We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Unbeatable ! Should Have Six Star Rating !”
Review of Old Orchard House

Old Orchard House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Street
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Orchard House
Ranked #3 of 8 Street B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed 1 night in December. Had the gorgeous "Red Room" with beautiful décor, peaceful outlook onto lovely garden, & huge luxury bathroom. Absolute Bliss !
Delightful, welcoming hosts. Lovely relaxing lounge with books & magazines to read, music to listen to, board games to play, & a roaring log fire. What more could anyone want? You just don't miss the tv. In fact it is a relief not to have one. Everywhere spotlessly clean, luxury linens & huge fluffy towels, Crabtree & Evelyn bath accessories, variety of teas, coffees & hot chocolate, plus biscuits, in bedroom, and fresh drinking water. Bedside clock radio.
So very, very comfortable!
As for Breakfast, it is "fantastico". Marion a wonderful cook - Cordon Bleu standard - & such a variety of cereals, porridge, cooked meals, - everything from full English, with a touch of Scottish - delicious Tatties Scones - (try them) to Smoked Salmon & Scrambled Eggs, to Eggs Benedict, etc. All so beautifully cooked & beautifully presented on the plates.Special diets catered for (advance notice needed, of course) if necessary. Home grown soft fruits, home made jams, etc. We had poached eggs with bacon & lovely maple syrup apple slices - delicious - tiny tasty grilled tomatoes on the vine, variety of real teas, (leaves) served in silver tea pots, toast (variety of breads on offer) & so on. Unbeatable breakfast, unbeatable elegance, unbeatable accommodation, wonderful, peaceful atmosphere & definitely, unbeatable friendly & fun hosts. Thanks, Marion & William. Merry Christmas & a Happy Hogmanay! See you in 2014.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VETTRIANISTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

a super stay with peace and quiet, friendly hosts and superb furnishings. We enjoyed the peace- did not miss the tv- even had longer conversations with each other and the host who has a wealth of knowledge about history, politics and geography to name just a few. The breakfasts were better than at home - one reason to return-. Was especially fond of the pancakes with maple syrup and crispy bacon--- to die for. I loved the decor and took home some interesting ideas: for instance the bed canopy, so romantic. And the standard of cleanliness could not be matched by any other place we have visited - better than home

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tabbycat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed one night during our 12-days bicycle tour in South-West England. Of all guesthouses and B&B's we stayed in, this one was the most expensive one and at the same time the one with less facilities : No TV and shared bathroom. The rooms are located in the hosts house, you use their private stairs and hallways. It is embarrassing to get out of your room.
Wrt the silence policy it wasn't at all so silent. We could hear the hosts talking through the wooden ceilings.
The location is not central at all, nothing at walking distance.
And what a silly idea to place a CACTUS behind a curtain in the children's room !
Besides that, rooms and bathroom were immaculate and breakfast nice, fresh but a little posh.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed at Orchard House for one night whilst visiting Street with my Mother, who is seventy-five years old. The stay could not have been better, we received a warm welcome, the rooms were spotless and well appointed and we could not have been looked after better. The breakfast options are extensive and we enjoyed a lovely, tasty, breakfast. I highly recommend this and thought it was excellent value. I would definitely use this B&B again.

Room Tip: For older people, like my mother, I recommend the room with the on-suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Had a great night in your B&B, friendly reception, lovely tea and scones and extended breakfast!
Roomy bathroom comfy beds. Very clean. Better than a hotel! Nothing to moan about, really, and thanks ever so much for returning our forgotten item! Would happily book again if we're in the area!
Would have also loved to enjoy your garden more! Note: Location is not near city centre so car is quite essential.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I needed a quiet, clean and convenient overnight stop-over and Old Orchard House proved to be the perfect place. A friendly welcome greeted me, complete with tea and cake in the lounge, overlooking the gardens. The yellow bedroom was beautiful - light, airy and spacious. A lovely fluffy duvet, bedside lamp, dressing gown, desk for working, alarm clock etc. The shower room was spotless, with high quality toiletries to hand. I enjoyed a full English cooked breakfast, as well as cereals, gooseberries from the garden, yogurt and wholemeal toast. All accompanied by fresh fruit juice and English Breakfast tea.

I visited Street itself, which I didn't like, but loved the quirkiness of Glastonbury and the quaintness of nearby Somerton. 10/10 for my 24 hour Somerset stay.

Room Tip: I loved the yellow room, which is at the front, so does not benefit from a garden view. This didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cam65_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed for two nights with dinner on one evening.
We received a lovely welcome with sincere friendly and warm attention - nothing was too much trouble. Good, tasty food was cooked and presented well.
A lovely room, lovely garden and warm comfortable lounge.
An altogether enjoyable stay, thank you!

Room Tip: We chose to eat in on our first evening to save us having to find a restaurant after a long journey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
320 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bear Inn
Bear Inn
#1 of 8 in Street
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
#2 of 2 in Street
353 reviews
1.7 mi away
Walton Gateway
Walton Gateway
#5 of 8 in Street
50 reviews
1.2 mi away
No.29
No.29
#6 of 8 in Street
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Orchard House

Address: Middle Brooks, Street BA16 0TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Street
Price Range: £25 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, comfortable, centrally heated home with a large garden on the outskirts of Street. We have a quiet policy and no TV. We have books, papers, log fire and peace aplenty. Evening meals served with 48 hours notice. Large variety of breakfast options. Full off-road parking. Room rates are from £40 pppn for a single room incl. breakfast and £90 per ensuite double room per night incl. breakfast. We have 4 STARS, a BREAKFAST AWARD and a SILVER AWARD from the English Tourist Board ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Orchard House Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing