We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Street B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“exellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

this was a last min getaway, £30 a night b&b so booked 2 nights, had a very plesant wellcome by staff and shown to our room which was just down the road, the room was cheep and chearfull nice and tidy, the bathroom could have done with a little more cleaning but all was very nice, in the bathroom there was a jaczy bath which was very nice to relax in..we didnt have any main meals in the pup but had breakfast which again was very nice,the only down side was that there was no vegaterian option {apart from the normal fried eggs,beans,mushrooms and tomato} when asked about veg sausages "sorry sir we dont have them" and that was that, but the breakfast was very nice, if not a bit disorganised, we had a lovely stay, i would recomend this place for anyone looking for a cheep get away or a stop over on there there way some were, we will be using this inn again....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    102
    51
    14
    16
See reviews for
76
124
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, UK.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

I had dinned at the Bear Inn before and it was late summer last year. Very busy and we where warned there could be possible delays with our food. As it turned out there wasn't, the wine was superb and many Inns/Hotels would do well to follow the example here. The food was also excellent and it was a memorable night. So much so that when I had a business appointment in the area in April 2012 we decided to mix business with pleasure booking two nights accommodation. Because it was out of season we received a discount on our accommodation and an offer of a discount on food purchased in the Inn. That aside the room was spacious clean and well appointed, A very comfortable sofa graced the room, the bath room was sizeable. The window looked out onto the old Clark's building. I like the Bear Inn it has character, something that I look for if staying for pleasure, I had the prawn cocktail starter, served on a wooden platter, plentiful and of a good quality. I do like to eat more exotic food but for the last few years I seem to have been on a nostalgia trip with regards to seventies staples. I am usually more adventures with main meals but the mixed grill was too inviting at 20 oz of meat. I wasn't to be disappointed, the meat was all of a good quality and cooked to my liking. This is standard pub fare but done to perfection. It was so good my wife just had to try it the following night. Both nights I was really tempted by the excellent sounding cheese board but unfortunately no room. As my previous visit I ordered a bottle of Arthur Metz sparkling rose from the alsace region of France. Almost a pink champagne and of a great standard. If only other Inns would abandon this obsession with Chardonnay Chenin Blanc and Sauvignon from the four corners of the Earth. The odd new world wine is good but most have no character whatsoever and obviously have to be shipped thousands of miles. With all this talk of carbon foot prints I'm surprised no one has exploited this point yet. There is a veritable ocean of outstanding wine just a matter of a few hundred miles from these shores totally untapped. The breakfast is self service and there was a little bit of a struggle to keep up with supplying all of the cooked elements at the same time but it was of a good standard and plentiful. There was also good options for those who require other than full English. This Inn is central for visiting Historic Glastonbury and many of the outstanding features in this part of Somerset. I have walked the Tor, the Abbey gardens and the Chalice well to name three. Oh, almost forget to say, just across the road is Clarks Village, the excellent shopping out let. At two minutes away you can retire to the Bear Inn with your goods and refuel at the bar before returning to the fray. I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Our order was forgotten and the food was cold when it did arrive. Service was terrible.
I was very disappointed all round, even the tables were not cleared and cleaned very well.
It would be good if they employed a manager to keep an eye on the floor and customer care.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DramaQueenSomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We usually do a fleeting visit to Street and Clarks Village and never have time to see all the shops.
This time, we decided to have an overnight stay at the Bear Inn and then have a good day shopping in the 'Village' and the rest of Street High street.
The staff were very accommodating when we booked in and the room was nice and spacious. There were tea & coffee making facilities with choices of product in the room, plus a bottle of drinking water. The bath/shower room was clean and the towels were nice and big.
The bar area was big and there was a good variety of drinks to be had.
The following day, breakfast was served in the bar area and there was a good selection of hot & cold breakfasts.
The only downside to our room was the traffic noise was not blocked out by the non double glazed windows, but as we only were there for one night, it didn't matter that much.
We would consider this place to be a nice 'Stopover' when next we travel to the West Country & Cornwall

Room Tip: The room we had (no1), had traffic noise, but there were others away from the noise. Not sure if all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billy1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed here through Laterooms and it WAS a bargain for two in an en-suite room, breakfast included for £52. The cottages we were in are a little away from the main building. I was a little disapoointed about the cleanliness of the room. I had to wipe the bathroom window and surrounding space clean as there were dead flies and other detritus. I mentioned this to the staff and also the lack of menu, information etc in the room. They are missing out on opportunities to sell the restaurant food. It was fine for what we needed, a basic, clean(ish) room that was comfortable. Breakfast was fine also.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahBB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very friendly staff. Stayed in the rooms along the street from the pub. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast good. We also had an evening meal which was very good and very reasonably priced. Ideal place to stay if wanting to stop over after a hard days shop at Clarks village!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QueenRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed at the Bear Inn in Street for a girlie shopping weekend. Staff were very friendly, room was a little tired, but comfortable (no 10 blossom cottages). Food was very good and reasonably priced. Located just over the road from the Clarkes shopping village (easy to take the bags back to and go back for more!). Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
#2 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
3.7 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Inn

Property: Bear Inn
Address: 53 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Inn Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing