We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend”
Review of Wessex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wessex Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Street
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A dance weekend with Eden nights. 10 friends who met up for the occasion. Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, nothing too much for them. Rooms recently upgraded, comfy and large. Food was very good but biscuits with Cheddar (only) were a bit stale. The Ballroom is superb and was available all day Sat/Sun for 'dance practice'. We walked to Glastonbury and visited 'Clarkes Outlet Village' (over the road) for the reduced price shopping. Hotel was good with fans provided. (the weather was Hot). We had no problems with the hotel, the dancing was as expected for a Social affair and as usual Paul's music was great.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. They face South and so are hotter - but the rooms have blinds and wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RATCO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    119
    69
    26
    32
See reviews for
29
138
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kinver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

we booked two doubles here early May in plenty of time for an event on the mid August 2014 in Glasto - the booking went nice & smoothly via Late Rooms, confirmation received - job done....or so we thought!
Mid July we received a call from the hotel saying they couldn't honour the booking due to human error!
The strange thing was though some other friends (slight late comers to the trip) booked direct with the hotel & low & behold their booking was good!

Now was it a genuine human error or is this the hotel taking the mick & preferring direct bookings over the Late Rooms (which no doubt attracts commission) - who knows!

Anyway due to there being the Abbey Festival on & absolutely no alternative accommodation in he vacinity for our trip has been downgraded from Superior Double, Breakfast included to a tent - thanks Late Rooms / the Wessex Hotel.

foot note - i don't mind camping btw - but only when & where we choose to camp.

Room Tip: have a back up plan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank snettaWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Street hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Well back again ...things have changed .....We go away on dancing breaks with Eden Nights who organise holidays for dancers... been here before and it was really good.
Not at all impressed on this occasion ...I guess they have changed the chef...food was was well below average, in particular Saturday night ball meal was awful....just left it....There is no excuse as ALL the meals are all pre booked!!!!!! When complaining we were told 'sorry, error in the kitchen'...... cheese & biscuits... ..its either mild cheddar or mild cheddar, no choice & stale biscuits.
On the up side the dancing was OK probably a bit too heavy on the 'sequence' but ok & this was the general feeling on our table. The Ballroom was crowded with 'incomers on the ball night' which made it difficult for those of us who had pre booked a holiday to dance.
Watch this space we are booked on another one here next month ......will be the last if it's like this
Come on Paul!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent location, 100yds from Clarkes Shopping Village, 1.5 miles from Glastonbury. Hotel looks 1970s from outside but it has been refurbished inside to a good standard.Good size rooms, nicely decorated with all facilities. Friendly, attentive staff. Excellent food. reasonable prices in the bar. John & Rita from Norwich.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the four poster and spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We booked this hotel two months in advance for an event nearby. We have just received a phone call from them saying that someone who has since left (what a cop out) put it in the diary on the wrong day so sorry - tough luck they are now fully booked. We find it somewhat hard to believe that if this was put in the diary incorrectly for Septemberr how they even knew about it this week and also if so, why are we the ones who are cancelled not the other bookings they have taken subsequently. There is a major event going on the this area the weekend we booked and it is now impossible for us to get accommodation and personally it just looks like this hotel sold the room at a lot more money. The person who phoned said we would be able to book somewhere else - we were almost laughed at when we tried - the whole area is full and anyone in the hotel trade would have known that. I'd like to know how they came to the decision of cancelling a booking made when they had vacancies (we even phoned to check walking distances) over newer bookings. Doesn't make sense unless it's a complete lie by this hotel . Don't bother to book this for anything important as you can see they might not honour the booking if the demand for accommodation goes up in the area,

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 524ANON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Booked 2 rooms for a 40th birthday celebration, going to a gig in Glastonbury. Have now been told my room has been double booked, they've found me a room 9 miles away, and I need to foot the bill for taxis to and from Glastonbury. This is not acceptable.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank K75E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Having spent a couple nights at this hotel recently, I would not recommend it. The bedroom was unbearably hot (despite reasonably mild temperatures outside); dinner on the first night was decidedly average (I ate elsewhere on the second night) and the cooked breakfast left a lot to be desired. Having committed to working in the area for four weeks, I will not be returning to the Wessex

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank thegrandpire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
7.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.5 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Property: Wessex Hotel
Address: 5-15 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Glastonbury
Wessex Hotel Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing