We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is life beyond Clark's Village!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Peggy's Pantry - CLOSED

Peggy's Pantry
Price range: US$1 - US$8
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Description: We are a local privately owned cafe, serving fabulous fresh food, localy sourced, offering a friendly and lively atmosphere. We sell freshly ground coffee, selection of teas, soft drinks, jacket potatoes, paninis, homemade soup, daily specials, steak sandwich and club sandwich, home made cakes, to name but a few items... GLUTEN FREE, WHEAT FREE, DAIRY AND EGG FREE OPTIONS.....
Somerset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“There is life beyond Clark's Village!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Looking for somewhere that was not one of the overpriced and invariably disappointing coffee shops in Clarks Village -was there ever a more misleading name for such soulless corporate retail estate?- I went a little way up the High Street and found this place, next to Wetherspoon's. Only had coffee and a cake but the coffee was hot and strong and served at the table by a cheerful lady. The lemon drizzle cake was excellent, and there was change from a fiver. There are newspapers too. Glad I found it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lottemose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally r, Owner at Peggy's Pantry, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thankyou for your review, much appreciated.... unfortunately we arent allowed to tout for business in the village so we are dependant on reviews and people venturing out into the high st...so glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Give it a try”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I have walked past a few times as it's on the High Street and au have lways said I wanted to try it out. There are quite a few cafés in Street so the competition is high. The decor is nothing much to talk about but I'm sure that will come with time.To be fair the colour scheme does make it stand out from the crowd. Everything is priced well.. The service was very good and the food was even better. I was impressed and will visit again soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sealfeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally r, Owner at Peggy's Pantry, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thankyou for your review, very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice local venue”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Only slipped in for a quick pot of tea, trying to avoid the boring corporate coffee houses. It's clean, simple smart decor, cheerful prompt service. Nuff said

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally r, Owner at Peggy's Pantry, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to review Peggy's Pantry, would love to see you again, maybe lunch next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Visited peggys pantry after trip advisor search, wow fresh food, great service looking forward to my weekly business trip to street so i can visit again

Helpful?
1 Thank 191261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

After reading the rave reviews I decided to try here for breakfast. Ordered bacon, eggs and toast, the bacon was great but the scrambled eggs were rubbery and the toast was warm bread smothered with awful tasting margerine. Sorry but I don't think I'll be back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally r, Owner at Peggy's Pantry, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
~I am really sorry to hear this, we only use butter and i wish you had said something at the time as i would not have charged you..... you are most welcome to come and get a try again at our cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peggy's Pantry also viewed

 
Street, Somerset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing