We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“happy little yokle!”
Review of Wessex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wessex Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Street
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“happy little yokle!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

a "comfortable" style of "motel" not too expensive; found staff very friendly / attentive and courteous. enjoyed dinner and breakfast very much before a "calorie" work off to the convenient shopping "experience" for the wife!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yokle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    121
    69
    26
    32
See reviews for
30
139
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stopped at the Wessex last year and returned this April, straight away noticed improvements in the food on offer. Breakfast is a choice of cereals and tined fruit together with fruit juice and as much toast that you can eat. Followed by a traditional English breakfast or kippers. Tea and coffee is served in pots and you can drink as much as you like. Tables are nicely laid out with clean cotton table clothes. We had evening meals and a choice of several dishes on the menu. Ideal for those that are on diets? you don’t get a lot but I would say adequate. Staff very friendly and well trained, we were asked if everything was OK with our meals every day. You don’t ask that question if the food is not up to standard. We had room 217 in the front of the Hotel, found it to be noisy at night. Room very clean and tidy, you are provided with tea and coffee, iron, ironing board and hair dryer. Bathroom was clean and tidy. Now for the bad points nice large room let down by the poor quality of odd bits of furniture. The side board had its veneer peeling of exposing the chipboard underneath. We did try to use the bottom draw but it became stuck, I had to intervene to get it back on to its runners. I had to remove the draw and noticed that somebody had tried to fix with nails. Worst still the bottom of the draw carcase was covered in a thick layer of dust. Wall lights mismatched and hanging loose from wall. Don’t remove table cloth on table in room you will have a surprise. Truthfully furniture is very tacky and fit for one purpose, the Skip. Bed was comfortable and sleep quality OK. Bathroom tap had a bolt attached as a handle to turn on. The shower head could not be adjusted due to bracket not supporting head in correct position. Bath had no plug and towel rail kept falling of wall, several missing tiles, but apart from the faults very clean and tidy. The toilet room was nice and clean but water fill to cistern very noisy even with door closed, easy cure with correct ball valve fitted. Management take notice, change your plumber he is not doing you any favours. However the above faults did not disrupt our three night stay. The friendly staff servicing the room and dining made up for the faults. We arrived with a line dancing group and had full facilities of the very large dance floor; however the room becomes very hot during the evening. The leather trims around top of bar area very badly worn with holes in the fabric, needs replacing. So summing up, good location, food is very good, staff very friendly and helpful, hotel clean and tidy room clean and tidy but let down by the condition of furniture in room.

Room Tip: Try to book a room at the rear of Hotel and not rooms facing road tends to be noisy at front of Hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband John and I held our 40th Wedding Anniversary party at The Wessex Hotel last weekend and we have having nothing but praise for them! The staff were amazing, especially the manager Micea and his wife Ioana. Nothing was too much trouble for them and really wanted our evening to be a success, which it was! The food was first class, so tasty and plentiful.

About 50 of us stayed overnight and the accommodation was great! All our guests loved the breakfast, freshly cooked and served very quickly.

So pleased we chose The Wessex Hotel for our celebration! We cannot fault anything; a wonderful occasion enjoyed by everyone, enhanced by the great Wessex Hotel! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janie545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Wessex is a 1980's style of hotel; quite large but rather impersonal. The room was OK for an overnight although the bed was not that comfortable and thus quality of sleep was not great. Bathroom and wc were clean as were linen and towels. However the decor in and around the hotel would benefit from repainting and carpeting as in part it looked a bit tatty. Breakfast and the service around it was good. Would suggest if you stay that you ask for a room not overlooking the road.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oskar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Did 3 night coach tour with GB Tours and stayed at this gem of a hotel. Absolutely brilliant staff who can't do enough for you. The food was outstanding, beautifully cooked and presented with lots of extras.
Yes the decor needs updating, but it was clean and the staff more than made up for this. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Last week was my 3rd visit to this Hotel. I think all the staff are wonderful, polite, helpful and well trained. Porterage welcomed me plus refreshments on arrival, well received. Check in - effortless. Restaurant was clean and tables laid up neatly. All food good quality, well cooked, varied - presentation very good. Rooms could do with updating, mine was 101 but extra's made up for this. Manager informed me refurb. was taking place gradually over the next 2 years. Complementary wine with dinner and an afternoon tea at no charge. A good base for Clark's shopping village, just across the road. Definitely very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYLVIA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Had a great 4 days staying at this hotel.The rooms were very good,Staff were very helpful and the food was exceptionally good we would definately stay here again.

This review is wrote on behalf of my mum and her friend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annec1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
7.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.5 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Property: Wessex Hotel
Address: 5-15 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Glastonbury
Wessex Hotel Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing