We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Mt. Adatara”
Review of Mt. Adatara

Mt. Adatara
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Nihonmatsu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 25 May 2017

On May 17th 2017, we visited Mt. Adatara taking the Rope way to the Yakushidake. Round trip is 1,700 yen but we enjoyed 400 yen-discount with a voucher purchased at the hotel we stayed.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank pon2papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2016

Went today Jun 29 2016, unfortunately no time to do real hiking up to the top and made use of the ropeway costing JPY1600/pax roundtrip. The rain stopped when we reached the top but still unable to really see panoramic view because of grey rain clouds covering most of the mountain and it is still quite cold despite the summer heat down the mountain. There are many flowering plants, looked like alpine flowers to me (ウラジロヨウラク <Urajiroyouraku> and ( ハクサンシャクナゲ<Hakusanshakunage>) to name 2 that I can remember. There is also a ski lift for use during winter time. Adatara Kogen is located by Okudake Onsen in Nihonmatsu city. Nihonmatsu Station is the nearest station. Please check bus time (only Sat/Sun service) or else need to go by taxi.

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank eTaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2015

The hike is challenging but is safe and not excessive. It offers an excellent view of a volcanic crater at the top and well worth the effort.

We started from the Adatara Ski Resort near Dake Onsen. Total ascend to the top is about 800m. The first 500m is mild on a semi-paved, well shaded trail that take about just 1.5 hour. At the end of this part there is a hut/shop where you can rest and refill your bottles, or even an onsen bath. The final ascend after the hut is very exposed and on rugged trail, but is very safe because it was not close to any cliffs until it reached the peak. This final section took another 1.5 hour, so total is 3 hours and about 6-7km oneway.

Date of experience: July 2015
4  Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mt. Adatara also viewed

Nihonmatsu, Fukushima Prefecture
Nihonmatsu, Fukushima Prefecture
 
Nihonmatsu, Fukushima Prefecture
Fukushima, Fukushima Prefecture
 

Been to Mt. Adatara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing