We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return.....”
Review of Wessex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wessex Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Street
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We came on a coach trip to this hotel and found the food and service could not be faulted. The staff in the hotel and especially in the dining room went above and beyond the call of duty. Nothing was too much trouble. Whilst the hotel may be in need of a little updating here and there, we slept on a most comfortable bed with plenty of hot water and heating - a first for us as we have stayed in many hotels and have never found this. We were in a quiet room at the back of the hotel room 203 and found it to be extremely peaceful. Great location for shopping at Clarks village which is why we went on this trip and I would highly recommend the hotel in every way and also not forgetting the entertainment that was on every night. A great place, we will return. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 203 overlooking the back of the hotel not that the road in front is noisy all night at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoggyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I were on an organized coach with Leisure-time, who we are regular travellers with. So far we have never been disappointed with the hotels that we've stayed in, but sooner or later there's going to be one that is going to be "second rate". Fortunately, this hotel was excellent, with good accommodation, service, good choice of food and a good ambience. needless to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed as part of a coach party, from Monday 10th Feb 2014. Upon arrival we were offered free tea/coffee. Check in was smooth, and we were allocated a room on the 2nd floor at the rear of the hotel, overlooking houses. The room was clean and tidy, with a large double bed, 32" TV with tea/coffee making facilities, an iron and board provided. Bathroom with provided toiletries, and a seperate toilet. The room key is a electronic card system (You pay £1 deposit for the card).
There is a small bar, with resonably priced drinks. You can set up a bar tab, via your credit/debit card or use cash.
The food for breakfast and dinner is very good. Breakfast consists of all you need for for a good start to the day, and you also place your order for dinner at breakfast time, so that evening your meal is served straight to you. This consists of a good 3 course meal. During our stay there was our group plus another coach group, but the resturant and kithen staff coped well getting everyone served. The staff were excellent and always had time for the you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthWalesBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed at the Wessex at New Year for a dance break, service was first class, some of the best staff I have meet at a UK hotel. Food was really good, breakfast and evening meal. Over all first class, would go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benson38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Good - Friendly helpful staff (arranged for us to check in early). Lovley breakfast, lots of choice and well cooked. Large, clean, tidy room.
The Bad - Lumpy bed, noise from function in the ballroom (1st floor) carried, even though we were on the 2nd floor at the opposite end of the hotel.
The Ugly - A visitor was given our room number and directed to go up to our room. The hotel reception did not call us to say this person was in reception nor check that we were happy for them to come up to the room. Very, very unhapy about this, anyone could have been sent up, first rule of hotels, never, ever, ever, send anyone up to a guests room without checking with the guest first. Apart fom being very rude, this could be dangerous as you have no idea who you are sending up or whether that person will harm your guest. Very quick way to end up having to call the police to a hotel. We should have complained at the time but as we were attending a family funeral this was not high on our list of priorities.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cmarr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

It's simple really----if you want to be overcharged for an experience out the 1980's then book in here.If not there are much better places/Cheaper/cleaner/more modern/better service.
I don't understand why they have let themselves get in this state,with Clarks HQ over the road.
If they wanted they could really capitalise on this market.
Such a waste.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northernroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Booked & paid for two singles by telephone. The receptionist was efficient & friendly.
Found the hotel very easily as well signposted at the end of the main high street. Spacious car park will well defined & wide parking bays. Reception had the paperwork ready and we were in our rooms within minutes.

Generally, the hotel is a bit rundown and needs a facelift and, if it wasn't for that, I would have given The Wessex 5 stars.

The rooms were larger than average with a separate en-suite w.c. & bathroom with all sorts of extra bits & pieces. There was also a TV, alarm clock and a large fitted wardrobe with plenty of hangers, ironing board, trouser press, iron etc. etc. Beds were well made with spare blankets & pillows available. New uPVC windows were fitted so our rooms were very cosy throughout our stay. Breakfast was part serve yourself with a extensive choice of main meals cooked to order. Service was very professional and relaxed. We were both very satisfied with the quality & quantity delivered.
Altogether I must compliment the management on the attitude of all the staff together with the cleanliness of the whole hotel. I would certainly stay at The Wessex again because of the above and also as the cost was comparable with the local B & Bs.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel can be a bit noisy if there is a function on in the main dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BreconTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
0.1 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
109 reviews
1 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
325 reviews
3.6 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
464 reviews
7.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,069 reviews
6.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Address: 5-15 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Street
Price Range: £63 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Glastonbury
Wessex Hotel Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing