We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tinsel & Turkey”
Review of Wessex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wessex Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Street
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tinsel & Turkey”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have just returned from a five day break. My room was on the back so nice and quiet. The room was booked as a single. Super large with three single beds. I can't understand all the negative comments about the food. It was the tinsel turkey trip but if the food is like this normally it is excellent value for the price paid. Two coach trips in so almost a full hotel, and the staff managed very well. I will certainly stay their again. Very good venue for shopping trips

Room Tip: Rooms on the front can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    122
    69
    26
    32
See reviews for
30
139
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed at the Wessex for 3 nights with our coach party of approx 40 people, there was also another coach party so hotel was 90%full.
Room was clean but basic with toilet separate from the bathroom so you had to cross to wash your hands.
However I think it is the luck of the draw as some had a four poster and jaccussi for the same price.
Breakfast was partly self service (cereal toast, juice etc), with a cooked breakfast to order
Dinner was 3 courses with a choice of 2 starters 2 mains and 2 desserts.
Though portions were a little meagre it was tasty and quite filling.
Location is good about a 10 minute stroll to Clarkes villiage which has many designer outlets
All in all a decent hotel ideal for touring the local area
Unable to state what the room rate was as it was included in our tour package however as the 4 day tour (3 nights)half board including tours to Bath, Wells and Glastonbury was only £129 each can not fault it ,excellent value

Room Tip: A bit noisy at the front especially at weekends due to parties etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sthelens merseyside
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just spent 5 days at the Wessex (on a coach trip). No serious complaints -quite adequate-rooms kept very clean-breakfasts a little sparse( 1 rasher of bacon-even if you didn't have everything else!). Service at evening meal quite slow -perhaps because there were 2 coach parties in and not enough staff. Overall good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doreen823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I booked a last minute overnight at the Wessex for a Saturday night. The hotel looks a bit run down from the outside but in a good location.

The room was quite large but the decor was really old fashioned. Lots of brown and black. The toilet and bathroom were clean but again a bit sad in style. The shower curtain was so thick that the light hardly penetrated it, so almost like showering in the dark. Bed just about ok. No tea or coffee in the room unless it was well hidden

I looked at the Wine List and was horrified to see mainly supermarket wines like Blossom Hill etc, so no need to even contemplate dining here.

Breakfast was a shambles. I was shown into the dining area and told to help myself to the buffet. I poured a glass of orange juice into a Paris Goblet and sat down. There were two other people having breakfast. The staff outnumbered the guests at that point. After about 10 minutes I headed off to get some attention and to find out about a cooked breakfast. A member of staff gave me the menu and I ordered. The breakfast arrived reasonably quickly. I asked the waitress if I could have some cutlery. She initially said I was sitting at a table that was not laid up and then noticed that not one of the many tables had any place settings. Two more people arrived and went through the same process. Who was in charge?

My overall feeling was that the management of the hotel was wandering around with their eyes closed. The hotel needs some investment and some serious staff training.

Room Tip: Not sure how noisy this will be in the summer with the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Street hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

On a random night, chances are there will be at least 2 to 3 tour bus groups staying at the Wessex on their road trip through England!

The rooms are clean, but basic. In the summer, they might be a bit hot as there is no air conditioning. The price is good (if you haggle, you can get rooms for £50/night or less for a single with breakfast).

Breakfast is standard full English, decent but nothing special. They also serve dinner, but I would recommend going out to a nearby restaurant instead. The price is cheap though - £6ish for a starter and main course!

The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. There's also free wifi (although not all rooms get a good signal).

Also ask for a room not facing the road for a quieter night.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dahokolomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

just returned from the wessex hotel as part of a coach trip from stoke on trent. greeted on the coach by a manager who asked us all for £1 each for our door card which seemed a little strange but apparently is now company policy. booked a single room but wow what a room 3 beds loads of room lovely bath and shower with plenty of hot water lovely clean bedding and towels changed daily. loads of tea and coffee supplies great flat screen tv so nothing to complain about it would seem lovely friendly staff in reception and restaurant but oh how the food lets the hotel down.

awful bacon the worst i have ever tasted pretty basic supplies of breakfast items evening meals did leave a lot to be desired one decent meal all week such a shame because would recommend this hotel if you want to visit somerset and streets clark village and retail complex. would visit again just for the lovely room but oh hope they get some better quality food.

Room Tip: booked a single room but after speaking to most of the guests all rooms seem to be very roomy and cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

A nice comfortable hotel...the service was very good, rooms clean adequate and comfortable, we had a weekend break here and certainly would recommend, a nice pleasant change, excellent value, definitely will go back, good service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
7.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.5 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Property: Wessex Hotel
Address: 5-15 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Glastonbury
Wessex Hotel Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing