We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place full stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anderson

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fortrose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Anderson
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortrose
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best place full stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Had another fantastic holiday in Rosemarkie and visits to The Anderson are a must. Staff are so friendly, the ales are plentiful, the whiskies extensive and the food exquisite. Always a visit (more than once!!!!) every year. A huge thank you to Jim and Anne (owners of The Anderson) for making us keep coming back. And a big thank you to Jonah........ from Molly

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank finlaymcguiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anderjim, Owner at The Anderson, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thanks for coming back again and again. It's customers like you who make it easy to get out of bed in the morning (gotta study harder for that egg test, though!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    38
    11
    13
    3
See reviews for
39
103
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Reading the few bad reviews of this hotel makes you realise you cannot please all of the people all of the time and I also dislike destructive and unwarranted criticism.

We arrived at the hotel and I must admit the slightly shabby exterior did make me wonder if we had made a mistake. However, despite the interior being quite dated the place was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Our steaks in the restaurant were superb made even better by the subtle flavours of the accompanying sauce.

The range of beers and whiskies is quite amazing.

Different it may be but visit with an open mind and you will not be disappointed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NJWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anderjim, Owner at The Anderson, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thanks for saying what would be bad form for me to say about The Anderson. We don't get everything right, but we do it all with passion! Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartpury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a very enjoyable three nights stay here! Lovely old building crammed full of all sorts of interesting bits n bobs. We had our two small dogs with us and we were all made very welcome. Truly wonderful food, an amazing bar stocked to the brim with a vast array of whisky and beer followed by an extremely comfy bed meant a very relaxing stay. A proper family run hotel - so yes you may have a wee wait for service now and again but hey - chill out, you're on holiday! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaMarchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anderjim, Owner at The Anderson, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thanks for the kind words, Amanda. Hope that last guy reads your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

It is an old fashioned hotel. Stags antlers holding up the lights and stuff everywhere. Lots of character if you are into that.

The bar was rather understaffed. One guy running about various departments at a hectic pace. Still the atmosphere was good and the restaurant was popular.

Made poor choices in the restaurant. Caesar's salad, seared lettuce and with prawns instead of anchovies, did not work for me. A dusting of parmesan and mild sauce did not assist. I ordered a blue steak and it was cooked perfectly. Pity that the meat was poor. Marbled with gristle instead of fat. The butcher is taking the owner for a ride. The chips were wonderful.

Breakfast was uninspired and failed the egg test. The previous evening, we had to select our breakfast and book a time. When our breakfast took half an hour to arrive, the planning seemed pointless..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anderjim, Owner at The Anderson, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Well, we're obviously not the place for you. And I studied all night for the egg test!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We have travelled quite a lot around Scotland and visited many places however when you get recommended a place it seems wherever you go. It's time to take note. We ate in the whiskey room and the men's faces were a picture when they saw all 365 different whiskeys that Jim had. The food was sensational we had a mixture of mussels, scallops, venison, brisket and jambalaya, none of us had room for dessert. The boys then made good use of Jim knowledge of the whiskeys and tried a couple of the flights he offers. All in all a fab evening and very good value for money. The ONLY drawback is lack of parking. But we loved it and will definatly be going back again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocornforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anderjim, Owner at The Anderson, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Glad you and the boys enjoyed yourselves. Sorry the car park was full, but we only have room for 5 cars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Another very enjoyable stay at The Anderson. We have family in the area and stay here now and again.
We really enjoy staying at The Anderson. Jim and the staff are always attentive and accommodating. The rooms are comfortable and a little quaint.
The Anderson's cuisine is excellent. A very wide choice of interesting dishes at reasonable prices make dining at The Anderson a unique experience.
If you are in the area, please check it out. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catrionast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anderjim, Owner at The Anderson, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thanks for coming back to The Anderson, Catriona. I've passed your raves about our food on to Anne. See you next time you're up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Run by an American very enthusiastic about beer and whisky, this hotel is well worth visiting. We arrived about midnight after a much delayed flight to be welcomed by helpful staff who were very keen for us to sample what the bar had to offer. We were equally keen. excellent breakfats and restaurant meals, though the whisky bar was where most ate in the evening. Over 200 malts and rare bottled beers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tupu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anderjim, Owner at The Anderson, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thanks for the kind words. Next time, we'll hope to get you in a little earlier so you can enjoy a meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortrose
6.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
9.5 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
7.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Royal Hotel Cromarty
#1 of 2 in Cromarty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
6.9 mi away
Smithton Hotel
Smithton Hotel
#31 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anderson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anderson

Property: The Anderson
Address: Union Street, Fortrose IV10 8TD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Fortrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish restaurant with rooms on the beautiful Black Isle, featuring a new menu of exotic Global Cuisine every day. The fire lit Whisky Bar stocks more than 200 single-malts, 100 Belgian beers and well-tendered real ales. Convenient to Inverness and perfect for golfing, walking and dolphin-watching. Nine well-appointed ensuite guest rooms. "Top Ten Scottish Restaurants 2007??? (Sunday Herald) "You'll be treated like royalty" (Scotland for Dummies) ???A beer drinker’s Mecca. (CAMRA, Pub of the Year 2007) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anderson Hotel Fortrose
Anderson Hotel Fortrose
The Anderson Fortrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing