We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit with Eden Nights”
Review of Wessex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wessex Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Street
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our third visit to this hotel which continues to improve. It is a 3* which does need updating but the service and food over New Year was the best. Our priority is the ballroom for dancing, service and food so it suits us. It was warm and quiet. It accepts dogs which is a bonus for us. We will be retuning often during the year and if the refurbishment continues we will be recommending it to our friends. The organisation and value for money with Eden Nights holidays for dancers is excellent.

Room Tip: Don't have a room with a jacquzzi as it takes too long to fill to use!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doodlelover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our third visit to the Wessex with Voel Holidays. Each time has been better and better. The hotel is warm and friendly, the staff are excellent. The food very good with a nice choice of menu. Choosing your evening meal at breakfast made for smooth and efficient service.

Would recommend a stay here and we will be back for a fourth visit. The area has so much to see.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steamhead45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hotel is in need of a bit of TLC. The food was always hot but the choice was limited. All the staff were very helpful and always smiling. We stayed for 4 nights on an organised trip with GB Tours but the hotel in general is a bit of a let down. Would use GB Tours again but not this Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We visited the hotel for dinner on a quiet Sunday evening, we were only able to eat in the bar but was clean and well presented, the menu was limited and when arrived one of the dinners had clearly been heated up from lunchtime, other meal freshly cooked without any issues. Staff accommodating and part refund given. All round underwhelmed

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank annie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Wessex Hotel, Street.
Had a three day stay with Voel Coach Holidays, and although there also was another Coach party in the Hotel at the same time, the service was very good, staff very friendly and helpful, the food beautifully cooked and a varied Menu to choose from.
The room size very good and warm.
All in all the staff at the Hotel made us very welcome and our stay enjoyable

Room Tip: Rooms basic, have all that is needed ,very warm and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank staffite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

juast returned from a 3 day break with voel holidays.stayed at the wessex in street.exellent throughout. great evening meals rooms clean.staff very pleasant. plenty of joice for breakfast.we even had a lovely lunch before starting home.exellent would recommend it to anyone. good value for money.

Room Tip: room to the rear of hotel quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HUW J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I had 5 days at the wessex last week (coach holiday with dac) and found the hotel excellent, the food good and so was the entertainment. Nothing was too much trouble ofor the staff and our stay was most enjoyable.I would recommend this hotel as a medium priced comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
0.1 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
313 reviews
3.6 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,053 reviews
1.5 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
458 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Address: 5-15 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Street
Price Range: £61 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Glastonbury
Wessex Hotel Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing