We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Street B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Just stayed at the Bear Inn in Street. We stayed in number 18 Blossom cottages which is a little away from the main pub. It was horrible, noisy until 5am with drunks racing up and down the high street, We were provided with earplugs!! by the pub in our room, but what is really needed is double glazing and urgently. The room was ok, very basic, very cheaply decorated and needing to be in the 21st century. The bed was cheap, mattress very hard as were the pillows and the room smelt musty. Really disappointed as it completely ruined our much needed break away. Would not go there again. Spoke to receptionist, not really interested. Would not stay in a Marstons pub again as their customer care was somewhat lacking.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank cosmoSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

The Bear Inn is in Street, not Wincanton. The room was clean ,large and comfortable and looked like it had been recently renovated. The manager was welcoming and helpful.The pub is close to Millfield School and Clarkes Village too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

** As someone else has stated this hotel is in STREET, not Wincanton!
Had a room in the Blossom Cottages, a short walking distance from the main hotel / pub. Room was lovely, set back from the main road and very spacious. We ate in the hotel both evenings and the food was lovely. Breakfast was also very good, if a little early on the the finish time (09:30 on a weekend)! Staff were helpful and friendly. Hotel is 10 mins drive from Glastonbury and 20 mins from Wells, with the Clarks Outlet Village literally over the road. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natwragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Stayed at The Bear Inn (which for some reason Trip Advisor says is in Wincanton - it's not, its in STREET - between Glastonbury and Wells, right opposite the Clarks Village outlet centre). Arrived early for the room which was being cleaned at the time, however staff were very accomodating and happy to let us check in early. Stayed in the family room (room 12), very comfortable bed and bathroom had a very hot powerful shower which is all I look for in a hotel room. Only drawback was the heating seemed to be on but there didn't seem to be anyway to turn it off - not a big problem anyway. Breakfast was included and consisted of hot selection or cereals/yoghut/toast etc all was very lovely and set up up for the day. Would certainly go back to The Bear if staying in STREET (not Wincanton) again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris3569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

First of all, can i say, i can't believe there are not more reviews on trip advisor for this great inn. It's a hidden gem!.

We booked the hotel directly through the Marston's Inns website and got a rate of 159 pounds for 3 nights Bed & Breakfast midweek for 2 adults and a 5 month old baby.

The Inn is in the somerset village of Street (which is just a couple of miles away from Glastonbury). Street is probably best known as the home of Clarks shoes. Whilst the shoes are now manufactured abroad, the offices remain, and the rest of the site has been turned into a great discount outlet centre. Great for a days shopping.

The Bear inn is located directly opposite Clarkes and has a free car park for patrons to the rear of the property.

Check in was quick and we were given a lovely spacious room in rose cottage adjoining the inn. Room 11 was nicely decorated with large Lcd Tv and also featured a full size sofa. Free wifi also in the room.

Breakfast was served every morning from 7am to 9.30am in the dining area of the bar and was excellent. On our final morning, Thursday, it was a self service buffet.

The inn is part of a pub chain so they offer great deals on pub grub and drinks throughout the day, andalso had a special deal every day, for eg Tuesday is Pie night, Wednesday is curry night, with a free pint thrown in.

Its a great place to base yourself whether you want to visit Cheddar Caves, Longleat or even Stone Henge, they are all not too far away.

The Staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome, especially in the restaurant and the housekeeping ladies!

Would visit again and again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alanwexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 0605777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sir_giuseppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearInnTeam, Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
#2 of 2 in Street
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Millbatch Farm
Millbatch Farm
#5 of 5 in Glastonbury
67 reviews
1.6 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
471 reviews
3.7 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Inn

Address: 53 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Street
Price Range: £59 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Inn Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing