We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa das Carters

Apartment view from seated well area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment view from seated well area
Looking from the garden across the pool and terrace Pool and one of the outside eating areas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Apartment view from seated well area
Looking from the garden across the pool and terrace
Pool and one of the outside eating areas
Pool view
Pool and seated well area
Seated working well area
Sun terrace with another eating area and gas bbq
Outside dining bbq area
Covered eating area which looks out over the pool
Covered eating area looking towards garden
View from garden to covered terrace
Side view of villa from garden
Garden with hills in the background
Tranquil seating in the garden with hill views
Interior
Interior with doors leading to front terrace
Interior with doors leading to pool and terrace
Kitchen area
Bathroom
Garden walkway
Entrance to villa
Parking area to side of villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Querenca, Loule, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kat L
1 review
“Amazing Holiday”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our holiday at Casa das Carters was by far the best and most relaxing holiday we have ever been on. The studio apartment is fantastic with everything you need and the outside area is even better with sole use of the pool, terrace and garden. The village of Querenca is absolutely stunning with two restaurants and Rosa's bar (who is a fantastic woman who can't do enough to make you welcome!) If you are looking to go further afield then it is essential to rent a car as the town of Loule is about a 20 minute drive and a lovely place to visit. What can we say about the owners Anne and Bob? They are just the perfect hosts. Even before we arrived Anne had sent us driving instructions to the apartment which were very easy to follow and once we arrived we were greated by them both who showed us around. They had even provided a welcome pack of bread, wine and cheese which was very much appreciated as we were really hungry after a long flight!! They leave you alone to relax but are also on hand if you need them which is very comforting. They even gave us a lift into Loule as we didn't hire a car and gave up walking after about 20 minutes of realising we weren't getting anywhere!! We are already looking at booking to come back as we enjoyed it so much and just want to say a huge thank you to Anne and Bob for making us feel so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H
1 review
“fantastic relaxing gem”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Not long since we got home miss it already.Ideal place to unwind and relax.We did not have a car but we found not needed as there was 2 resturants and a café . The whole property was great the pool fantastic.We will be going back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne C
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“PERFECT - unwind & relax Portuguese style.”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A hidden gem in the idyllic, traditionally Portuguese village of Querenca. Set in the mountains this holiday rental just keeps on giving. A large studio apartment with sleeping area, living area, TV, wi-fi, kitchenette and large bathroom inside - outside is spectacular, private shaded terrace, balcony, well kept gardens, BBQ area, wishing well with built up seating, 2 areas complete with.seating for an Al Fresco adult break. A large pool exclusively for the use of holiday guests is without a doubt, the crowning glory of this beautiful, purpose built studio apartment. The owners Anne & Bob (who live below), have captured all things Portuguese and added an English flavour - delivering the perfect mix of old and new. They are more than willing to share their wealth of knowledge of the area and further afield without even a hint of intrusion. There is local public transport into the local town of Loule where there is an abundance of boutiques, supermarkets, restaurants and bars. Within walking distance there are a couple of family run Portuguese restaurants, a cafe and bar - perfect to experience the traditional cuisine and the relaxed way of life.
Car hire adds a whole new dimension as less than 30 mins away you can find the trendy Marina and beach resort of Vilamoura, the designer village of Quinta Shopping in Vale Do Lobo, the old and new towns of Albufeira - there really is something for everyone.
I will be returning here for many years to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Exclusive use of rooftop terrace including pool, BBQ & all other outdoor amenities
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison L
Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Time to unwind and turn back time”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Me and my friend come back year after year to stay at this beautiful well kept peaceful property, it's set in an idillic location up in the hills of qeurenca 5 minuets drive from the stunning yet busy little town of loule, the large apartment sleeps 2 and has a living area, a small kitchen and large bathroom with a balcony one side and a terrace with a patio and exclusive use of the pool the other, the property hosts a seated wishing well area, grape vines, BBQ all situated in beautiful gardens, you are left undisturbed by the family living in the house below but armed with lots of knowledge of the area and places to go if required. The apartment is fully air conditioned and a hire car would be an essential.
All in all if your looking for some chilled out down time and peace and quiet with local culture on the door step this is definitely the place to come.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieT28
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing luxury break”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Owners sent in advance excellent instructions to find their Village. Owners are very professional and made us feel very welcome yet let us have our privacy too. Wonderful pool (much needed as weather in the 90's) and good BBQ. Can walk to a local Taverna where the food is wonderful. Peaceful country setting but the entire Algarve is reachable by hiring a car (necessary for this venue). Spacious studio apartment with comfortable beds, seating area & good sized bathroom. Outside facilities are excellent with large patio areas that are well-maintained & offer privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private pool, patios & BBQ
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1958egg
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our last full day here and all we can say is that what everyone has put in the past is spot on.
Anne and Bob are 1st class hosts and are there if you need them and also leave you to your own space as well
The apartment is peaceful comfortable and in avery quiet location. The village of Querenca is a short walk up the hill while Loule is about 10 kilometres drive.
A car is a must in order to get about , however if you want to get away from it all and charge your batteries then look no further than Casa das Carters.......Will we come again you bet we will.
Thanks to Anne and Bob for a very restful, peaceful and enjoyable week

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caractaca...
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven on a Hill....”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here for a week and keep wishing we had stayed longer.

The location is perfect if you are looking for a peaceful getaway to relax. We arrived early on a Sunday morning and were greeted by Anne and Bob and shown around the lovely apartment and outdoor area. The pool and terrace area is fabulous and exactly as the photos show. In fact the pool is bigger than we had envisioned and very inviting. You are totally enclosed by the hills and gorgeous scenery. There is lots of space both inside and out, in the sun and also shady bits. Hubby is not much of a sun worshiper but even he couldn't resist catching some rays having the option to hide in the lovely breezy shade and jump in the pool when it got too hot.

The outside cooking area (lovely gas BBQ with 2 hob rings) did not cause us any issues and was both refreshing and exciting. All the utensils/pans you could need are provided. We boiled pasta and potatoes on the rings (had them both hot and cold) and then just grilled both meat and fish on the main BBQ bit. A lovely welcome pack is provided including wine, bread, milk and cheese etc so I wouldn't worry if you were arriving late in the day as you won't go hungry. You will be aware of the family living below the apartment but this didn't impact on us. As previously stated they are there if you need them (which in a way is comforting due to the semi remote location) but they completely give you your space and privacy to relax and enjoy your holiday as you wish.

A car is only necessary if you want to explore the Algarve. As previously stated with one good shop you never need to leave the apartment. We had a car and I would recommend it as there is so much to see within easy driving distance. The village of Querenca is a short (uphill) walk away and a nice downhill stroll back. There is a lovely restaurant and a small bar which doesn't stay open that late (we got a last drink there at 11pm....) but it is very quaint and worth a visit. The beaches of Albufeira and beyond are only a twenty or so minute drive away. The nearest town is Loule which is only a ten minute drive away. There is a daily fish (and other stuff) market and some lovely shops and cafes. We spent a few mornings wandering around and really felt like we were in Portugal mixing with the locals which is what we wanted.

I would highly recommend this lovely rental and we will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private pool and outside area (with stunning views)
Liked least: Skylight into Apartment not having a blind. Bring eyemask if you want a lie in.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing