We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best holiday to date !”
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Where do we start?, On arrival we are greeted by warm and friendly staff, check in was a breeze. Due to our late arrival we sat beside the pool with drinks to soak up an excellent and laid back vibe.

After that, retired to our room which tbh was clean but basic with everything you needed including air con which was an absolute god send. Monday was spent kicking back by the pool while we waited for our hire car to be delivered (140 euro - 4 days). Anya and Vangelis were on hand for all our needs including unusual places to visit which are a little off the beaten track (Anya supplied us with the best places to visit and eat).

We cannot stress enough how good this hotel is, if you like all singing all dancing hotels then this isn't for you but if you crave peace and quiet this is the place to be.

The staff were very welcoming and made you feel that you were a part of the hotel and not just another customer, examples of this was actually taking interest in what you had done during the day, where you had visited which usually ended up in being informed of more local places to see.

Breakfast is simple, breads, coffee, meats, cheese, fruit etc etc but the essence of this hotel is it's ability to allow you to just get on with relaxing and doing the things you want to do without all the annoyance of the bigger hotels.

Places to see which are a must.

Fiskardo.
Sami.
Poros.
Lixouri.
The Vatsa Club (The best fish restaurant we have ever been to), Just ask Anya for driving details check the pics for the view.
Assos.
Drogarati Cave.
Melissani Cave.

Get a flight, book into the Galaxy and enjoy the warm hospitality which it offers and go forth and soak up what this wonderful island has to offer.

Paul and Sandra

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyCampersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2010

This was our first visit to the Galaxy Hotel in early June, the stay was part of a very cheap package deal from onthebeach.com. Its a simple hotel with basic amenities but thats all good. The rooms are clean and a decent size, breakfast is simple but fine, the bar sells draft beer in chilled glasses. Its not the most amazing of places but then its very inexpensive. The location is between Argostoli and Lassi, it would take about 30 mins to walk to Argostoli and 45 mins to Lassi so you need a car really. Near the hotel there's nothing much except the beautiful coastline and sea, the nearest beach is Fanari but its not the best (but popular with the locals). The great thing about this hotel is the people who run it, its a family run hotel and they are a truly lovely bunch. We felt very welcome and relaxed there, and nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone on a tight budget who wants a simple, happy time and plans to explore the island by car/bike.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TroyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Hotel and furniture in rooms is a bit old, but the personnel in the hotel are the one who made your stay beautiful! They are kind and friendly, always prepare to help you and to say a few words with you.
Breakfast is basic, but you get more than that.
The first beach is just accros the road and just a 100m from hotel is a beautiful lighthouse . To explore the island you will need a motorbike or a car, and all the information you can get from Anja and Vangelis.
We were here for the second time and we shure be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sennaseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

The staff are very friendly but the hotel needs updating. The breakfast is basic as are the rooms, the air con doesn't work very well, the bathroom water was a "rusty" colour and smelt the same. Hire car a must, too far to walk into Lassi or Argostoli for evening meals. Lassi geared up for the English. Go into Argostoli, much nicer bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gedis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I just got back from a week's stay in beautiful Kefalonia with my boyfriend and we'd both thoroughly recommend this hotel. Situated between the resort town of Lassi (we avoided this as it seemed a little 'English') and the capital Argostoli, it is an ideal base for touring the island. We hired a car and were easily able to see the whole island, as well as neighbouring Ithaka, inside a week, without feeling rushed or stressed.

As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel staff are fantastic - friendly, always available and they really do make the place. The rooms are clean although furniture etc is a little dated. This didn't bother us at all. Initially allocated a twin room, we were able to change to a double within minutes of arrival. Anja was indeed very helpful when recommending restaurants or places to go etc. Also, the free air con was very much needed and greatly appreciated. Breakfast is the usual continental fare and very nice, with good selection. The hotel bar, poolside, is relatively cheap and with an excellent selection of drinks. A good place to watch the sunset.

Highlights - the Ag Theodoron lighthouse is 2 minutes walk from the hotel and very
picturesque, especially at sunset.
- the 'town turtles' which follow the fishing boats to the quay every day. We
initially looked in the wrong places. They are to be found between the
market and the Drapano Bridge area, around 0930-1030. Amazing sight,
not to be missed.
- the island of Ithaka. Catch the ferry from Sami. It leaves early - just after 8
am! - and Sami is about 30-40mins drive from the hotel. It means an early
start but is well worth it. Word of warning: the roads on Ithaka are not quite
ot the standard of those on Kefalonia... Also, don't miss the return ferry! It
leaves at 1520 from Pisa Aetos. Check times!
- Mellissani Lake and the Drogorati Cave, both near Sami. Amazing natural
beauty and only 7 euro for one and 5 for the other.

The island is beautiful and if you are able to hire a car for even part of your stay, you will get to seem some stunning views. Kefalonia is not as expensive as Zante/Zakynthos, and less 'touristy' than some of the other Greek islands although there's still plenty to see and do.

I made my choice based on the reviews here so thanks to TripAdvisor reviewers for a great holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flawrence76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

OK first off, the bad points:
-rooms are basic, shower was tiny
-hotel really is too far to walk to town/beach

Good points:
-staff are amazing: our thanks to Anya and Vangelis, they gave us a great list of restaurants and beaches to check out, and were friendly and helpful every time we saw them.
-pool area is nice, breakfast was good, rooms get cleaned and towels replaced each day.
-you must hire a car to see the best of the island. We went everywhere, even Ithaca. I found the roads to be pretty good, very windy at times, but there's hardly any other road users, only the odd goat!

Beaches
-the beaches everywhere are beautiful, crystal clear water , lovely temperature, safe and a few fish about. would recommend taking shoes, for the rockier ones. Our favourites:
Xi
Platia Ammos
Kalamia
Lourdas
secret beach, down the track from Sission Monastery

Restaurants:
Lassi
-De Veronica's - nice but Anya was right, Lassi is too English
Argostoli
-Casa Grec - lovely garden setting, really nice staff and high quality food. between main square and sea, down a back alley
-Diana's - opposite the Lixouri ferry, the cheese pie was incredible, perfect fish and great service
-La Docalla (maybe wrong spelling) - eat a mass of delicious meat straight off paper, the greek way. next to the amusements park in town centre
-Captain's Table - last of a really good bunch, great food but was too full of yachties
Assos
-Platanos - brilliant Wild Boar steak, really nice staff, they gave us a free huge desert and the meal was half the price of our other meals. The village is a lovely place to visit at any time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawnandborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed for a week in July and was met by a family run hotel who were always open to any queries we had.
The room was very basic and we asked if there were alternatives due to poor view from room. Unfortunately the hotel was full and they could not move us. Yet it did meet our needs as a base.
The hotel itself was very quiet. We saw some other guests at breakfast - which, whilst the same everyday, was pleasant enough. The hotels own fruit, which they grow on the grounds, bread, cheese and ham, cerial and yog, tomatoes and eggs...usual continental.
The pool is lovely. Salt water made it feel silky smooth. You can ask for a towel and sit there all day if you like. The bar is near by and has undercover tables too which is nice to escape from the rays for a while. Whilst the EURO is an absolute killer the hotel does offer a few snacks. I would recommend joining everyone for the Thursday BBQ. Forget any idea you have about BBQing as they have a proper BBQ. The food is tasty and plentiful, served with a smile and cooked by Greek men drinking beer - a home from home at times!
The pool area was also quite quiet and one can really read a book or have a glass of Mythos with no bother what so ever!
As for location - it really is ideally located for those who want to see all of the island. I would recommend a car as a basic must, not only for the sightseeing, but also to make getting back and forth to the hotel easier as it is a little off the beaten track. Although I was informed by a fellow guest that a taxi to Argostoli cost them 6euros one way. It depends upon the purpose of your trip I suppose.
Other reasonable places to eat include 1. Oscars (turn left from hotel and not too far before the main road to Lassi) - dancing waiters and a 15 euro BBQ menu. Nice people. 2. Sto Pisito (also turn left, just after Oscars and before main road to Lassi) is a little more expensive but very nice. Good service, complimentary melon and just on the sea front. 3 and 4 are on the same fanari road (this time turn right towards Argostoli, past the lighthouse - which incidently is around the corner from the hotel) include the place where they house the waterwheel (hiden in the toilet!!!) can't remember its name (a jug of very reasonable red wine, some olives, dipping oil and bread was less than 10 euros and pleasantly enjoyed on a wooden table near the lapping lagoon) and one further up - Vinaries, which we went to on our first night (lots and lots of food for 30 euros and good service with a warming Greek smile.
Yes, we had a brilliant time!
So - in conclusion: Hotel is at the cheaper end and if you're not expecting 5* you should enjoy. Everyone is nice and polite and will help if they can. Yannis seems to work around the clock and is a lovely gentleman. It was my birthday when we were away and reception felt nothing of surfing the net for me to see if anything was on locally - we saw some Greek dancing, mandolin playing and then went to an open air cinema! You can also use their computer with internet access for a small fee. The place is clean and bright and, even though is in need of a general overhaul (some cracked tiles in the bathroom for instance), the basics are offered.

Can I also suggest that before you travel - just general observation of Kefalonia - you stock up on bug spray and cream. This is expensive in Greece (most over 10 euros) and iscertainly needed in the hot weather.

We loved this holiday so much that we will return next year for two weeks instead of one!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmlh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argostolion
5.2 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kefalonia Grand Hotel
Kefalonia Grand Hotel
#1 of 12 in Argostolion
208 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Summery
Hotel Summery
#2 of 11 in Lixouri
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Karavados Beach Hotel
Karavados Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavados
241 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aggelos
Hotel Aggelos
#5 of 12 in Argostolion
87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mouikis Hotel
Mouikis Hotel
#2 of 12 in Argostolion
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Address: Lassis, Argostolion 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Argostolion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Price Range: £21 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Galaxy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Argostolion
Galaxy Hotel Greece/Ionian Islands - Argostolion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing