We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of La Casa in Collina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montelparo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casa in Collina
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Montelparo
Reviewed 4 August 2008

A fantastic find in Le Marche. We couldn't have had a warmer welcome from Pepe and Nello. La Casa in Collina has great people, great food, great location, great infinity pool... great everything really.

If you want to relax this is the place to do it, with 360 degree views of the surrounding countryside and a warm welcome that immediately puts you at ease you can't help but forget about work/worries/whatever!

It's not only the exterior parts that are fantastic.Our room was spotless and the L'Occitane products in the bathroom even made having a shower feel like a treat!

La Casa in Collina is the perfect luxury hide-away / chic retreat, with a beautiful pool, posh products in the bathroom, elegant rooms with luxury bedding... but for me all of this would mean nothing without the fantastic hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank annagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2008

I stayed at La Casa in Collina in May and my only complaint was that I didn't stay for long enough. From the moment you drive through the gates you are in a different world and can leave all the strains and stresses of London life behind you.

This hotel sits amongst the most breathtaking scenery that has to be seen to be appreciated. I am someone who loves 'al fresco' dining and loved nothing more than eating my breakfast and lunch on the terrace admiring the views.

The owners, Kim & Peppe could not do enough to make us feel welcome, nothing is too much trouble for them. Also the latest addition to 'La Casa in Collina family' is Nello who is always in a good mood and makes the best pasta. Kim's is also a very talented chef.

My room was of a high standard, very clean and spacious and the bathroom was well designed.

I was only there for a short stay but I came away feeling very chilled out. The atmosphere is very warm and relaxing and you can come and go as you please without the hustle and bustle of your average bog standard hotel, there is no queuing or fighting for sunbeds. Of an evening you can just relax in the lounge, or visit the nearby towns where you will find true unspoilt Italy be it the restaurants or just simply the scenery..

All in all I loved it and I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jennie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

We have just returned from our second visit to La Casa in Collina and those second visit slight reservations (will it live up to the fantastic memories of your first trip!!) were quickly dispelled as we pulled up to the house to be met by La Casa in Collina's now not so secret weapon Peppe, if ever there was a man born to be the perfect host then look no further.

We were instantly made to feel at home, as we were seated on the terrace with a complimentary bottle of prosecco, looking over the stunning views complimented by the still snow capped mountains. These views are ones you could never tire of no matter how long you look.

Peppe and La Casa in Collina’s latest addition is Nello, who cooks up some fantastic fresh rustic Italian dishes, sourced daily from the abundance of local producers / farmers who obviously take great pride in their product. The strawberries in particular were out this world, the beef, chicken and pork tasted as though it could have been walking around the fields earlier that day.
Nello’s Mascarpone Risotto and Penne Arrabiata were shear delights, cooked to perfection, and his homemade Tiramisu was lush.
The locally produced wines stocked by Peppe make perfect accompaniments to Nello’s food, especially the Dezi Dezio Rosso IGT red which is a beautiful example of the Montepulciano grape

During and prior to our two trips to La Casa in Collina (so far) we have heard and read much about Kim’s culinary delights which we hope to sample on our future visits, but the food delivered to our table by Nello is our idea of what rustic Italian food should be, and we will definitely be back for more.

Out of the kitchen Peppe and Nello are like a comedy double act, that in some strange way reminded us of the Odd Couple. Nothing is too much trouble and your every need is accommodated, arranging visits, collecting items from the village, providing directions and suggestions for restaurants and places to see., etc, etc.

The whole La Casa in Collina experience, location, setting, hosts, food, wine, way of life, is one you will certainly cherish, we have enjoyed our time so much at La Casa in Collina and the surrounding area that we have bought a house there and will be spending many long weekends with Peppe and Nello while our house is built.

If you plan to visit Le Marche then there is no better place to lay your head...............

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Simon_Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

We booked La Casa after finding it via Chic Retreats website. It looked stunning on thier site and La Casa's own website. We were not to be disappointed, from the day we arrived Kim & Peppe made us feel like one of the family and showed us around the house and grounds.

The views over to the Sibilinni Mountains is stunning and changes almost hourly as the light changes. Even better was the view from the excellent infinity pool which gave the impression that you were going over the edge!

Unlike some of the other reviewers we were able to sample the delights of Kim's cooking and of course it was washed down with some excellent local wine.

Nothing was too much trouble for Kim & Peppe from breakfast to dawn they were on hand to give directions to the local villages, restaurants, Adriatic coast and of course (very important for my Wife) the factory outlet shops!

Peppe even organised a private tour of one of the excellent award winning Vine yards in the area.

If you are looking for a relaxing break in great company then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
25  Thank Woodpeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2007

I've stayed in many places from the Sahara to the Rocky Mountains, some of the accommodation I've enjoyed or, in some cases, endured has varied greatly. I could mention the Chelsea in New York with its sticky, gummy carpet, blood in the sink and turn the lights on suddenly to see cockroaches scuttling, or the Soho Grand in the same city, cool, clean and elegant. For sheer warmth and enjoyment however, modern smart with a touch of glamour I'd reccommend La Casa in Collina. Pepe the host engages with everyone, a welcome glass of Prosecco, a bowl of fresh fruit, a tray of tea or coffee round the pool, a trip to the local wine cellars all with a joke and a smile. His wife, the lovely Kim manages to stay elegant even though she spends so much time in the kitchen preparing her fabulous menus of modern food with a rustic touch.

After my first visit a year ago I was dreading that it wouldn't be as good, I shouldn't have worried, it surpassed itself, it was better than ever. I must mention Antoinette, she is a relation of Pepes I gathered, maybe his sister, she cooks if Kim has a day off, maybe it lacks a little of Kim's finesse but it is genuine Italian Peasanty food and and is a great and good experience.

I guess it will be a regular destination of mine, I was lucky with the weather and had a lot of pool time, I even hoped for the weather to be not so good as an excuse for exploring the villages roundabout which as yet are underpopulated and unspoilt in the nicest way.

Stayed: September 2007
26  Thank Eddie.Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

We stayed at La Casa for 7 nights in Sept after reading the wonderful reviews on tripadvisor and finding the hotel on chicretreats.com.

After all the excellent comments from previous guests we were expecting a stay that was out of this world and it has to be said it was very good, the hospitality extended by Peppe was probably what made our stay so enjoyable, it didn't feel like you stayed at a hotel but were staying in his home where he opened his doors to everyone. Peppe's humour, dedication to serving his guests and spending time talking to everyone, the personal touch in hand-writing directions to places of interest, making dinner reservations and staying up until the wee hours (when he was exhausted!) to watch the football with us made it feel as though we were staying with friends, not hotel owners.

However we felt some of the smaller touches that would have made it extra special were missed due to Kim's absence. Peppe said she is away in the UK quite often so if, like me, you were looking forward to Kim's cooking then I would check before you book that she will be there. Peppe's sister cooked the week we stayed and although her cooking was very good I was rather disappointed not to have experienced Kim's as that was one of the main things that sold the hotel to me when reading the website. We also felt that had she have been there things like the beds would have been turned down etc. Dan is no longer at La Casa either so Peppe is a busy guy at the moment! I was also a little disappointed that the towels on the sun loungers were folded back up at the end of the day and put back out again the next day - my towel was still damp and had sun lotion on!

That said, the setting is unbelievable - the view of the Sibilinni Mountains is awesome, it's so peaceful and quiet at the top of the hill. Plus if you want to take a trip out then the drive to Ascoli Piceno is a great day out, it's difficult to keep your eyes on the road for the beautiful views! The hotel itself has been built to the highest standard, so much care and attention has gone into the art, the furniture, the huge selection of DVDs and books and access to the internet at any time even though it's the owners own Mac you are using.

The view from the room looked on to the chapel building next door where Peppe and his family lived on the ground floor so we could hear them a lot of the time. His nephew and uncle/brother was in the house most of the time and it felt a little odd sometimes going into the reception room for a drink while they were watching the TV.

The beautiful wet room in the room looked out on the stunning rolling hills at the back of the hotel and the products in the room were lovely as was the bed which unusually had a fabulous duvet and pillows - we even received a pillow menu with our welcome pack in the post when we booked!

So all in all we had a fantastic week, the weather was great, we ate and drank well and have come back feeling relaxed and refreshed and would highly recommend La Casa to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
26  Thank BaliDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2007

When we arrived we saw the 'house' and the views – it took our breath away. The views over the Sibillini mountains and the rolling countryside are amazing. The house has a wonderful 360 deg panorama. Peppe (owner) was on hand to greet us. Kim (his wife) was back in the UK during our visit and Peppe’s sister was cooking up some very good food in the kitchen. Peppe is the perfect host and a really generous and warm guy. Nothing is too much trouble. When we visited one of us needed some antibiotics. Peppe went up to the village, did the translating and returned with said medicine. Now tell me another hotel in the world where you’d get that level of service or help. A real gentleman who is on hand to make your stay absolutely perfect.

The house has 7 rooms. Three deluxe rooms, three standard rooms and an out-house / suite separate from the main building. The room we had was spacious, very comfortable and light. The rooms are done in a contemporary style with tiled floors and dark / wenge type furniture. The beds are really comfortable with goose feather duvets. Each room has its own DVD player and there is an extensive library of DVDs downstairs. The common spaces in the hotel are light and airy with large sofas for lounging and a plasma TV in one room.

The hotel has a very intimate feel. This is not like staying in a hotel, more like staying at Peppe’s house. The hotel does lunch and evening meals. The evening meals were absolutely delicious and washed down with some local wine. Alternatively you can drive 10-15 minutes to numerous restaurants where you will find extremely good quality food at low prices (20-40 Euros for a three course meal for two people including wine!).

All in all a wonderful stay, only let down by some very variable weather. We really loved the hotel and the overall experience. Well done Casa In Collina and we hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
28  Thank Stena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Casa in Collina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa in Collina

Address: 31/31 Contrada Santa Maria, 63020 Montelparo, Italy
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Fermo > Montelparo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Montelparo
Price Range: £159 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marche has been waiting with baited breath for this amazing new hip hotel. Every luxury you can imagine has been thought of, iPods, luxury 400 thread count sheets, full size products, all the latest technology including air conditioning. A fully equipped gym and 40ft infinity set the scene. All this is set in the most idyllic setting you can imagine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casa In Collina Montelparo, Italy - Marche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing