We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent home cooking”
Review of The Two Brewers

The Two Brewers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Street
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Two Brewers
Ranked #6 of 8 Street B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent home cooking”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Stopped off for lunch and had an excellent meal. Food all fresh and home cooked. Staff polite. Big bonus as they say no music or TVs playing so our group were able to talk and listen to each other without the need for shouting!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Albear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    10
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

we stayed overnight on our way to Glastonbury Festival.
The room was clean and comfortable. staff were helpful. \\pub was good too!
All in all we were very happy and would recommend wholeheartedly.
We hope to stay again in the near future.
Fantastic value!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I always enjoy eating here. The food is always tasty and piping hot when it arrives at the table. The prices are very good and the portions are perfect. The quirkiness of the crockery brings me back every time. The only downfall is that on Sundays the menu stays the same so there is not a roast dinner in sight.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sealfeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Tried the pub after playing bowls nearby and looking for lunch. Good car park, avoiding town centre crush. Good choice of cask conditioned beers and interesting menu, while not a gastro pub we all found something which was enjoyed. Cheery helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durnovarian39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The stayed one night here because my husband wanted a traditional England tavern/pub. It wasn't exactly how he wanted (the rooms right above the pub), because the sleeping building is separate from the pub, but it was close enough for the experience.
The lodging building was more modern looking. The rooms were very clean. They brought our breakfast to the room door. No it's not a B&B breakfast. It was just the continental stuff.
Al we arrived at the wrong time (before check in time) and they were happy to let us leave our stuff in and give us directions to our next attractions.
The food was typical pub food and we had a chance to chat with the locals, which is the whole heart of a good trip.
It was right at the time of the London Riots in August of 2011, and they worried about the fact that we would be driving there in less than a week.
I tried scotch and cider there with help from the owner on what to choose.
The food was typical and not overpriced. We had dinner there but not lunch - during the day we are always on the run.
The location was perfectly central for what we wanted - close to Glastonbury, but not in a touristy area, close to a scrumptious farm and not out of the way to continue our trip - we were going up the Thor and visit the Abbey and our next day stop was the Durdle door. It was a wonderful experience overall.
The date that marks when we travel is wrong bc we traveled in August 2011 and that date was not available on the choices. So I choose the farthest day possible.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simplyvee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The pub provides good, fuss-free food at cheap prices. It's nothing special or fancy, but is always consistent and is busy for this reason. If you're after a cheap but good meal, it's a good option. It's a privately-run pub, and the menu has been the same for years....but people always go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My partner and I went to visit family in December 2012 and they suggested that we ate at the 'The Two Brewers' as it was their local and thought very highly of the place. On the outside, it looked like a traditional English pub. We entered the pub and again, we thought the place looked nice. We were shown to our seats by the waitress, i don't remember her name, but she was very professional. The menu is laid like a newspaper, i thought this was a very quirky idea. However I was expecting the menu to be the 'Daily Sport' of menus where there would be a lot of different meals i would like to try. It actually turned out to be the financial times. The menu was so boring. I ended up choosing from the specials board. The food was very reasonably priced, there was just nothing appealing. Not even the pub classic of 'The Burger'. Now while i was choosing from the specials board (chalk board) I noticed that the writing was as a slant and there was a noticeable gap between two words. But as this was a 'county pub' i thought it added to the appeal-not everything has to be even, not everything has to be perfect. Anyway, the food came pretty quickly, which ties in with their slogan something like 'we don't do fast food, we do good food as soon as we can' basically what you find in every local pub/restaurant. Now the food was good and it was fast so they have accomplished that. But that's all it was, good. Half way through our meal, the manager came out. We didn't see him at first, but you could definitely hear him. He clearly wanted everyone in the pub to know that he was the manager, ordering his staff around loudly. I tried to ignore but the way he was speaking to his staff was diabolical. The icing on the cake was when he noticed the gap between the words. He hit the Roof! he literally picked the waitress up by her shoulders and stood her in front of the sign. He was ranting and raving about how massive this space was etc etc... At this point i was ready to go. He snatched the wet cloth out of her hands, wiped it clean and demanded she did it again. I felt so sorry for her. Sorry for the Essay, just wanted to share my experience.

Positives- Food was okay, Prices were good, good service from Waitress
Negatives- Menu was bland and small, Manager ruined the night

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Deanrichards123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
#2 of 2 in Street
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bear Inn
Bear Inn
#1 of 8 in Street
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Albany Apartments
The Albany Apartments
#3 of 3 in St Peter Port
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Two Brewers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Two Brewers

Property: The Two Brewers
Address: 38 Leigh Road, Street BA16 0HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Street
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Two Brewers Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing