We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Street B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The lovely old inn has been refurbished in a contemporary fashion but it works very well. The staff were very friendly and particularly helpful with our special requests. The room was a good size but was located a few hundred yards away from the main building which was not ideal. Breakfast was excellent and the waitress serving us made our stay all the more pleasant due to her bright and happy manner.

Room Tip: You should ask for a room in the main building if you do not wish to stay in one of the motel type r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna S, General Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your kind comments.
We do indeed have rooms located 100 yards from the main building but also upstairs within it too.
Upon your next visit, please feel free to call us direct and we shall endeavor to book a room at your preferred location.
I am glad you like the refurbishment, we are all very proud of our 'new' pub and believes it has a much lighter and brighter feel.
Hayley, our breakfast waitress is brilliant and over the moon to get a mention!

We look forward to seeing you again,

Kindest Regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned from a 3-night stay at the Bear Inn. So impressed. Our room was very comfortable and attractive. Particularly pleased to have two bottles of water put in our room each day - a nice touch. We ate in the hotel each night and both the quality and choice of food was wonderful. All the staff are so friendly and helpful and couldn't have been more attentive. The area is great - the Clarks outlet centre is literally across the road (although hidden from view behind the original and very attractive Clarks clock tower and building) Also the shoe museum, free entry, very interesting. Of interest nearby is Glastonbury, Wookey Hole (caves plus amusement park for children) and the city of Wells.

Room Tip: Room No. 1 (which we had) overlooks the street. We found it great but some might be disturbed by ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna S, General Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent visit.
We are in a great location with plenty of things to see and do in the area, and as you say, with Clarks Village just across the road, shopping couldn't be easier!

The team and I look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a lovely two-night stay at the Bear Inn with my grandson. We stayed in near-by Blossom Cottages. The accommodation was split into a small lounge, bathroom and a bedroom. The small lounge contained a sofa-bed (which my grandson was very excited to sleep in) which meant he could go to bed and we didn't disturb him. The food in the restaurant wasn't bad but, as with most places, the children's menu was mostly pizza/burger and chips. There needs to be some all round rethinking on what children should be eating.
Beware if you book through booking.com. For some reason they take the family room booking and return the confirmation including a child but don't pass this onto the hotel so the extra bed was not made up and towels etc not supplied.
Would go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbontbtitq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna S, General Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

I am glad to hear your grandson especially enjoyed the stay! Our cottages are very popular with families because of the separate areas that some have. Our children's menu has won many awards, however, is due to change shortly.
I recommend in future booking direct through us on our website as you will always get the best available rate and 20% off all food when dining.
We hope to see you again soon,

Jo and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a great stay at the Bear Inn. The bar area has obviously been refurbished recently and looks absolutely great. The restaurant also looks fab. The rooms are fine, not plush, but they are very comfortable and very clean. The staff (in fact all staff) were great, they could not do enough to help us and were very friendly. Our room was pleasant and we could heat it to suit our taste. Parking was free which is a bonus. We ate in the restaurant and had a great meal at a very, very reasonable price. Breakfast was terrific, again the staff could not do enough to help us and were so friendly.

Room Tip: Cottages down the road on the opposite side of the road to the bar were very quiet and very roomy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna S, General Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Good Afternoon Margaret,

Thank you so much for your kind comments on our TripAdvisor page. I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. My team and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The room and facilities are of a very good standard, easy free parking.
the staff mostly young people were very helpful and attentive
the food I have to say not brilliant but having said that it is still usual pub standard for the price you know what to expect.
all in all we found it to be value for the money and would/will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna S, General Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our page
The team and I hope we will see you again soon

Kind Regards

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This pub is a convenient place to stay when visiting Street on business, there are a variety of rooms both in the main building and two separate buildings - I would go for the separate buildings to get a quieter room as some are directly above the bar. The bar area itself has been refurbished lately and looks very nice and modern, gastro pub type style. I am not sure if the rooms have been refurbished - the one I stayed in most recently still looked quite dated, although it was clean and tidy and nothing wrong with it. Probably worth asking when you book if you can stay in a refurbished room (assuming any have been). The TVs are quite small, but I didn't really use them. I found the check in / check out to be convenient, there is a hotel reception desk which seems to be manned whilst the pub is open, so arriving late at night was no problem. Ate in the restaurant one night and the food was decent for pub food, nothing special. Breakfast also fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the buildings separate from the pub, and ask if any have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom1o1o1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna S, General Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Good Afternoon,

Unfortunately our rooms were not refurbished along with the pub but are still in very good condition. The rooms within the cottages can be quieter and tend to be the preferred location for many of our guests.
If requested, we shall always do our very best to site you in one of these rooms upon your next visit
I am glad to hear you found the inn convenient for business purposes and very much hope to you again soon.

Thank you very much,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed one night to visit wildlife reserves on Somerset Levels. The pub is well placed for this (just minutes drive to the western access to Ham Wall RSPB); it's also opposite Clark's Village and on the high street in Street.

We stayed in an attractive room in a separate block of "cottages" next to the pub. The pub is pleasant enough with a range of reasonably priced food and a selection of well-kept real ales. (There's not much pub and restaurant choice in Street). Breakfast was somewhat minimalist and the coffee was like dish water (they did replace it with a slightly better attempt when we complained); but service was good throughout our stay.

Overall good value and worth a stay if location suits.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the "cottage" block may be a bit quieter, though noise didn't sem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlymouthPete19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna S, Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Good Afternoon Pete,
Thanks for your kind comments, I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to seeing you soon.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor
Kind Regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Street
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
109 reviews
3.6 mi away
Millbatch Farm
Millbatch Farm
#5 of 5 in Glastonbury
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Travelodge Yeovil Podimore
0.1 mi away
Wessex Hotel
Wessex Hotel
#2 of 2 in Street
360 reviews
1.6 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Inn

Address: 53 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Street
Price Range: £49 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Inn Street, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing