We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Street B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Our order was forgotten and the food was cold when it did arrive. Service was terrible.
I was very disappointed all round, even the tables were not cleared and cleaned very well.
It would be good if they employed a manager to keep an eye on the floor and customer care.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DramaQueenSomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    102
    50
    14
    16
See reviews for
75
124
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We usually do a fleeting visit to Street and Clarks Village and never have time to see all the shops.
This time, we decided to have an overnight stay at the Bear Inn and then have a good day shopping in the 'Village' and the rest of Street High street.
The staff were very accommodating when we booked in and the room was nice and spacious. There were tea & coffee making facilities with choices of product in the room, plus a bottle of drinking water. The bath/shower room was clean and the towels were nice and big.
The bar area was big and there was a good variety of drinks to be had.
The following day, breakfast was served in the bar area and there was a good selection of hot & cold breakfasts.
The only downside to our room was the traffic noise was not blocked out by the non double glazed windows, but as we only were there for one night, it didn't matter that much.
We would consider this place to be a nice 'Stopover' when next we travel to the West Country & Cornwall

Room Tip: The room we had (no1), had traffic noise, but there were others away from the noise. Not sure if all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billy1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed here through Laterooms and it WAS a bargain for two in an en-suite room, breakfast included for £52. The cottages we were in are a little away from the main building. I was a little disapoointed about the cleanliness of the room. I had to wipe the bathroom window and surrounding space clean as there were dead flies and other detritus. I mentioned this to the staff and also the lack of menu, information etc in the room. They are missing out on opportunities to sell the restaurant food. It was fine for what we needed, a basic, clean(ish) room that was comfortable. Breakfast was fine also.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahBB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very friendly staff. Stayed in the rooms along the street from the pub. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast good. We also had an evening meal which was very good and very reasonably priced. Ideal place to stay if wanting to stop over after a hard days shop at Clarks village!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QueenRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed at the Bear Inn in Street for a girlie shopping weekend. Staff were very friendly, room was a little tired, but comfortable (no 10 blossom cottages). Food was very good and reasonably priced. Located just over the road from the Clarkes shopping village (easy to take the bags back to and go back for more!). Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south west
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Just stayed at the Bear Inn in Street. We stayed in number 18 Blossom cottages which is a little away from the main pub. It was horrible, noisy until 5am with drunks racing up and down the high street, We were provided with earplugs!! by the pub in our room, but what is really needed is double glazing and urgently. The room was ok, very basic, very cheaply decorated and needing to be in the 21st century. The bed was cheap, mattress very hard as were the pillows and the room smelt musty. Really disappointed as it completely ruined our much needed break away. Would not go there again. Spoke to receptionist, not really interested. Would not stay in a Marstons pub again as their customer care was somewhat lacking.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cosmoSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

The Bear Inn is in Street, not Wincanton. The room was clean ,large and comfortable and looked like it had been recently renovated. The manager was welcoming and helpful.The pub is close to Millfield School and Clarkes Village too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
#2 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
3.7 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Inn

Property: Bear Inn
Address: 53 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Inn Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing