We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flamingo Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lujo Hotel(Bodrum City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
52
26
19
10
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
26
19
10
28
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Arrived at 11pm on Friday 13th (bad omen) having had a nice suprise about the taxi fare from the airport (only 60 lira). A bit worried at first as the security on site didn't know about us and didn't speak English at all. However they were very helpfull and directed us to the Turquise reception next door where we found our keys and were given a lift to our Villa on The Flamingo site. On arrival our villa hadn't been cleaned (although it wasnt dirty, just a few bits in sinks etc) and the pool was green, this coupled with there being no loo roll was a very worrying start. However we reported the pool to the reception and suprisingly within 15 mins we had a maintenance man was there cleaning it (at 1:00 am in the morning) we also found a small market just outside the gates run by Ticken where we bought water and loo roll etc). So far we were far from impressed, however as the sun rose on the first day and we got a full look at the complex with its magnificent views over Tuzla Lake we changed our minds. We found the staff on all sites (Flamingo, Turquise and Royal Heights) to be freindly beyond belief and helpfull as much as was humanly possible. This freindliness extended throughought the Bodrum Peninsular, We didnt find one person who didnt go out of their way to be as nice as possible. I have just read the report for the Flamingo which gives it a poor report, the managment team has just changed to Smile for most of the accomodation and the 'Techie' they refer to is not a person but technical services. Smile did have failings but all I can say is that they did their absolute best to rectify any problems and were also very approachable at all times, even fetching a towel I had left at the Aquapark in Gumbet (40km away) as I didnt have a car. The turkish food is served warm (not hot). however in the 5 times we ate out in the fortnight we didnt have a bad meal, we always asked for our food to be hot when we ordered and it always was. We ate at the Turquoise, Flamingo, Royal Heights, Sunset and in Gulluck and would recommend any, the sunset was my least favorite but still very nice. Gulluck was a bit of a let down in the tourist stakes as it is still a fishing town and predominantly residential, that said the people were very freindly and the food was great. We had a 4 bed villa with its own pool and our party consisted of 2 teens, 2 early twenties, 2 forties and 1 sixties (mum in law), The place was plenty big enough with loads of air con and the pool was superb. We ate at home most nights using the barbie and drinking the local beer (Efes) at a quid a bottle (500ml).
Things to note are:-
You need a car if staying here as its a bit in the sticks. (Smile can arrange it cheaply)
It is very hilly (and I mean so steep you can barely walk down let alone up so bear this in mind)
Change your money locally as the exchange rate is better.
It is very quiet so dont expect much nightlife, shops etc as there are none unless you go to Bodrum/Gumbet or Gulluck.
The airport is very expensive so dont buy food/drink there on your way home

That said we have had the nicest, most relaxing holiday we have ever had on a complex which will be superb when they get past a few teething issues. The games, golf, mini golf etc were all working, the clinic was closed but I saw it open in the last few days. The management has just been taken over by Hassan who has worked on the site for 4 years as an employee, he believes in the site and I think he will make the place run better, he has scrapped the standard turkish night themes night and is setting up differant things for customers.

We would recommend the Flamingo, Turquoise or Royal Heights to anyone and would be happy to answer any questions if contacted

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank r-s1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Just got back from Flamingo Country Club in Tuzla,Turkey. Upon arrival at the security gate at 2.00am we were greeted by two security guards, who couldn't speak English, and didn't know which villa we'd been allocated. After much ringing around "Techy"an ex employee arrived to save the day. Techy we later learned was an ex employee of the recently replaced site management company "smile". The next morning whilst visiting the management suite, we were told that the current on site management company "Villa tourizm" couldn't and wouldn't help with any problems with our villa. Sat on the top of the hillside the views I must say are spectacular, especially the sun sets. During out stay, we went down in to Bodrum on the local Dolmus which cost us £20.00 return, with onward transport to neighbouring villages/towns a further £10.00 return. Gumbet I must say is the best village/town for getting those all important bargains, and even the bartering was fun. The Flamingo site, pools and poolside bar was quite with not more than 7-10 family's around at any one time, which was relaxing. If we wanted a little more noise, we simply went next door to the turquoise site, which had a better pool and restaurant. One evening we tried to eat at the "Royal Heights" restaurant, but as with the Flamingo's restaurant the food was cold and we had to sen 3 of the four meals back to be re-heated. On a plus, the "Royal Heights" Infinity pool was brill, and had unsurpassed views out to see.

We found the quality of the food in general to be very poor, myself only ordering meals that came on a hot plates with burners. Myself, my wife and eldest daughter came down with the runs for 3 days at the start of the second week of our holiday, which was inevitable based on the quality of the food. Much of what sold the flamingo site to us, the indoor pool, Turkish bath, sauna and Doctors Clinic and outdoor sandwich bar was closed for much of our stay, a decision which the current management company had taken to reduce its overheads, and one which the owners of the villa's were constantly trying to take them to task over.

On a couple of evening's we walked down to the local village restaurant "Sunset", were the food was a little better. The Flamingo Country has potential, but was lacking in so many ways, so much so that some of the bar staff who we made friends with left, and a new Bar manger only lasted 1 day. Our friends have been asking if we would go back?, to Turkey, yes, but to the Flamingo Country Club, no thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sunsurfer024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We've just come back from a week at Flamingo. Although it's way off the highway, it's convenient enough to explore if you have transport. There are regular buses Taxi's to Bodrum centre and a collection of local shops outside the complex to buy breakfast essential as these apartments are self catering. We stayed in the top part of Flamingo where we had a fantastic view of the Agean Sea and the islands plus our balcony overlooked the pool - what more could we want? However when we arrived at around 2am with 3 tired kids in tow, going self catering at that time of night in an unknown place had its problems. We had no food and more importantly water (bottled water has to be drunk in Turkey). My husband went walking through the vast dark complex in the middle of the night, hoping to find something open (he couldn't take his diabetes medication without water and if we had been told by the agents we would have made sure we brought some with us!). However he turned back and had to call the emergency helpline at the Management office where an English lady called Karen very kindly sent someone over with a large bottle of water. The staff at the security office who brought us to the apartment however did not have a good command of English when asked how to use the air conditioning (it was like an oven in the apartment).The Management should ensure that the staff show you how to operate everything, that you have water (especially at that time of night with kids too) and tell you where the local amenities are and opening times etc. In the morning, we were woken up at 9am, having slept at 5am, by loud banging, workmen working on our building, in the apartment next to us. We ventured to walk to the 'restaurant' for some breakfast but was told there was no food there, so we ended up hiring a car and hitting the road, eventually having 'brunch' at 4pm at a wonderful place called 'Sunset cafe' outside the complex, which we went to several times, even for takeaways. We complained to the Management office regarding the buliding work (there were even cement bags left outside of the bulding - not a welcoming sight having gone halfway across the word for a nice break) who agreed to move us to another apartment. We were moved right to the other end of the complex, no sea view and much smaller downgraded apartment overlooking the golf course.

Nevertheless, from then on we started to appreciate the peace and tranqulity that Flamingo had to offer. It was so sparsely populated, we were the only ones in the bulding and practically had the pool to ourselves, which was a bonus as it was about 38 degrees, the kids were in the pool twice a day!

If you are looking for a nice quiet place to stay with a family, away from the heavy tourist traffic and don't mind the expense of hiring a car, then the tranquility of Flamingo is worth investigating. Hiring a car was the best thing we could have done as we got to go to so many places, easily acessed from the same higway, leading to lots of little fabulous places. which were like hidden treasures. Try Guvercinlik, a lovely little stop for lunch or dinner next to the sea, the nearest to Flamingo, About 10 miles towards the Airport direction towards Milas, the little vilage of Gulluk and the Berkhan Restaurant that does a fantastic fried shrimp and whole Sea Bass to die for. Beyond the known places like Bodrum (a boat trip from the Marina is a must - you've never jumped off into such clear turqoise blue waters) and Gumbet beach, drive through Ortakent to get to the Camel rides at Kargi Bay and then beautiful Gumusluk and try the local market in Turgutreis on a Saturday.

Regardless of the bad start and having to move all our posessions and the 5 of us staying in a smaller apartment, we had an absolutely fabulous time. The pools were fantastic, Karen's quick response was always appreciated, I 'm just sorry didn't get to have my turkish bath as apparently it was out of order!

We enjoyed it so much, we're thinking of buying an apartment there! Bodrum is mistakenly well known for its Nightlife, however it was a wonderful family holiday with plenty for everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zeena25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Flamingo Country Club is part of three complexes and although you can use the facilities on all three, the facilities on Flamingo are probably the best - they are less busy and generally the site feels more spacious. There are lots of pools on the complex and although the main pool could be a bit bigger (it is quite small considering it is at the Club House) you can always find a pool for yourself. I personally didn't like Turquoise - the sister site with the slides into the pool - it was too busy!

The views from Royal Heights - one of the sister sites are fantastic - although the resort itself, building wise feels a little cramped (when compared to Flamingo). There's also an infinity pool here - wallowing in the infinity pool and looking out across the view of the sea is amazing.

There is a beach at the Royal Heights complex and a jetty (with a bar) that you can swim off. Unfortunately the cable car down to the beach isn't working (or at least wasn't working when we were there in July). It is about a 7 or 8 minute walk down hill to the beach, but the walk back up the hill is steep and certainly tests the leg muscles. If you are with children, I'd advise waiting for the shuttle bus - it runs every half an hour.

It's also near to Bodrum for boat trips and you can take day trips to Ephesus - we were too lazy and spent most of the time reading books near the pool!

Definitely recommend this location, particularly for families.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renaissance28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We have just arrived back from staying in Lantana 29, one of the many apartments in Flamingo. This was a 2 bed 2 bath apartment, clean and fresh, modern and well equipped. Only a few steps outside the patio doors, there was a deep pool and a shallow pool. My kids loved this and played continually, they are 9y and 7y. ( There are about 25 pools around the complex and one at the bar, so never overcrowded or noisy. Each apartment is owned privately by homeowners. mostly from the UK. Our apartment was at the top of the complex, so we had views of the Tuzla lake on one side and views of the sea on the other. Its so beautiful there, and the sea breeze is brilliant. There is tennis, basketball, golf, table tennis, pool and footsie at the clubhouse, and next year, water slides will be up and running. The staff are very friendly, very welcoming and bend over backwards to meet your needs. There is a restaurant and bar food in the complex and there are other restaurants closeby. The complex is gated by security, who monitor the complex throughout the day. Flamingo Country club sits in the same vacinity as 2 other complexes, which we had access to, so we used the waterslides and infinity pool in these complexes a few days. A courtesy shuttle bus drives you round these complexes all day, every 30 mins. The complex is not commercialised and is about 30mins away from Bodrum by Dolmus ( these are mini-buses) and its only 5TL, about £2.50 to get to Bodrum. Bodrum is really busy, with beautiful marina, loads of restaurants and good for shopping. The shuttle to Bodrum leaves every hour and returns right up to 4am!!! So if out booging and partying, can get home safely. Wouldnt recommend shopping during the day, as the heat is so intense, no good for the kids. However, we did go to the Aquapark, fantastic, for all age groups, super slides and pools. Kids loved it all. Cant wait to go back, planning same time next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JudeTNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews