We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for an overnight stay”
Review of Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Street B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a great stay at the Bear Inn. The bar area has obviously been refurbished recently and looks absolutely great. The restaurant also looks fab. The rooms are fine, not plush, but they are very comfortable and very clean. The staff (in fact all staff) were great, they could not do enough to help us and were very friendly. Our room was pleasant and we could heat it to suit our taste. Parking was free which is a bonus. We ate in the restaurant and had a great meal at a very, very reasonable price. Breakfast was terrific, again the staff could not do enough to help us and were so friendly.

Room Tip: Cottages down the road on the opposite side of the road to the bar were very quiet and very roomy an...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna S, General Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Good Afternoon Margaret,

Thank you so much for your kind comments on our TripAdvisor page. I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. My team and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Bear Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

The room and facilities are of a very good standard, easy free parking.
the staff mostly young people were very helpful and attentive
the food I have to say not brilliant but having said that it is still usual pub standard for the price you know what to expect.
all in all we found it to be value for the money and would/will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna S, General Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our page
The team and I hope we will see you again soon

Kind Regards

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This pub is a convenient place to stay when visiting Street on business, there are a variety of rooms both in the main building and two separate buildings - I would go for the separate buildings to get a quieter room as some are directly above the bar. The bar area itself has been refurbished lately and looks very nice and modern, gastro pub type style. I am not sure if the rooms have been refurbished - the one I stayed in most recently still looked quite dated, although it was clean and tidy and nothing wrong with it. Probably worth asking when you book if you can stay in a refurbished room (assuming any have been). The TVs are quite small, but I didn't really use them. I found the check in / check out to be convenient, there is a hotel reception desk which seems to be manned whilst the pub is open, so arriving late at night was no problem. Ate in the restaurant one night and the food was decent for pub food, nothing special. Breakfast also fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the buildings separate from the pub, and ask if any have been refurbished.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom1o1o1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna S, General Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Good Afternoon,

Unfortunately our rooms were not refurbished along with the pub but are still in very good condition. The rooms within the cottages can be quieter and tend to be the preferred location for many of our guests.
If requested, we shall always do our very best to site you in one of these rooms upon your next visit
I am glad to hear you found the inn convenient for business purposes and very much hope to you again soon.

Thank you very much,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed one night to visit wildlife reserves on Somerset Levels. The pub is well placed for this (just minutes drive to the western access to Ham Wall RSPB); it's also opposite Clark's Village and on the high street in Street.

We stayed in an attractive room in a separate block of "cottages" next to the pub. The pub is pleasant enough with a range of reasonably priced food and a selection of well-kept real ales. (There's not much pub and restaurant choice in Street). Breakfast was somewhat minimalist and the coffee was like dish water (they did replace it with a slightly better attempt when we complained); but service was good throughout our stay.

Overall good value and worth a stay if location suits.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the "cottage" block may be a bit quieter, though noise didn't sem...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlymouthPete19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna S, Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Good Afternoon Pete,
Thanks for your kind comments, I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to seeing you soon.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor
Kind Regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The pros: great location (opposite the shopping village), plenty of car parking, spacious and comfortable room (room 11), great value for money. We didn't feel rushed during the evening meal, even when we were almost the last to leave.
The cons: TV in room didn't work (poor reception), not reported as this didn't bother us.
The evening meals were very variable - some were delicious, others not so. Breakfast was OK.
We would stay again, because of the value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna S, Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and will return for value for money.
I do apologise for the inconsistency of meals and your comments have been passed to my head chef. We have now had a change of menu and return to try it
Many thanks
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Had a lovely bank holiday weekend stay, we stayed in rose cottage which was spacious for the three of us.

The pub was good value and the staff were great.

Plentiful breakfast and couldn't fault the team.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vmam36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna S, Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

I am so pleased to hear you had a very enjoyable visit and great to hear kind words about my team.
I hope to see you again soon
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Arrived on good friday and were told we were over the road in the Blossom Cottage. They couldnt find the keys so while we waited we were given a complimentary drink for the 3 of us. The room was spacious and had a seperate bedroom. You are able to put the heating on if required as each room has a seperate boiler. The bed and the sofa bed were comfortable and the rooms and the bathroom were clean. Being next to the clarks village outlet was a bonus. We would go again as the staff were pleasant and very polite. The bar and food were good and well cooked. The cooked breakfast was plentiful with cereal and full english available

Room Tip: Blossom cottage is away from the Inn so the noise is reduced
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DudleySunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna S, Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Good Afternoon,
Thank you very much for the kind review. I really hope we see you again soon when we shall definitely have the keys ready!
Kind Regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
0.1 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
#2 of 2 in Street
349 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
980 reviews
3.7 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
134 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Inn

Address: 53 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Street
Price Range: £61 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Inn Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing