We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel for a Short Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dormy Inn Mishima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dormy Inn Mishima
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels / Ryokan in Mishima
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for a Short Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in late March 2014 as part of a 2 week trip visiting Japan. The hotel is modern, clean and was conveniently located for us as we wanted to visit Fuji-Q Highland before moving on to Kyoto. It is a 5 min walk to Mishima JR Station which you can get a bullet train to from Tokyo Station. The hotel is situated next to the railway so depending on where your room is, you may get some noise from the trains which run late and start early (3am). On arrival we were welcomed by the friendly english-speaking staff complete with hot towel. We stayed in room 1113, a room on the 11th floor which had a good view of Mt Fuji in the distance. However this isn't as picturesque as it may sound due to the railway tracks and industrial town in the foreground. The room itself is fairly basic but has all the amenities you need. We found the bed to be comfortable, however we only had one pillow each and they were very hard. We didn't realise this until we were ready for bed so didn't go to reception to ask for another pillow but we're sure they could accommodate this request. There were complimentary pyjamas, toiletries and slippers. There was also a mini fridge (no complimentary bottles water unfortunately) but no safety deposit box / drawer. The Wi-Fi in the room was excellent - super fast (20Mbps!) and easy to connect to. The hotel also has a onsen on the 12th floor which we didn't get to use but seemed popular with other guests. It is a traditional onsen i.e. no swimwear and gender separated (we're not sure regarding their policy on tattoos). Breakfast was included in the room rate and you get a choice of Western or Japanese. As there was 2 of us, we had one of each and both were tasty; it is an all-you-can eat buffet breakfast which was a bonus. On check out at 7am (check out is later but we had a busy day ahead), we were able to leave our luggage at the reception until 5.30pm whilst we enjoyed our day at Fuji-Q Highland. Overall we would recommend this hotel for a short stay (1 or 2 nights). We paid £67 per night for a standard double including breakfast which we feel is about right for what you get.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view of Mt Fuji, request room 13 or 14 on floor 10 or 11 but be aware that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cetra14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    82
    24
    1
    2
See reviews for
43
35
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

My purpose was to have a view of Mount Fuji but not necessarily to stay overnight. I needed a spot near a Shinkansen station so I picked this hotel primarily due to it being just walking distance from the station. It did not disappoint. The hotel was clean with modern design. Breakfast was reasonably affordable however the breakfast venue is rather small so I would suggest you take it early. It's a nice touch by the hotel to even give guests an update on the situation in the breakfast area - open the TV to see an update on how busy the breakfast venue is. There are few restaurants near here so you might as well take your breakfast here. It's not very expensive compared to say Tokyo.

The hotel is a convenient location for sight seeing to Mt. Fuji area. Our plan is to go to Gotemba to bring the wife to some shopping in the Gotemba Premium Outlet plus a picture taking of the famous Mt. Fuji and this hotel is conveniently located walking distance from the Mishima train station where the JR lines pass.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gali_Valiente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, MA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The onsen, the spa on the top floor, was great. Views of Mount Fuji were also good. The hotel is very convenient to shops and restaurants in town and the train station (Shinkansen and local rail). The bus terminal is next to the train station, and in-season you can catch a bus to Station 5 on Mount Fuji.

The room was very small; this is typical for similar Japanese "business hotels".

Room Tip: Rooms on the side facing the railroad tracks also look towards Mt Fuji in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe_from_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Better than run-of-the-mill business-focused hotel. Very good Japanese-style breakfast. Room was small with a shower only (no bath - the first time I've encountered this in Japan) but there's a superb wee onsen with a great view on the top floor. There's not a lot to Mishima but this is close to the centre of town and under a kilometre from the station. It's a couple of streets away from izakaya, karaoke places, bars &c. I don't know what the staff's English level was like but they were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Very good hotel, very close to the train station. However very expensive considering that Mishima itself is hardly a big city. If you can get a good deal, or someone else was picking up the bill it was the best option I came across there. Explored the Hakone Izu area from there and it was pretty convenient for that. Oh and there looks to be a pretty nice onse on the top floor for those interested, though I did not partake myself.

Room Tip: They are a larger size than I'm used to in Japan so any would probably be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markboyle86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

I stayed two nights at the Dormi, the fourth hotel I have stayed in in Mishima and by far the best. Situated a short distance from the train station, the hotel is new and I benefitted from introductory rates. The room was relatively large (for a Japanese business hotel) and the facilities very good. Breakfast was excellent, in the downstairs restaurant where you can watch the residents of Mishima go by - including super-fast bike riders. There are three pc for guests' internet use, in a very comfortable lounge/lobby where coffee is available. Best of all is the spa on the top floor where you can watch the Shinkansen race by way below you as you enjoy an indoor and a smaller outdoor pool (there is also a spa for women, which is not always the case at a Japanese business hotel). The staff were all efficient and friendly - the manager did not hesitate to climb five floors with his flashlight to take me to my room during a Mishima-wide post-tsunami powercut. Incidentally, I experienced my first earthquake there, and although the room swayed for a couple of minutes I felt very safe. I would thoroughly recommend the Dormi, earthquake or not!.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robinhenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mishima
0.3 mi away
Toyoko Inn Fujisan Mishimaeki
0.1 mi away
Hotel Massimo Mishima
Hotel Massimo Mishima
#2 of 12 in Mishima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Select In Mishima
Hotel Select In Mishima
#7 of 12 in Mishima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Numazu
3.4 mi away
Shizutetsu Hotel Prezio
Shizutetsu Hotel Prezio
#2 of 51 in Numazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cocochee Hotel
Cocochee Hotel
#4 of 51 in Numazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Mishima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Mishima

Property: Dormy Inn Mishima
Address: 3-18-33 Omiyacho, Mishima 411-0035, Shizuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Mishima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels / Ryokan in Mishima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Mishima 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN and Hotels.com so you can book your Dormy Inn Mishima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing