We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Honeymoon in Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa das Carters

Apartment view from seated well area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment view from seated well area
Looking from the garden across the pool and terrace Pool and one of the outside eating areas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Apartment view from seated well area
Looking from the garden across the pool and terrace
Pool and one of the outside eating areas
Pool view
Pool and seated well area
Seated working well area
Sun terrace with another eating area and gas bbq
Outside dining bbq area
Covered eating area which looks out over the pool
Covered eating area looking towards garden
View from garden to covered terrace
Side view of villa from garden
Garden with hills in the background
Tranquil seating in the garden with hill views
Interior
Interior with doors leading to front terrace
Interior with doors leading to pool and terrace
Kitchen area
Bathroom
Garden walkway
Entrance to villa
Parking area to side of villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Querenca, Loule, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Voyage244...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon in Paradise”
Reviewed 8 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at faro airport. collected our hire car on route to Querenca. stopped in Loule for a coffee at cafe calcina , made famous by the poet Antino Aleixo where he composed and recited much of his work, he couldn't read or write, but locals used to write it down for him.
Then continued with our journey to Querenca, driving throw breath taking scenery, on arrival at Cassa Das Carters,met by our hosts Anne and Bob, who where more than welcoming, knowing it was our honeymoon, champagne,flowers and beautiful card plus a welcome pack, couldn't ask for more.
Cassandra Das Carters lies half way up a bank to Querenca set in a mountain range of the province of Loule, the views from our terrace at the front looked over the rolling landscape ,which where absolutely stunning, back of the apartment has a beautiful private garden with a fabulous swimming pool and outside alfresco dinning area with a gas barbecue .there is also a terrace that looks over the pool.with table and chairs.The size of the apartment is unbelievably spacious, Anne and Bob have provided everything you need..
Querenca itself is small village , what a hidden gem, with 2 local bars , Rossas is a must, cheap as peanuts, also in the square is the local church, ornate, so beautiful. For dinning out Sol Se Serra is the place to go , the food is divine , typical portuguese and family run , even make there own ice cream .
We had the added advantage having a car, this gave us the time to explore the wonderful beaches of the algarve and local towns,always returning back to our little paradise in the sun,thank you Anne and Bob, look forward to seeing next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reece C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Was all going so well...”
Reviewed 3 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Booked 7 nights away for our honeymoon. Seemed perfect, villa for two, secluded and a pool!

Easy to find the place and was up in the mountains about 15-20 mins from closest town Loule.

Was going very well Ann and Bob were friendly and welcoming upon arrival.

We quickly realised that they live below and there is CCTV cameras watching you.
Not as secluded and private as first thought.

No cooker, only microwave and gas BBQ.
The first evening we asked Bob how to use the BBQ as it didn't seem to light up correctly.
The third gas knob was pulled off when Bob was trying to sort the BBQ out.
So we had to cook with just 2 grills. Not really an issue.

The following day the electrics tripped when using the microwave.

Had to ring Ann for help, as we could hear the cleaner downstairs hoovering. But we had no power.

Towards the end of the honeymoon we allegedly left one knob of the gas grill on.

When asking Bob about this, he flipped. Accusing us on leaving grill open, gas on, breaking the BBQ and putting metal in the microwave causing it to flip electrics.

All complete rubbish of course.

He then demanded we paid for the gas bottle on the BBQ.

Shouting at my wife and driving her to tears, I stepped in and he quickly changed his tune.

After Bob calmed down he changed the gas and eventually apologized.

We was on the brink of booking a hotel for our final two nights.

We was very happy until this encounter which left a sour taste, felt like we was being 'told off' by a grand parent.

If Bob had said in a different manor about the gas being left on, we would of been happy to replace this.

We stay in villas every holiday and always have done. We understand the rules and expectations, this was very off and upsetting.

If your looking for a villa to unwind on your own and relax, this is not it.

The owners live below, dogs barking and CCTV watching you sunbathe and swim.

Bare bones room, no coffee machine as advertised and beds were honestly the most uncomfortable things I've laid on.

Lots of dust and cobwebs and stained walls.

Pros: great views, spacious, nice warm pool, lots of seating outside, beautiful garden, huge umbrella for shade, nice welcome basket with some fizz and wine.

Possibly if we had been of an older generation we may not of been spoken and treated as children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2018
We are naturally disappointed by the review which has been left by Reece C, but not unduly surprised and for anybody reading the review we would refer you to our previous 38 reviews, including the one in French written by the couple whose stay was just prior to Reece and his wife. Many of our guests of all ages return year after year.
Normally we don't respond to reviews as they speak for themselves, but on this occasion would like to take the opportunity to make comment.
It may seem picky, but if you are going to complain, please at least spell the hosts name correctly, we had been communicating and my name, Anne, is on all emails.
Reece and his wife must have missed the part of our conversation on their arrival, where it was pointed out that indeed there are CCTV cameras which are not connected during the time that we have guests staying, but in fact are there for insurance purposes when we are away for any length of time.
The write up for the studio accommodation on the Holiday Lettings Website makes no mention of a cooker, because as Reece points out, there isn't one. We have successfully rented this accommodation with out a cooker because there is a combination microwave and a gas bbq. Another indicator that it is always essential to read the information that is provided about any accommodation before booking, is that in this case the bbq is gas and not charcoal, so arriving with a bag of charcoal wasn't necessary.
The electrics did indeed trip out (the studio is on a separate circuit to the rest of the house) and the phone call from Reece' wife advised that she had just put something into the combination microwave. We have no way of knowing whether this was because an incorrect function on the combination microwave was used in error for the item that had been placed in there.
Prior to each guests arrival items are cleaned and checked to ensure in full working order and on this occasion a new bottle of gas was fitted. A gas bottle on average lasts 3 months. Whilst making the daily check of the pool, there was a strong smell of gas emanating from the bbq. On investigating, one of the knobs was found to be turned on and the lid left up. These things happen, but in a countryside environment, where safety from fires is paramount, it was important to let Reece and his wife know, and if the tone was, to quote, "like we was being told off" this was because we take seriously the safety of our guests, our neighbours and the environment.
Reece advised that for their last visit to the Algarve they stayed in the tourist resort of Albufeira, a very different location to a small Portuguese village with it's day to day life, which can from time to time include dogs barking.
Reece, we are not sure what you were looking for from your accommodation but "bare bones" it isn't! You certainly made full use of the air conditioning which come at no extra charge, as both units were on 24 hours of every day of your stay (approximately €200 of electricity) and I did feel the need to comment on the last day of your stay, that it's not possible to cool a room with air conditioning if you leave the doors open! What was that you said about being 'treated as children'.............?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderful holiday place, tranquil and luxurious”
Reviewed 2 February 2018 for a stay in October 2017

This place is near a small village, walking distance, and near to a number of different cafes and restaurants, it is also easy to drive to Loule. The pool is from a natural spring, and the room leading to the terrace is large, including all the facilities you would need. It was possible to be self-sufficient, and feel as in an oasis. It was great.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N
2 reviews
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 12 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was my first holiday in 40 years and it was excellent from start to finish. The villa was first class including the pool, surrounding areas and the views. It was peaceful, relaxing and our hosts were very hospitable and left us to enjoy our holiday. My girlfriend and I had a wonderful week and would thoroughly recommend this villa to anyone looking for a wonderful break at a good price. Thank you again Anne and Bob and we hope we can come here again and enjoy it as much as we did this time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stainesma...
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect -see my review Oct 16 !”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Stayed again at this lovely apartment -really nothing to add to my review Oct last year.
Still lovely and quiet,peaceful with a fantastic pool and sun terrace.
A great little restaurant just down the road.
If you want to get away for a quiet week , then this is the place for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny J
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious hideaway”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The apartment is large and comfortable. We loved the pool, the garden and outside seating and barbeque areas. The views from the back and front are wonderful. It is very well equipped except that there is no cooker or hob, just a microwave and an outside barbecue. This was not made clear on the website.
Querenca is a small quiet village in stunning hilly countryside which was great for walks and scenic drives. There are no shops of any consequence only a bar and 3 restaurants so self catering is a challenge unless you drive to the supermarkets at Loule.
The owner, Anne, is very hospitable and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joncross
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect place to wind down”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

From the views from the property, the secluded private swimming pool, the spacious accommodation and its tranquil setting, this is a special place to spend a holiday. The welcome pack was more than adequate, and was indeed very welcome. To be provided with beach towels was an extra bonus. It was not a difficult drive from Faro Airport and the instructions from the owners were so clear the drive was stress free. My only complaint is that there should be a warning that a week is not nearly long enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing