We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent luxury hotel in a beautiful little village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Midyat
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Magnificent luxury hotel in a beautiful little village”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

What a gem! Beautiful hotel built in an ancient tower/manor from the 6th century. The rooms are very modern yet very tastefully decorated with period items. Very clean and very quiet as it is in the old part of the town. The breakfast was amazing and plentiful. Highly recommended. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passionfortravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    7
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
9
31
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night in October, 2013 and resented every minute. The room was not up to par with a crack in the door that allowed cigarette smoke from outside to leak into the room, aside from noise in the hallways and the lobby. The food in the restaurant was O.K., though nothing fancy. The breakfast is a buffet and reasonable. I do not recommend this hotel if you think you might need a good night's sleep after a long day of sightseeing.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PHIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here in September during a business trip. It's a stone building completely rennovated with very nice rooms and a great view of the city from its terrace. The food was ok, wines are great. Most of the staff is very helpful, as well as the manager.

It's not cheap, but it's worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel for 1 night, on Saturday, 21th September 2013. I made check-in at 14:30, and they gave to us a room on the ground level, next to the yard. At 18:00 the same afternoon, the musicians arrived and at 20:00 the "party" began. Local tradiotional music in incredible level of noise JUST ABOVE OUR ROOM. At 23:30 I CALLED THE RECEPTION AND I ASKED UNTIL WHAT TIME OUR TORTURE WILL LAST. The answer was, I do not know. I forced to go to the reception and to ask to change our room or to change the hotel. The first answer was there is no available room, but after my persistence, like magic, they found available room in the next building. And, I am wondering: why they did not give to us this room, from the first moment. They knew, that, we were foreigners and travelers. We had need of rest and sleep and instead we had a terrible noise above our heads for 3-4 hours. We had already paid 93 euro FOR A HOTEL ROOM AND NOT FOR A NIGHTCLUB. The answer of the hotel manager at my complain, was, that, it is about a special group of clients. What about us? We were not clients? They must not respect us? Just ignore us........

Room Tip: Just avoid this hotel!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELENIL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel is, despite an unpronounceble name, is a haven of luxury and good taste in eastern Anatolia. I stayed in Mardin and in Midyat and I warmly recommend to stay in that hotel instead of trying an other amateurish pseudo-4 or 5 stars hotel in Mardin.
Devil is in the details... Being a smoker myself, I went in the central courtyard for a smoke three times in a day in the exact same place, and the three times I found an empty clean ashtray on the table. I know that might be weird to start a comment on such matters but it tells a lot on how this hotel is running... it is exceptionnal in Turkey! This hotel never stoll its 4 stars and with a bit of refurbishment in the room, it will be one of the best boutique hotels in the country.
Trust me, go there! Enjoy the arabic bed on the rooftop on sunset, enjoy a defenetly fine breakfast in the courtyard, see the beauty of the sunny-shinning stone of the building.
Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel is the place to stay! Forget Mardin and please, make me a favour by stopping by that place, french man word, you won't regret it... at all :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank French G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Kasr-i Nehroz is an exquisite boutique hotel nested in the heart of Midyat. The renovation of this beautiful house is a marvelous success, both refined and not over the top. Kasr-i Nehroz is a wonderful base to explore the old town of Midyat as well as the neighbouring Syrian Christian churches. Service is professional and efficient, whilst prompt and discrete. Furthermore, the price was very reasonable in perspective of the quality of this property.

The bathroom in our room was a bit small. It would have been appreciated if the restaurant waitress spoke a bit more English, but she managed very well despite this.

Definetely add Midyat and Kasr-i Nehroz to your travel plans!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My husband and had a 12 day eastern Turkey trip in June. The most surprising delight was our hotel in Midyat. Kasr-i Nehroz was so lovely and definitely the best Hotel we stayed in eastern Turkey. It is very modern and stylishly decorated. Our room was big and comfortable with an excellent shower. The chef made us a fabulous traditional local meal- slow cooked lamb shanks on a bed of silky eggplant served with a delicious sauce. We ate every scrape including the French fries! This was our best meal inTurkey on this trip. Breakfast was excellent as well. This place is an oasis in the eastern anatorian desert!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Midyat hotels
0.8 mi away
Akitu Hotel
Akitu Hotel
#3 of 6 in Midyat
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shmayaa Hotel
Shmayaa Hotel
#1 of 6 in Midyat
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turabdin Hotel
Turabdin Hotel
#6 of 6 in Midyat
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Midyat Gap Hotel
Midyat Gap Hotel
#1 of 6 in Midyat
10 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Demirdag
Hotel Demirdag
#3 of 6 in Midyat
6 reviews
4.2 mi away
Matiat Hotel
Matiat Hotel
#4 of 6 in Midyat
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel

Property: Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel
Address: Isiklar Mah. 219. Sok. No:14 Midyat Merkez, Midyat 47500, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Mardin Province > Midyat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Midyat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
General information: This summer place, in Midyat, was used by one of the first Muslim families as their home for 260 years and where Assyrians lived for centuries. The summer place, with its two bastions in the style of a church, was built 1200 years ago and was used as an Assyrian church for many years. In 1750, the Assyrians invited the Nehroz to Midyat to avoid attacks from the local tribes. Eventually the neighbourhood and house took on that name. After the Nehroz summer place had been used as their home by the Nehroz (Yenigün) family throughout centuries, it was renovated in 2009 in a regional architectural style to become the Kasr-ı Nehroz Boutique Hotel and opened its doors to new guests. Many original goods and accessories used by the family are now displayed in the rooms where the women of the Yenigün family made butter in churns years ago. The small children of the time, who now have grandchildren of their own, played in the yard. In the process of converting the summer place into Kasr-i Nehroz, special attention was paid to maintaining the warm ambiance and homely feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing