We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of The Anderson

The Anderson
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Fortrose
Cuisines: International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The food on offer was varied, not badly priced and we both enjoyed our meals particularly the fish dishes we had. There is a varied choice of whiskey and Belgian beers. Unfortunately neither of us are whiskey drinkers so I can't comment on this but plenty of beer choices. Staff were very friendly but on this particular occasion service was a little slow. However did seem like a particularly busy night

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anderjim, Owner at The Anderson, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks, Rachel, for the kind words and for putting up with our laid-back Highland pace!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    45
    15
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We visited the Anderson last year and were very impressed by the bar but didn't try the food ( big mistake - huge!). This year we found ourselves in the Whiskey bar for a meal on all three evenings of our stay. The food and beer are excellent. The pub is excellent. The staff are excellent. Thank you for three lovely evenings and meals. Wish we didn't live 5 hours away.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HNMEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anderjim, Owner at The Anderson, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks for coming back and giving our food a try -- cooking is what gets us out of bed in the morning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent night out”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Having eaten just about every dish on every menu in my hometown of Inverness, my wife and I, together with a couple of friends decided to bus it over to Fortrose to The Anderson. We had dropped in for a drink last summer and I remember drooling over the menu and promised to return one night for a meal. So glad we did. Started off in the Beer Bar where we tried some of the vast assembly of world beers while we made our food choices. The barman had a great knowledge of all the beers we enquired about. When our starters were ready we were taken through to the Whisky Bar where the food was there on our table. By a complete coincidence we had booked during a week where The Anderson was offering an "Exotic Game Menu". We were able to sample some unusual dishes including Alpaca, Crocodile, Mouflon and Kangaroo! Staff were attentive and our host Jim was delighted to answer any food or drink questions you could throw at him.
We had to skip dessert as the time had flown by so quickly and we had to get our return bus back to Inverness. The good thing is.... We'll have to come back again to have it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomo_was_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anderjim, Owner at The Anderson, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Glad you had such a good time. Being city folk, we know how difficult it can be to travel even a short distance beyond the city limits, but we're grateful you did. (Now, please tell all your friends!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food and beer”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was a big surprise for us to find such great food and beer in a small place like Fortrose. We went for dinner and the food was hearty, home cooked food. The beer and whisky selection was second to non and the host was ready to guide and engage in conversation about the beer choices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuzzyhunden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anderjim, Owner at The Anderson, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks for dining with us. Yes, sad but true, I am a big old Beer Geek and am always in search of new conversation victims since Anne banned me from talking about beer in her presence. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Ate here when staying up the road in Rosemarkie. Tasty food, great ale, excellent service and friendly locals. Will be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anderjim, Owner at The Anderson, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We're glad you stopped by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anderson also viewed

Rosemarkie, Ross and Cromarty
Rosemarkie, Ross and Cromarty
 
Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to The Anderson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing