km from Argostoli to Fiskardo in the north 53Km from Argostoli to Sami in the east 20Km Argostoli to Lixouri in the west 30km and from Argostoli to Skala in the south 43km. (You must hire a car for this hotel) You can drive the whole island in a day but don’t you will miss the most beautiful parts of the island take your time and explore. The roads are not great in fact they are pretty poor compared to the UK.
The only problem we had at times were the road signs of which most are in Greek but some in English so try and get a detailed map with both Greek and English on it and you’ll be fine.
Driving and parking in Cephalonia has to be experienced, if you fancy a coffee you stop outside the cafe and go in, it’s great no more looking for parking places like the UK.
The people are the most friendly laidback helpful people I have ever met most of them speak very good English so we had no language barriers but try and speak a little Greek if you can they will appreciate it.
We ate out every night as we were bed & breakfast the food was fantastic and cheap everywhere we went (main meal and coffees for 2 around 25 Euros) all tastes are catered for.
Lixouri during the day is quiet but at night it comes alive, park the car and take the ferry from Argostoli to Lixouri which runs every half hour for 2.50 Euros each (better than driving it) you will see part of the island from a different angle. (A must at night)
Argostoli is the same, busy during the day but at night it’s a whole different place shops open until about 11pm roads are closed off and the whole place comes alive from about 8.30pm.
As for the Hotel Galaxy it is not a 4 or 5 star hotel and doesn’t claim to be but what it is is a place to start from to explore the island. The rooms are on the small side compared to other hotels but it is very clean with fresh towels and sheets every day and all rooms have free air con which is a must during the peak season the pool is a salt water pool which I prefer and it was cleaned every day at 9.00am. There are towels at the bar for the pool area just ask. The pool bar is open until 1.00am. Breakfast is served from 7am till 10am with cereal, yogurt, cheese, meat, croissants, bread, butter, jam etc, fruit juice, and coffee and if you want a more substantial breakfast many of the restaurants in Lassi will cater for you.
The staff at the hotel are brilliant the owner’s son Vangelis is good for a laugh as is Chis the barman but for more detailed information just ask Anja at the reception desk she is a god send.
(We are a couple between 40 and 55 and it was our 25 wedding anniversary)
The whole experience was magical and I will be back .a.s.a.p. to the same hotel.
(I have uploaded some photos)
The island is untouched and not commercialized at all there are very few things for children to do at night as there is not one pool table or McDonalds or Burger King on the whole island and that’s one of the reasons why we choose it (no lager louts).
I hope this helps. But please do your research before going there is plenty of information on the internet about Cephalonia and the hotel as it will help.
(One small point from recent reviews there are no cliffs outside the hotel as you will see from one of my photos) yes it is not a beach as I would call a beach but it is not dangerous by any means.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Consultant09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argostolion
5.2 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metaxatos Apartments
Metaxatos Apartments
#11 of 19 in Lassi
127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mirabel City Center Hotel
Mirabel City Center Hotel
#8 of 12 in Argostolion
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ionian Plaza Hotel
Ionian Plaza Hotel
#11 of 12 in Argostolion
109 reviews
7.2 mi away
Karavados Beach Hotel
Karavados Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavados
241 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Cite Hotel
La Cite Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lixouri
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Address: Lassis, Argostolion 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Argostolion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Price Range: £20 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Galaxy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Argostolion
Galaxy Hotel Greece/Ionian Islands - Argostolion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing