We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant”

Silver Orange Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

It's at about an hour from the center of Pretoria, very close to the lake.
Very kind staff looks after you to make you feel comfortable and to explain all you ask about the dishes.
Prices are a little higher than the average, but I was happy to pay a little more, because of the very high quality of the dinner. I think it was the best dinner I've ever had in the two weeks I was in Pretoria.
Three entries (crocodile carpaccio, warthog carpaccio and fried Greek cheese), two main dishes (springbok), two desserts and a bottle of local wine for 1800 rands (about 125 euros).

Helpful?
Thank Zanco80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    79
    19
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue and fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We went to this restaurant after seeing it was number one on trip advisor for the area. We were not disappointed. It is a lovely venue and the service was friendly and efficient, despite the restaurant being quite busy. I had the duck and fig samoosa started, which was delicious, and we both had the fillet steak with gorgonzola. This was probably the best steak I have ever tasted. We couldn't manage dessert but are determined to go back and try other items on the menu. Worth a trip to Hartbeespoort from Joburg especially if you live that side of town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ebrill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

One of the places to get to from Pretoria for some excellent dining, great wines, very nice delicate food, just to recommend , it is worth the drive!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pueppithecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Without the slightest doubt one of the best meals I've had anywhere, ever.
Excellent and welcoming service, and food that was simply splendid. There was a lot to choose from on the menu, and ended up plumping for something a bit different - crocodile and warthog carpaccio. It was beautifully presented and exquisitely tasty. Judging by the satisfied faces of my colleagues it would have been largely irrelevant what I'd chosen such was the quality. Main course was from the specials - Springbok - and again possibly the best cooked meat I've ever had, then topped off with a pinotage and berry sorbet.
Simply cannot fault the evening.
Brilliant

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoCarpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terwolde, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The owners and our hosts at the ostrich manor recomended this excellent restaurant.
We had a superb lunch, top quality food and wines. It is a must to visit if you are in the hartebeespoort area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 6759havic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Orange Bistro also viewed

Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
 
Schoemansville, Hartbeespoort
Schoemansville, Hartbeespoort
 
Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
 

Been to Silver Orange Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing