We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really is all relevant .........”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meliden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Lion Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Meliden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“It really is all relevant .........”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My room cost £39 and every thing that I required, including plenty of space. If it had cost £139 I would have griped about certain aspects, however as I remark in my review title 'it really is all relevant .The bathroom may be a little bit tired but at this price and the price of the food , it's difficult to see where the investment would come from and I would rather see the security of the excellent staff.......a proper fully staffed establishment here, take note, than have a new bit of Lino in the toilet.
The cooking here reflects on the honest approach of the owners and a Chef with commitment and confidence. The chef has aspirations , it is evident to see with the presentation as well as the skill in preperation and cooking.
This is somewhere that would be good to live near to because the reliable an fairly inexpensive menu would be an affordable regular treat.
Anyone holidaying in this area could do an awful lot worse than eat a The Red Lion.
I was here for a funeral sadly , at the church next door (another Guinness Vicar).
The cellar must be well kept and plenty drunk because the Guinness was as good as any where including Ireland.

Room Tip: Don't think there's much choice and maybe only two to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    25
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The food at the Red Lion this Christmas was amazing. It wasn't gourmet food and it didn't pretend to be. It was just great properly cooked food beautifully presented on our plates. It was fresh, tasted wonderful and the kitchen staff went the extra mile to make each dish look as special as it tasted. The table was beautifully set and the great feeling of Christmas cheer seemed to be alive and well in the whole pub. The service from the four different members of staff, who we directly interacted with, was excellent (even though they were pushed to the limits and our party ranged form the very young to the very elderly).

This was the second year that we booked Christmas dinner at the Red Lion, Meliden and it exceeded our expectations. Christmas day is a busy busy day and we chose the Red because we like the owners and staff and because we implicitly trusted them to deliver our large party a true Great Value For Money experience. They delivered, and then some.

We are regular contributors to this forum and believe that our reviews are well balanced and will show that we have travelled well and dined even better! We know standards of food and service. One of our party, on Christmas Day, is a senior manager for one of the country's largest hospitality businesses. We all agreed that, on a Value for Money basis, the Red Lion Meliden did an absolutely terrific job on Christmas Day.

We are therefore somewhat surprised at the seemingly scurrilous comments posted here by a previous reviewer. They are entitled to their opinions and we would certainly not sink so low as to directly criticise their review (even though they have no such qualms about making unnecessary and shameful personal attacks on the staff of the Red Lion). All we ask is that, before judging the Red Lion, you look at this reviewers profile. You will see that (at time of writing) they only write bad reviews. Have they never been anywhere nice? Their review quite clearly states that they had previously decided not to come back to the Red Lion. Would you trust your special Christmas Day to a pub that you thought was not up to scratch? Not likely! We will be requesting that Trip Advisor looks into this reviewers motives.

Happy Dining

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelidenRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

This is the second year running we have had our Christmas dinner at the restaurant and we have already booked for next year. The food is simply outstanding, all homemade and truly delicious. There aren't many traditional pubs like this left and it is a real gem!!! The atmosphere is lovely and the staff are friendly and always cheery and helpful. My family who traveled from Australia were amazed at the quality and value for money...... Try going for your Sunday's lunch, but make sure you book as they are a popular choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyckaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Such a nice surprise. This cosy pub & restaurant has been on our doorstep all the time. We were a party of four so we tried four starters, four main meals & four sweets and... everything was delicious! This is "proper grub" as James Martin would say.
Clean, friendly and efficient. What more can one ask for in a pub milieu?

Lovely!

FB

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fat-Balls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My family and I have eaten numerous times in the Red Lion restaurant , including Christmas day dinner. Every meal has been top quality. All food is freshly cooked using quality fresh ingredients. The food is presented well and portions are generous. The meals are exceptional value and the atmosphere is very warm and welcoming. The Red Lion's meals are superb offering a really wide selection - something for everyone. Highly recommended, make sure you give it a try!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stumbled upon this pub on the web and we called in to try the "Early Bird " menu. A 3 course meal for 8 quid!....WOW...how fabulous is that! Was expecting throw it at you sub-standard pub grub for that price. Couldn't have been more wrong! the food was of fine quality served with no fuss that looked good and tasted fantastic. Early bird menu goes on until 7.30pm and I can't recommend it enough.... go try it....you won't be sorry! Cheers mine hosts...keep up the good work., will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SASSAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

A real find ; expertly cooked and presented food in a lovely Olde Worlde style pub.
The food was fabulous.
Hard working staff were attentive but not overbearing and very helpful and polite when we were ordering , both for ourselves and our 6 year old son.
Would recommend every time.



n.b. might be worth trying to book in advance at weekends ; we booked in for quarter to seven on a saturday night and by half past the place was heaving , doing a roaring trade.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meliden
1.8 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
611 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
114 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
327 reviews
3.1 mi away
The New Inn Hotel
The New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhuddlan
20 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lyons Nant Hall Hotel
Lyons Nant Hall Hotel
#3 of 4 in Prestatyn
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Red Lion Inn & Restaurant
Address: 4 Ffordd Talargoch, Meliden LL19 8LA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Meliden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Meliden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is run by Licensee Mrs. Marilyn Devlin and her husband Gordon.En-suite accommodation with the facilities of a traditional Welsh pub. Our tastefully furnished rooms are ideal for business or holidays! All visitors are assured a warm welcome, whether you're taking a much needed break or travelling on business ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Inn & Restaurant Meliden, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing