We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wessex Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel(Glastonbury)(Great Value!)
US$100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Glastonbury(Glastonbury)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Millbatch Farm(Glastonbury)
Free cancellation until 26/05
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Meare Manor(Glastonbury)
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Wells (Somerset)(Wells)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Devonshire Arms(Langport)
Free cancellation until 28/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
74
144
84
38
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
144
84
38
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach partycoach tripgb toursseparate toiletdance floorself drivereception areairon and ironing boardmeal timesgreat weekendtrouser pressbeds were comfortablecold buffetlarge hotelclarks villageshort breakporridge
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at The Wessex Hotel for 4 nights with Majestic self drive. From the outside we wondered what we had let ourselves in for as the hotel looks old and definitely in need of a facelift but we were pleasantly surprised once inside. The reception and bar area are clean and well furnished. Check in was easy and we were given a room on the second floor. The room was at the back of the hotel and had a good outlook over a small green area where chickens were housed and a row of back gardens. The room was spacious with drawers and a wardrobe, a couple of comfortable arm chairs to relax in and a flat screen television. The TV remote control was a little temperamental so I asked reception if they could do anything with it and was told if you aim it correctly and wait it works fine and it did. There was an ironing board and iron in the wardrobe and tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The bathroom was also spacious with plenty of space to put your toiletries and the bath was huge. When we saw the shower we thought it would be pitiful but were pleasantly surprised that it was in fact very powerful. Unusually the toilet was separate from the bathroom, this along with the bathroom were decorated excellently. While soaking in the bath you would think you were staying in a boutique hotel. The room was cleaned and towels replaced daily. The restaurant was set out well so we were not right on top of other guests and were able to choose our table and keep it for the duration of the stay. We stayed on a bed, breakfast and dinner basis and the food was excellent and plentiful at every meal with a variety of choice. The staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. There is plenty of free on site parking. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Don't be put off by the exterior.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very enjoyable break at this hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms cleaned really well every day. Food very good value for money with a good choice every evening. Hotel well located for Clarkes village and not far to drove to Wells and a lovely village called Wedmore. Thank you very much to all the staff.

Room Tip: Room 105 was a nice room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilamch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Back to the Wessex Hotel, Street, which I first reviewed two years ago, for the Easter jazzfest.. Book-in was fuss-free because although check-in was 4 pmon the schedule, we were able to access our room on arrival at 2.45. The room was disappointing compared with those we've had in previous years. It had two beds, a double and a single, but seemed strangely under-furnished. There was no dressing table, simply a light, round table which held the kettle and drinks tray, in front of a wall mirror. Lighting, too, was a problem because the overhead lights were scarcely bright enough to read by and there weren't individual bedside lamps, just one between the two beds. But the bed was comfortable and, unlike some other guests in rooms at the front of the hotel, we suffered no disturbance and had great sleep quality.

The main improvement we found was in the dining room which was excellently organised and managed with two working toast machines! The food was fresh and tasty, menus well planned and nicely varied and the service was impeccable. The catering upstairs, too, was exceptional. Janet's Hatch served delicious sandwiches and pastries, hot and cold drinks and snacks over lunchtime and early evening to both hotel guests and jazzers with day tickets so that no one needed to miss a note of the magical music.

A Breeze from New Orleans set the weekend off not with a bang but with a glorious, smooth, warm glow. This group is distinctive because it has 4 lady jazzistes and 3 men in its usual line-up. But this was not the case last Friday when a young male pianist from Newcastle (Ian?) sat in on piano and as well as blending in smoothly with the group, treated us to awesome, driving, boogie performances. So not only femjazz but also young jazz. From the applause it was clear that the Spirit - and the music - of New Orleans was glowing brightly and creating a superb ambiance for the weekend..

Saturday lunchtime the Sunset Cafe Stompers, a well-known West Country band, carried on the good work with a sparkling session that managed to cover the whole spectrum of jazz with stomps and marches, rags and spirituals, rhythm and blues. All were played with verve and attack and, again, with wonderful solos by the piano man, Prof Mike Denham.

The last hour of Saturday evening and Sunday lunchtime were spent with the inimitable Brian Carrick and his Algiers Stompers who topped off a wonderful day of jazz with a rich, driving sound, much enhanced by the band's humour and joy in playing requests, which came thick and fast. They were full of anecdotes and jokes and really pleased their audience who went floating off to musical dreams or down to the bar below for a late night jam session, which went on until 1 am and was a great success. As, it must be said, was the whole weekend, from the comments we heard.

Sadly, the sunshine ended on Sunday but the Camelia Brass Band stoutly led the parade around the car park and the stylish Easter bonnets and delightfully decorated brollies were shown off. The parade just managed to complete a circuit before the rain pelted down!

This has to be one of the most enjoyable jazzfests we've been to and certainly our best experience yet at the Wessex Hotel. The organisation by John Minnion was, as ever, impeccable to please everyone - dancers, listeners and watchers. The mature jazzers felt well catered for and looked after by the staff and superbly entertained by the awesome jazz bands on the programme. There's another jazzfest in November for which Wessex Hotel accommodation is booked up, but jazz only tickets and advice on hotels close by is available. To be on the safe side, we booked up for Easter 2015 before we left! So thank you, Wessex Hotel, for a marvellous jazzfest and see you next year.

Room Tip: Some people found the front rooms overlooking the road noisy late on Friday night.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorginaS152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a room with a four poster bed and jaccuzi bath. The room was a bit tired and we didn't use the jaccuzi bath which was very large and it would have taken ages to fill. We would have preferred a normal bath with a shower over and an ordinary bed. The four poster made the room dark. One of the draws would not shut and you could have knocked your leg everytime you passed if you weren't observant.

Room Tip: Suggest if you book ask for a normal double room with no frills.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

a "comfortable" style of "motel" not too expensive; found staff very friendly / attentive and courteous. enjoyed dinner and breakfast very much before a "calorie" work off to the convenient shopping "experience" for the wife!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yokle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews