We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive service”
Review of The Anderson

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fortrose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Anderson
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortrose
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impressive service”
Reviewed 4 August 2008

From the moment we arrived the owners and staff of The Anderson did everything they could to ensure that we had an enjoyable and pleasant stay. The cosy bar and quirky room provided a welcoming home-from-home, and we found our brief stay to be a delight. We did not spend an evening in Fortrose, so did not sample the restaurant, but if breakfast was anything to go-by it would be a treat!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Noisy_Twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    39
    12
    16
    5
See reviews for
42
109
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
falkirk
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

We stayed in The Anderson for our 1st Wedding Anniversary. We were touring Scotland for a week and after reading the reviews, decided this was the place we wanted to stay. Fortrose is a lovely village which we'd definately return to. The old Cathedral is breathtaking and the little cafe we had lunch in was wonderful too.

Jim gave us a very warm welcome and showed us to our room. The room was very confortable but extremely warm. We kept the window open to allow some cool air in but as it was gloriously hot (not so frequent in Scotland) this didn't make much difference.

The Whisky Bar was wonderful, we sat for ages laughing at the strange and wonderful names of all the different ales and beers.

The best part of the Anderson is the absolutely mouth watering food. As soon as you put it into your mouth you close your eyes and want to savour as much as you possibly can. It was THE most amazing food we have ever tasted and for that we would definately return!!

Thank you to Jim and his very talented wife for making our first anniversary one to remember... it'll be tough to beat!

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Temperature of the room (But it was really hot outside!)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haushinka_66_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

A proper "inn", with the drink and food being the priority. Room was comfortable and clean, if a little basic in some aspects, but we only wanted to sleep in it anyway. Jim the host is a natural and makes everyone feel important. Ambience is laid back and warm. Staff were efficient and friendly.

More Belgian lagers than you could hope to sample, endless malts, and great real ale. The food was very good and decent sized portions. It was very difficult not to run up a large bill, so we didn't try.
Breakfast was fine, though not extensive (though I suspect you could have ordered anything with a bit of notice)

Great location for the dolphin spotting at Chanonry Point - good walk after breakfast.

A tip if you're a light sleeper - the local seagulls do start a bit early on the local rooftops, so earplugs might be handy. If not, a couple of extra nightcaps will do the trick.

  • Liked — Easy going, great food and drink. Good location
  • Disliked — Pity the bar/restaurant doesn't open for lunch
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewForestTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2008

What an unusual place ! On arrival the pub was shut but we soon found someone to help. The owner then came to greet us and what an affable man he is. Even made such a fuss of our dog, Jack - who immediately warmed to him - always a good sign! Very relaxed and laid back - you could feel your tension slip away. The bedroom was not extra large, but had plenty of storage space and an adequate if small shower room with toilet. We ate in the dining room every night and the food was excellent. The only problem was on one night it was very busy and we had to wait an hour for our food which I consider too long a delay. The dining room is very nicely decorated except for the pot bound house plants in attendance every where, but strangely enough this just adds to The Anderson's quirkiness. The diversity of drinks is amazing and the bar staff are very helpful and welcoming. If you're looking for a bland, corporate hotel then this isn't the place to be, but if you want a relaxing, laid back holiday without a rush in the world then get on up to Fortrose.

  • Liked — Unusual features and lay out with antique and quirky items
  • Disliked — tiny bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirelass52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

There was one thing wrong with our stay - that we had only booked one night! I can't praise The Anderson enough. What a special place.

We arrived to see a board outside congratulating Anne, the Chef, on her recent national award. On entering the hotel we were overwhelmed by the lovely smell of a large vase of lilies. Vases of flowers were liberally placed throughout the building. An eclectic mix of furniture, pictures and nick-nacks adorn every room. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our small but cosy room. On coming back downstairs we were welcomed by Jim, the proprietor as if were family members, which was really nice. As soon as possible we settled ourselves for the evening in the welcoming surroundings of the smaller of the two bars, in front of a log burning stove, and started making inroads into the selection of 100-ish Belgian beers, some of which I haven't seen outside Belgium itself. The evening was pleasantly spent chatting to the very friendly bar staff and other guests, trying to limit ourselves to a small selection of beers and realising why Anne had won her award, as we indulged in her wonderful food. Of particular note was her home made Chai Tea ice cream. As well as the Belgian beers, there were over 200 whiskies, a choice selection of wines and some real ales. This is not a place to ask for a pint of Stella or Carling!

After a peaceful night we had a great breakfast in the exquisite dining room, sad that we would be leaving so soon.

It may seem as if I am being over-generous about the hotel, but this really does reflect the lovely stay we had here. Talikng to Jim you soon realise that it is run by a man who is passionate about the place and doesn't compromise on what he thinks makes a good hotel or bar. You also only have to look at the menu to see what attention to detail there is in the kitchen - even to roasting their own coffee. In the public bar there was a notice saying "If we don't have what you drink, drink what we have" and I'd fully endorse that. If you aren't familiar with the drinks, ask for some advice and go for it!

  • Liked — The cosy bar
  • Disliked — The room was a little small
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2008

Possibly my favourite holiday ever. It is a small and friendly hotel and pub in the picturesque Black Isle.

We ate dinner in the hotel four nights out of the five we stayed there, because it was so tempting. The menu featured restaurant quality dishes made with fresh local produce. We found the hotel through CAMRA's Good Beer Guide, so it was not surprising that they had a fine range of Scottish, English and Belgian beers; we also enjoyed some tasting trays of whiskies.

Breakfasts were also good, with a choice of 'Scottish', 'English' or 'American', or a la carte. (The proprietor Jim Anderson is an expatriate American).

To entertain ourselves while we were there, we took some walks along the beach to the next village, Rosemarkie, and on footpaths around the area. Other than that, we were glad we had rented a car because other attractions were further away. Inverness and Loch Ness were a short drive away - we took a cruise on the Loch. We also visited Glen Ord Distillery and the Black Isle Brewery which were both quite close.

Overall it was a relaxing visit, and we were well looked after by Jim and his staff.

  • Liked — The fine food and drink.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2007

We stayed at the Anderson for a few days at the beginning of September in room 1 with a four poster bed. At £85 per room per night (inc breakfast) the price was fair. The room was clean and the bathroom included a huge bath and nice double shower.

The whole is place furnished in an 'olde worlde' style and it is fair to say that this is keeping with what is a very old building.

The evening meals were splendid - the restaurant was very popular and this gave it a vibrancy which was complemented by some very fine food. We ate there for 4 consecutive evenings and I can tell you the food served here is as good as you will get anywhere.

Well done Jim & Anne !

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtansey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortrose
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
6.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
556 reviews
8.1 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
362 reviews
9.1 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
865 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anderson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anderson

Property: The Anderson
Address: Union Street, Fortrose IV10 8TD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Fortrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish restaurant with rooms on the beautiful Black Isle, featuring a new menu of exotic Global Cuisine every day. The fire lit Whisky Bar stocks more than 200 single-malts, 100 Belgian beers and well-tendered real ales. Convenient to Inverness and perfect for golfing, walking and dolphin-watching. Nine well-appointed ensuite guest rooms. "Top Ten Scottish Restaurants 2007??? (Sunday Herald) "You'll be treated like royalty" (Scotland for Dummies) ???A beer drinker’s Mecca. (CAMRA, Pub of the Year 2007) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anderson Hotel Fortrose
Anderson Hotel Fortrose
The Anderson Fortrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing