We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to stay for a weekend away!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Street B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay for a weekend away!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Bear is one of the Marston's Inns group and I have always found the accommodation at such places to be comfortable and clean. The advantage of the bear was that the room that I had was sitauted in a row of cottages about 100 yards from the pub irself. That means that you do not have the disturbance of late night leavers or the drone of extractor fans from the kitchen when the chef cranks up breakfast at 5 a/m No; I had a pleasant little maisonette with a seperate bedroom and loungeand there was plenty of parking outside of the cottage in the private car park.

Breakfast was pretty standard fare but well cooked an dpleasantly served. I stayed on a Sunday night so got very good value at £49.50 through Booking.com but you can sometimes find it for even less on the Marston's website. We worth it as a venue for a stay over or a weekend away in the lovely Somerset hills and levels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastYorkshireFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    102
    50
    14
    15
See reviews for
73
123
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

A sound B&B that is in keeping with the cost of a room. Our room was a little dark and worn in places but clean and quiet. We stayed in the cottages down the road which were pleasant. Breakfast was buffet style cooked breakfast, simple and filling. Good location. Don't set you hopes too high and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Well worth the money. Good value for money.
We stayed here while we came for our completion.
Lovely to come across very humble people.
Top class will recommend to anyone out there.
Very clean and tidy. Check out most reviews they are similar. Because they all make sense, it's true

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina-Merchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Bear, stopped for the third time this year. Simple clean rooms, good shower, comfortable bed. Staff in the Pub/restaurant very efficient and helpful. Food nothing special but plenty of it and tasteful. For a one night business stay in this area its as good as you get !

Room Tip: Try one in one of the two cottage extensions they have, not as noisy as the ones in the pub itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina di Castagneto Carducci, Italy
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

One night stop over to visit nearby school....simple, very simple Inn, do not have any expectations.
Simple small rooms and bathrooms, ok for One night. They have a grill restaurant, nothing special and slow services.
Over all ok and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FabioGuarducci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stopped here for one night so as to visit Glastonbury -which is within walking distance -just! Very good value for money, stayed in Blossom Cottage which was perfect as we were intending on coming home after 11. Very clean and comfortable and very good value for money. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Full English for breakfast too, didn't have an evening meal there but it was clearly very popular and a quick glance at the menu showed good value pub grub. Will go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage if you intend on being back after 11 also gives you a small separate lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The overnight stay was very last min.Good value.Next to Clarks Village and local shops.
The room was clean,bottled water in the rooms.Not enough coffee or milk and only 2 mugs there was 3 of us in the room.Little girl had to sleep on pull out sofa,which was not great.
We booked online and the price we had was £54.00 for a family room,when we went to pay they asked us for £79,00,We had all the details on a phone,so we paid the £54.00.So i suggest you print of all your paperwork before hand.

At breakfast there was no one about to tell you what you needed to do.Dining room very untidy once i found the waitress she was very helpful and service was good.Breakfast was good however had to wait for eggs.I would agree i would not pay anymore than £54.00.I would not rate as a 4 star 2 star plus.However you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samueljoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
#2 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Inn

Property: Bear Inn
Address: 53 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Inn Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing