We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ignore us.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Midyat
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel for 1 night, on Saturday, 21th September 2013. I made check-in at 14:30, and they gave to us a room on the ground level, next to the yard. At 18:00 the same afternoon, the musicians arrived and at 20:00 the "party" began. Local tradiotional music in incredible level of noise JUST ABOVE OUR ROOM. At 23:30 I CALLED THE RECEPTION AND I ASKED UNTIL WHAT TIME OUR TORTURE WILL LAST. The answer was, I do not know. I forced to go to the reception and to ask to change our room or to change the hotel. The first answer was there is no available room, but after my persistence, like magic, they found available room in the next building. And, I am wondering: why they did not give to us this room, from the first moment. They knew, that, we were foreigners and travelers. We had need of rest and sleep and instead we had a terrible noise above our heads for 3-4 hours. We had already paid 93 euro FOR A HOTEL ROOM AND NOT FOR A NIGHTCLUB. The answer of the hotel manager at my complain, was, that, it is about a special group of clients. What about us? We were not clients? They must not respect us? Just ignore us........

Room Tip: Just avoid this hotel!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ELENIL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel is, despite an unpronounceble name, is a haven of luxury and good taste in eastern Anatolia. I stayed in Mardin and in Midyat and I warmly recommend to stay in that hotel instead of trying an other amateurish pseudo-4 or 5 stars hotel in Mardin.
Devil is in the details... Being a smoker myself, I went in the central courtyard for a smoke three times in a day in the exact same place, and the three times I found an empty clean ashtray on the table. I know that might be weird to start a comment on such matters but it tells a lot on how this hotel is running... it is exceptionnal in Turkey! This hotel never stoll its 4 stars and with a bit of refurbishment in the room, it will be one of the best boutique hotels in the country.
Trust me, go there! Enjoy the arabic bed on the rooftop on sunset, enjoy a defenetly fine breakfast in the courtyard, see the beauty of the sunny-shinning stone of the building.
Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel is the place to stay! Forget Mardin and please, make me a favour by stopping by that place, french man word, you won't regret it... at all :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank French G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Kasr-i Nehroz is an exquisite boutique hotel nested in the heart of Midyat. The renovation of this beautiful house is a marvelous success, both refined and not over the top. Kasr-i Nehroz is a wonderful base to explore the old town of Midyat as well as the neighbouring Syrian Christian churches. Service is professional and efficient, whilst prompt and discrete. Furthermore, the price was very reasonable in perspective of the quality of this property.

The bathroom in our room was a bit small. It would have been appreciated if the restaurant waitress spoke a bit more English, but she managed very well despite this.

Definetely add Midyat and Kasr-i Nehroz to your travel plans!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My husband and had a 12 day eastern Turkey trip in June. The most surprising delight was our hotel in Midyat. Kasr-i Nehroz was so lovely and definitely the best Hotel we stayed in eastern Turkey. It is very modern and stylishly decorated. Our room was big and comfortable with an excellent shower. The chef made us a fabulous traditional local meal- slow cooked lamb shanks on a bed of silky eggplant served with a delicious sauce. We ate every scrape including the French fries! This was our best meal inTurkey on this trip. Breakfast was excellent as well. This place is an oasis in the eastern anatorian desert!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Hard to know where to start. Beautifully restored old home in amongst the historic quarter of Midyat. The renovation is sympathetic to the building's past but all modern amenities are present. Rooms were tastefully decorated and well laid out. Furniture and bedding was good quality and in good condition. Breakfast was basic Turkish fare but dinner menu was varied and excellent. Service standards were high. Parking available. Good location for exploring area and much quieter than nearby Mardin. This is a luxury hotel but your money is well spent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 8canfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We took at least 100 photos of the hotel and room before we even unpacked. A refurbished old midyat style limestone compound with every architectural and furnishing detail impeccably wrought, down to the hand embroidered suzani pillows in the divanhane. The staff were so warm, friendly, helpful and professional we were overwhelmed by the service. And the food! Even the clotted cream at breakfast was superb. The hotel is set in the middle of the old town with a number of old churches around it and a short drive to the incredible Mor Gabriel monastery. We have already planned our next vacation here a few months from now.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollyanna-Ist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This review may not conform to tripadvisor guidelines, but I feel compelled to write it anyway. I HAVEN'T STAYED AT THIS HOTEL, THE MANAGER MERELY SHOWED IT TO ME. We met the manager when visiting Mor Gabriel monastery (which is a highlight of any trip to Turkey). The hotel is a century old mansion in the beautiful (and clean) old town of Midyat. The owners came to money in Antalya and took pride in restoring their family mansion with impeccable taste and with no expense spared. The result is simply amazing. Everything you look at and everything you touch is both beautiful and of very good quality. Contemporary comfortable bathrooms. The views from the terrace are superb. Don't miss the Mithras temple in the basement and the excellent and interesting local wine. Excellent English and German spoken.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank RainerMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Midyat hotels
0.1 mi away
Shmayaa Hotel
Shmayaa Hotel
#1 of 6 in Midyat
95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Akitu Hotel
Akitu Hotel
#3 of 6 in Midyat
35 reviews
4.2 mi away
Matiat Hotel
Matiat Hotel
#4 of 6 in Midyat
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Turabdin Hotel
Turabdin Hotel
#6 of 6 in Midyat
9 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Demirdag
Hotel Demirdag
#4 of 6 in Midyat
6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Midyat Gap Hotel
Midyat Gap Hotel
#2 of 6 in Midyat
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel

Address: Isiklar Mah. 219. Sok. No:14 Midyat Merkez, Midyat 47500, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Mardin Province > Midyat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Midyat
Price Range: £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
General information: This summer place, in Midyat, was used by one of the first Muslim families as their home for 260 years and where Assyrians lived for centuries. The summer place, with its two bastions in the style of a church, was built 1200 years ago and was used as an Assyrian church for many years. In 1750, the Assyrians invited the Nehroz to Midyat to avoid attacks from the local tribes. Eventually the neighbourhood and house took on that name. After the Nehroz summer place had been used as their home by the Nehroz (Yenigün) family throughout centuries, it was renovated in 2009 in a regional architectural style to become the Kasr-ı Nehroz Boutique Hotel and opened its doors to new guests. Many original goods and accessories used by the family are now displayed in the rooms where the women of the Yenigün family made butter in churns years ago. The small children of the time, who now have grandchildren of their own, played in the yard. In the process of converting the summer place into Kasr-i Nehroz, special attention was paid to maintaining the warm ambiance and homely feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Atrapalo, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing