We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be in Gozo!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of David & Jenny's B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Qala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
David & Jenny's B&B
Ranked #6 of 9 Qala B&B and Inns
Haubourdin, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The place to be in Gozo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay in David and Jenny's B&B!
Thank you so much Jenny and David! We thank you for your hospitality, for your advice, for the very good breakfast, for all the things you did for us,... :)
The room was beautiful and very confortable. The house is very nice and we had the chance to take our breakfast on the terace with a beautiful view of Qala.
The bus stop is just 2 minutes far away from the guest house so it's very easy to discover Gozo. It's a wonderful and relaxing island.

Aurélie and Tayfur from France

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurélie et Tayf... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
78
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I could not recommend Jenny and David's B&B in Qala highly enough. We stayed for 4-nights in Sept after staying at the excellent Mia Casa B&B in Victoria for 4-nights with Jo and Kevin which I have done under a separate review. Jenny and David were great and we really enjoyed staying in this quaint village very much. Whilst off the beaten track the village square comes to life in the evenings with some lovely restaurants to eat in or outside and watch village life pass by. The breakfast were delicious and Dave couldn't be more accommodating with making sure you have what you like with a choice of fresh fruits/yogurts/breads/toast with fabulous homemade jams/marmalade and amazing cooked plate which was different everyday (diet started now we are back!). As I mention in my other review the buses are easy, and while Qala is quieter there is an excellent bus timetable making it so easy to get about. Jenny and David couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful, they are brilliant hosts who go the extra mile for their guests. Again we feel lucky to have stayed at both these two B&B's which are absolutely excellent and head and shoulders above staying at a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littleoneNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

David & jenny are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. David took me a on a short tour of the nearby bays and gave me a spot of foraging advice too! They are full of local information and pointed me in the direction of some great places to eat. David does the cooking and his home made preserves are fantastic- make sure you leave enough room in your plentiful breakfast to try these out. Your bedrooms are situated in the bottom floor of the house and you have your own entrance which is nice, as you don't feel you are inconveniencing your hosts. Plenty of tea coffee, crisps and biscuits on a communal tea area allow you to feel at home. There's beach towels/chairs and brollys for you to borrow too!

Room Tip: I ahd a room with 2 double beds in it, but I believe there's a four poster in the other room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynem64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I’d like to share with everyone, the delight that is David and Jenny's B&B.
A Gozitan two-room B&B located in Qala, a quaint village where the pace of life is steadfastly sedate. So good that it has become my favourite summer destination, returning this year for the third time.

Although gozo is a small island (4miles x 9miles) it hardly lacks attractions; beautiful orange sand beaches bathed in crystal clear water to handsome historical villages, including the world's oldest standing man-made structure - the Ggantija temples, dating back to 3,600BC. The scenery and view alone deserves a detour if you are visiting Malta. Although Arriva bus service runs well, car hire allows you to explore the more hidden sights, its relatively cheap and worth considering.

B&B owners David and Jenny welcome all guests by offering a pick up service from the ferry terminal to Qala village, followed by an informal guide of the village amenities; restaurants, shops, pubs, beaches.

The B&B is a picture-postcard original Gozo house, which David has lovingly renovated and the architectural features such as the stone arches and the beautifully tiled entrance oozes authenticity. It is on a quiet side street, 1 minute walk from the centre of Qala; a handy location if you’ve had one too many 1.50euro G+Ts.

There are two enourmous rooms dressed with beautiful furniture/fittings and high ceilings. One has a king size bed and the other has 2 double beds. The separate bathrooms are spotless, with modern quality fittings that provide a contemporary edge. Beach towels, bath towels, chairs, parasols, snorkel gear is available free of charge as well as tea, coffee, snacks. There is a fridge stocked with local beers, soft drinks, wine for a couple of euros, and unlimited bottled water!

Breakfast is served on the sunny roof top terrace, above an orchard ripe with plums, pomegranate, peaches, which you can sample in the delightful home-made jams and marmalade. The view extends to seemingly endless countryside dotted with villages and big domed churches, and in the distance the turquoise ocean. As reviewed before, the morning banquets A.K.A breakfast, are quite something. Fresh ground coffee is brewed in a cafetiere, freshly squeezed orange juice and a variety of teas are on offer. David is simply of MasterChef standard– cooked breakfasts vary daily with scrumptious local eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms and hams/bacon/sausages. The fruit salad is a mountain or ripe delight often featuring local fruits of the season– peaches, melons, grapes, nectarine, figs, strawberries, banana, kiwi, orange, grapefruit…the list goes on.

For me personally, it has to be the guaranteed sunshine, the fresh fruits and seafood, the incandescent hues of the sea that pulls me back every summer. The big bonus is staying with the most generous hosts in a beautiful house, a real home from home, and every visit has been a highlight. Thank you Jenny and Dave, again, for the hospitality and wonderful memories! WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_travelfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights in David & Jenny's B&B and we loved. David and Jenny are an absolute amazing couple, they know the best places to go in Gozo (beaches, restaurant.. and whatever you need) and they are very helpfull.
The house is very clean, well decorate and with private bathroom. They have maps, beaches towels and chairs to lend without any fee.
The breakfeast is very good, many products are handmade, fresh fruit and bread, and the David pancakes is the sweet that you need jn the morning :)
We definitely recomend this B&B, it makes you feel like you are at home.
Thanks David and Jenny for your hospitality.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

we found David and Jenny's B&B on the ferry ride to Malta, booked a few hours before we were to arrive on gozo island and were met at the ferry terminal by David, given a guided tour of the town and a free ride to the place.

First off - the hospitality was absolutely wonderful. David and Jenny are super friendly, gave great knowledge regarding sight seeing and beach locations and cook the most amazing breakfasts every day (with tasty home made jams and marmalades)! Could not have asked for more. The house itself is really nice, clean and had new fittings everywhere. the village was quiet, calm and relaxed; exactly what we were looking for, also with great places to eat and amazing bars with €1.50 drinks!!!

definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HalfJapHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Our decision to stay at David & Jenny’s B&B was based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and the description of the village Qala. As we are not attracted to the uniformity and anonymity of Hotels getting a chance to stay in a small renovated Maltese farmhouse was a non brainer. Our instinct proved right and we immediately felt comfortable in these surroundings. Jenny is a very keen antiques’ collector and her quirky findings are proudly presented in this lovely space. David is the cook and when we arrived we were greeted by the enticing scent of strawberry jam gently simmering on the stove. We definitely agree with everybody that you will sleep wonderfully in this quiet little side street, that the rooms are kept spotless and that the breakfast is wonderful. By the way has anybody mentioned the surprising view on that balcony where it is served?
Now to the village itself which is like a little slice of Maltese life. Every evening we were sitting on the bench in front of Zeppi's pub at the square catching the last sun rays with an ice cold beer while the church bells were chiming. This is what a holiday is all about.
David and Jenny are more than great hosts they are compassionate and good hearted. You can feel assured that help will be at hand. If that is not enough their stories are very entertaining and you will learn a lot about the Gozo way of life. We followed their advice of a very pleasant walk from their B&B to the harbour with stunning vistas out to the sea – absolute bliss. If this sounds like your thing book your ticket now……..
Helga and Paul

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qala
0.0 mi away
B&B Dar Ta' Zeppi
B&B Dar Ta' Zeppi
#1 of 9 in Qala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ferrieha Farmhouse B&B
0.0 mi away
Lellux Bed and Breakfast Gozo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maria Giovanna Guest House
Maria Giovanna Guest House
#1 of 5 in Marsalforn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.0 mi away
Betty Cake B&B
Betty Cake B&B
#4 of 9 in Qala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merhba B&B
Merhba B&B
#7 of 9 in Qala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David & Jenny's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David & Jenny's B&B

Property: David & Jenny's B&B
Address: 236 Triq Il-Wardija, Qala, Island of Gozo QLA 1206, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Qala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Qala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly B&B with just 2 guest rooms plus a self contained garden studio.All rooms have their own private shower room. Located in the heart of the village in a quiet alley away from the road. Separate guest entrance leading directly to the ground floor guest rooms and foyer with complimentary tea, coffee, drinking water and biscuits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
David & Jenny`s Hotel Qala
David & Jenny`s Bed And Breakfast
David & Jenny's B&B Island Of Gozo/Qala, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing