We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Orchard House

Old Orchard House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Street
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Orchard House
Ranked #3 of 7 Street B&B and Inns
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

One of my best experiences staying away from home. Lovely owners and fantastic food!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshIvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
15
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

My wife and I, both in our fifties, stayed here for two nights whilst on holiday in the
south-west. We were very warmly welcomed and looked after extremely well during our stay. The house and room were both lovely with a view to a beautiful garden at the rear. Everything was immaculately clean. We pre-ordered a meal for one night and this was lovely - cheese souffle, mushroom wellington, and chocolate pudding (my wife is a vegetarian, there are meat options!). Overall, we would have absolutely no hesitation in either recommending this b&b nor about returning there at a future date.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BassettHound33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

This is a high quality B&B. The breakfast is delicious, made to everyone's preferences.
The rooms are immaculate and the beds very comfortable. It's positioned in a quiet place and within easy reach of all the interesting sights around Glastonbury.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

We received a very warm welcome by Marion and William into their lovely home. The bedrooms were spotless and with personal touches which contributed to the comfort of the accommodation. The receipt of the tourist board "Breakfast Award" reflects the extraordinary choice and quality of the breakfast served which would more than do justice to a five star hotel. Marion is very able cook and we enjoyed evening meals using fresh vegetables and fruit from The Old Orchard House garden.

It is a gem.

Room Tip: Red Room is spacious and with en-suite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara504202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

I'm not a regular B&B person but I was recommended to stay here by a colleague and I'm glad I took his advice.

This is British hospitality at it best. Warm and welcoming, quiet setting and comfortable accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HudmanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
udny green
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2010

Mr and Mrs Salmon were very welcoming, even though I arrived early, and proviided a cup of tea and homemade scone. I was given a map of the town and set off to explore.
We had booked our evening meal ahead and it was excellent - good local food, attractively presented. The time was arranged to suit us, as was breakfast. This again was delicious, with plentiful fruit as well as full English cooked breakfast. Another guest with specific dietary requirements was happily catered for.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fionaUdnyGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

Marion and William Salmon have worked hard to produce 5 star facilities. We were only sorry that we could only stay one night due to our own commitments.The Red Room was beautiful and the bed extremely comfortable. We did miss having a shower in the ensuite and felt the bidet could be removed and a shower installed in the space.
The breakfast was superb with all tastes catered for.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
1.2 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
1.2 mi away
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
#2 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bear Inn
Bear Inn
#1 of 7 in Street
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Old Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Orchard House

Property: Old Orchard House
Address: Middle Brooks, Street BA16 0TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, comfortable, centrally heated home with a large garden on the outskirts of Street. We have a quiet policy and no TV. We have books, papers, log fire and peace aplenty. Evening meals served with 48 hours notice. Large variety of breakfast options. Full off-road parking. Room rates are from £40 pppn for a single room incl. breakfast and £90 per ensuite double room per night incl. breakfast. We have 4 STARS, a BREAKFAST AWARD and a SILVER AWARD from the English Tourist Board ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Orchard House Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing