We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day stay Wessex Hotel,Street. with Voel Holidays.”
Review of Wessex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wessex Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Street
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Wessex Hotel, Street.
Had a three day stay with Voel Coach Holidays, and although there also was another Coach party in the Hotel at the same time, the service was very good, staff very friendly and helpful, the food beautifully cooked and a varied Menu to choose from.
The room size very good and warm.
All in all the staff at the Hotel made us very welcome and our stay enjoyable

Room Tip: Rooms basic, have all that is needed ,very warm and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank staffite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

juast returned from a 3 day break with voel holidays.stayed at the wessex in street.exellent throughout. great evening meals rooms clean.staff very pleasant. plenty of joice for breakfast.we even had a lovely lunch before starting home.exellent would recommend it to anyone. good value for money.

Room Tip: room to the rear of hotel quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HUW J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I had 5 days at the wessex last week (coach holiday with dac) and found the hotel excellent, the food good and so was the entertainment. Nothing was too much trouble ofor the staff and our stay was most enjoyable.I would recommend this hotel as a medium priced comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have just returned from a five day break. My room was on the back so nice and quiet. The room was booked as a single. Super large with three single beds. I can't understand all the negative comments about the food. It was the tinsel turkey trip but if the food is like this normally it is excellent value for the price paid. Two coach trips in so almost a full hotel, and the staff managed very well. I will certainly stay their again. Very good venue for shopping trips

Room Tip: Rooms on the front can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed at the Wessex for 3 nights with our coach party of approx 40 people, there was also another coach party so hotel was 90%full.
Room was clean but basic with toilet separate from the bathroom so you had to cross to wash your hands.
However I think it is the luck of the draw as some had a four poster and jaccussi for the same price.
Breakfast was partly self service (cereal toast, juice etc), with a cooked breakfast to order
Dinner was 3 courses with a choice of 2 starters 2 mains and 2 desserts.
Though portions were a little meagre it was tasty and quite filling.
Location is good about a 10 minute stroll to Clarkes villiage which has many designer outlets
All in all a decent hotel ideal for touring the local area
Unable to state what the room rate was as it was included in our tour package however as the 4 day tour (3 nights)half board including tours to Bath, Wells and Glastonbury was only £129 each can not fault it ,excellent value

Room Tip: A bit noisy at the front especially at weekends due to parties etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just spent 5 days at the Wessex (on a coach trip). No serious complaints -quite adequate-rooms kept very clean-breakfasts a little sparse( 1 rasher of bacon-even if you didn't have everything else!). Service at evening meal quite slow -perhaps because there were 2 coach parties in and not enough staff. Overall good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doreen823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I booked a last minute overnight at the Wessex for a Saturday night. The hotel looks a bit run down from the outside but in a good location.

The room was quite large but the decor was really old fashioned. Lots of brown and black. The toilet and bathroom were clean but again a bit sad in style. The shower curtain was so thick that the light hardly penetrated it, so almost like showering in the dark. Bed just about ok. No tea or coffee in the room unless it was well hidden

I looked at the Wine List and was horrified to see mainly supermarket wines like Blossom Hill etc, so no need to even contemplate dining here.

Breakfast was a shambles. I was shown into the dining area and told to help myself to the buffet. I poured a glass of orange juice into a Paris Goblet and sat down. There were two other people having breakfast. The staff outnumbered the guests at that point. After about 10 minutes I headed off to get some attention and to find out about a cooked breakfast. A member of staff gave me the menu and I ordered. The breakfast arrived reasonably quickly. I asked the waitress if I could have some cutlery. She initially said I was sitting at a table that was not laid up and then noticed that not one of the many tables had any place settings. Two more people arrived and went through the same process. Who was in charge?

My overall feeling was that the management of the hotel was wandering around with their eyes closed. The hotel needs some investment and some serious staff training.

Room Tip: Not sure how noisy this will be in the summer with the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
0.1 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
109 reviews
1 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
338 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
466 reviews
7.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,078 reviews
13.3 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Address: 5-15 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Street
Price Range: £52 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Glastonbury
Wessex Hotel Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing